
INSERT 
Application for Senior Freeze 
Property Tax Reimbursement 

(New Jersey Form PTR-1) 

Filing Deadline Extended to 
 October 18, 2017  

 
 
 
NOTE: The State Budget has set the following qualifications for Senior Freeze 

payments: Applicants are eligible if their income did not exceed $87,007 
for 2015 and $70,000 for 2016, as long as they meet all other requirements. 
Applicants whose income was over $70,000 but was $87,007 or less can 
establish their eligibility for future reimbursements by filing an application 
by the due date. Applying also ensures the Division will mail them 
applications next year. 

 
 
 

FOR INFORMATION: 
Visit the Division of Taxation Website: www.njtaxation.org 
Call the Property Tax Reimbursement Hotline: 1-800-882-6597 
 



IMPORTANT!
2015 Reimbursement Recipients. If you applied for and received a 2015 property tax reimbursement, you 
should have received a personalized application (Form PTR-2) preprinted with information you provided last 
year. If you qualify for a 2016 property tax reimbursement, use the personalized application. If you have not 
received your personalized application, call 1‑800-882-6597.
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Introduction
The Property Tax Reimbursement (“Senior 
Freeze”) Program reimburses senior citizens and 
disabled persons for property tax increases. For 
applicants who met all the eligibility requirements 
for 2015, and again for 2016, the amount of the 
2016 reimbursement will be the difference be-
tween the amount of property taxes that were due 
and paid by the applicant for 2015 and the amount 
of property taxes that were due and paid for 2016, 
provided the amount paid for 2016 was greater 
than the amount paid for 2015. For mobile home 
owners, property tax means 18% of the annual 
site fees paid to the owner of a mobile home park.

Homeowners and mobile home owners who are 
receiving homestead benefits and/or property tax 
credits or deductions may also receive the prop-
erty tax reimbursement if they meet the eligibility 
requirements. However, the total of all property tax 
relief benefits that you receive for 2016 (property 
tax reimbursement, homestead benefit, property 
tax deduction for senior citizens/disabled persons, 
and property tax deduction for veterans) cannot 
exceed the amount of 2016 property taxes (or 
rent/site fees constituting property taxes) paid for 
your residence.

Spouse/Civil Union Partner. Any reference in 
this booklet to a spouse also refers to a spouse 
who entered into a valid same-sex marriage in an-
other state or foreign nation and a partner in a civil 
union (CU) recognized under New Jersey law. 

Impact of State Budget
Eligibility requirements, including income 
limits, and benefits available under the Senior 
Freeze Program are subject to change by the 
State Budget. 

Any changes to the eligibility requirements and ben-
efit amounts for 2016 property tax reimbursements 

will not be finalized until the completion of the State 
Budget that must be adopted by July 1, 2017. This 
means that the requirements for a 2016 reimburse-
ment, including the income limits, that are listed un-
der “Eligibility Requirements” in these instructions 
may be changed by the State Budget.

For 2015 the amount appropriated for property 
tax relief programs in the State Budget affected 
reimbursement payments. Only applicants filing 
Form PTR-1 whose 2014 income did not exceed 
$85,553 and whose 2015 income did not exceed 
$70,000 (the original limit was $87,007) were eligi-
ble to receive reimbursement payments for 2015, 
provided they met all the other requirements. 

For updated information on changes to the Senior 
Freeze Program for 2016, check the Division of 
Taxation’s website at www.state.nj.us/treasury/
taxation/ptr/index.shtml or call 1-800-323-4400. 

Eligibility Requirements
To qualify for the 2016 reimbursement, an appli-
cant must meet all of the following requirements. 
(Also see “Impact of State Budget” above.)

