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1) Total of Purchases
Subject to New
Jersey Use Tax

2) Use Tax Due 

3) Penalty & Interest

4) Total Amount Due

State of New Jersey

Annual Business Use Tax Return
This return is due May 1, 2017 for the tax year ending December 31, 2016

ST-18B
02-17

2016

DETACH HERE

Make Check or Money Order Payable to: New Jersey Use Tax

Mail to: Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 999
Trenton, NJ 08646-0999

Our records show your business may need 2016 Form ST-18B below to report and remit Use Tax. This form is due on or

before May 1, 2017.

A business must pay Use Tax for 2016 if it purchased taxable property or services in 2016 without paying New Jersey Sales

Tax, or if it paid sales taxes to other jurisdictions at rates lower than New Jersey’s. (Except in certain designated areas, New

Jersey’s Sales Tax rate in 2016 was 7%.)

This form is for businesses that weren’t required to collect New Jersey Sales Tax from customers, but which may have Use

Tax obligations that must be reported for the 2016 tax year. Such businesses are not required to file returns (Forms ST-50/51)

each month or quarter.

Your business should file this form if it:

1. Didn’t sell taxable goods or services or lease taxable property to others in 2016,

2. Averaged less than $2,000 in annual Use Tax liability in 2013, 2014 and 2015, and

3. Owes Use Tax for 2016.

Do Not File This Form if You Do Not Owe Use Tax.

Note: If your business sold taxable goods or services, or leased taxable property to others, or if your average annual Use Tax

liability for the three previous calendar years was more than $2,000, you may not File Form ST-18B for 2016. You must change

your business registration to include quarterly/monthly Sales Tax filings. You can add Sales Tax eligibility through the Online

Registration Change Service at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/.

More information is available in publication ANJ-7, Use Tax in New Jersey, Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-7, Filing Sales and Use
Tax Returns, and on the Division of Taxation’sWeb site at: www.njtaxation.org.

Please respond to:
Customer Service Center

(609) 292-6400

State of New Jersey
DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

DIVISION OF TAXATION

PO BOX 269

TRENTON NJ  08695-0269

NJ Taxpayer I.D. Number

Name

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code



DETACH HERE

I certify that all the information given is correct:

________________________________________________________________________ _______________________________________
(Signature of Taxpayer or Corporate Officer) (Date)

If this return is prepared by someone other than the taxpayer complete the following information:

FID# or SS# _______________ / ____________ / _______________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Signature of Individual of Firm preparing the return) (Title)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(Print Name of Firm and Individual preparing the return) (Title)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE USE TAX RETURN ST-18B

1) Total of Purchases Enter the amount of all taxable purchases that were either delivered to a New

Subject to New Jersey Jersey location or used by you within New Jersey during the calendar year that you

Use Tax have not paid:

• New Jersey Sales or Use Tax or

• Sales Tax to any other jurisdiction within the United States.

You do not owe New Jersey Use Tax if the Sales Tax paid in another jurisdiction is

higher than 7%. However, New Jersey will not give you credit for any Sales Tax

you pay that is above 7%.

2) Use Tax Due Complete the following worksheet to calculate the Use Tax due.

(a) Multiply the amount on Line (1) of the return by 7%._____________________.

(b) Enter the amount of Sales Tax you already paid to another jurisdiction on a

purchase included on Line 1 of the return. ______________________.

Note: You may claim this credit only if the tax was legally due and paid to the other
jurisdiction and if you have no right to a refund. If the tax paid in another state
was less than 7%, the difference is due to New Jersey.
(c) Subtract (b) from (a) and enter result here and on Line 2, Use Tax Due, on

Form ST-18B. ______________________.

3) Penalty and Interest We will charge a penalty of 5% per month or fraction thereof (up to a maximum of

25%) on the Use Tax due (Line 2) if you do not file a required ST-18B by May 1,

2017.

We will charge interest at a rate of prime rate plus 3%, calculated up to the date of

payment, if you do not pay Use Tax by May 1, 2017.

4) Total Amount Due Enter total Use Tax amount due Line 2 plus any Penalty and Interest from Line 3.

This is the amount which you must remit with your return.

For further information and assistance in completing this return, 

please contact the New Jersey Division of Taxation Customer Service Center at (609) 292-6400.  

For information concerning the taxability of goods and services, see Sales and Use Tax Guide (S & U 4) at

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su4.pdf
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