•• You must have been age 65 or older as of De-
cember 31, 2015, OR actually receiving Federal 
Social Security disability benefit payments on 
or before December 31, 2015, and on or before 
December 31, 2016. You do NOT qualify if the 
Federal Social Security disability benefits you 
(or your spouse) were receiving were received 
on behalf of someone else; and

•• You must have lived in New Jersey continuously 
since December 31, 2005, or earlier as either a 
homeowner or a renter; and

•• You must have owned and lived in your home 
(or have leased a site in a mobile home park 
on which you have placed a manufactured or 
mobile home that you own) since December 31, 



2016 Form PTR-1 Instructions

Page 2

2012, or earlier (and you still owned and lived in 
that home on December 31, 2016); and

•• You must have paid the full amount of the 
property taxes due on your home:
For 2015:	 By June 1, 2016, and
For 2016:	 By June 1, 2017; and

•• Your total annual income must have been:
For 2015:	 $87,007 or less, and
For 2016:	 $87,007 or less

These limits apply regardless of your marital/
civil union status. However, if your status at 
Line 1 and/or Line 2, Form PTR-1, was married/
CU couple, and you lived in the same household, 
you must combine your incomes for that year.

You may not apply for a reimbursement for a:
•• Vacation home or “second home”; or

•• Property that you rent to someone else; or

•• Property that consists of more than four units; or

•• Property with four units or less that contains 
more than one commercial unit.

You also may not apply if you:
•• Received a 100% exemption from paying prop-

erty taxes as a totally and permanently disabled 
veteran. 

•• Made P.I.L.O.T. (Payments-in-Lieu-of-Tax) pay-
ments to your municipality. These payments are 
not considered property taxes.

Life Estate (Life Tenancy). You are considered 
the owner of the property if you have life estate 
rights or hold a lease for 99 years or more. You 
must include with your application a copy of an 
official document (e.g., deed, lease) establishing 
your right to occupy the property.

If you moved to your current home between 
January 1, 2013, and December 31, 2014, and 
you filed for and received a reimbursement for 
property taxes (or mobile home park site fees) 
paid for the last full tax year that you occupied 
your previous home, you may be eligible to file a 
reimbursement application for 2016 if you meet all 
the other eligibility requirements. Go to www.state.
nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr2year.shtml to see if you 
qualify, then call the Property Tax Reimbursement 
Hotline at 1-800-882-6597 for assistance.

Reminder
The Homestead Benefit and Property Tax Reim
bursement (“Senior Freeze”) Programs are sepa-
rate programs, and separate applications must be 
filed every year for each program.

Income Standards
With very few exceptions, all income that you 
received during the year, including income that 
you are not required to report on your New Jersey 
income tax return, must be taken into account to 
determine eligibility for the property tax reimburse-
ment. Income limits for eligibility are subject to 
adjustment annually.

If you have a loss in one category of income, you 
may apply it against income in the same category. 
However, if you have a net loss in one category 
of income, you cannot apply it against income or 
gains in a different category. In the case of a net 
loss in any category, leave that line blank.

Examples of possible sources of income 
(gross amounts unless otherwise noted):

•• Social Security Benefits (including Medicare 
Part B premiums) paid to or on behalf of the 
applicant

•• Pension and Retirement Benefits 
(including annuity or IRA distributions and 
benefit payments from foreign countries)

•• Salaries, Wages, Bonuses, Commissions, and 
Fees

•• Unemployment Benefits
•• Disability Benefits, whether public or private 

(including veterans’ and black lung benefits)
•• Interest (taxable and exempt)
•• Dividends
•• Capital Gains
•• Net Rental Income
•• Net Profits From Business
•• Net Distributive Share of Partnership Income
•• Net Pro Rata Share of S Corporation Income
•• Support Payments
•• Inheritances
•• Royalties
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•• Fair Market Value of Prizes and Awards
•• Gambling and Lottery Winnings 

(including New Jersey Lottery)
•• Bequests and Death Benefits
•• All Other Income

Sources of income that should not be taken 
into account to determine eligibility:

•• Reparation or restitution payments to victims of 
National Socialist (Nazi) persecution; returns of 
property (tangible or intangible) seized, lost, or 
misappropriated as a result of Nazi actions or 
policies and any cash values in replacement of 
such property; payments of insurance policies 
purchased by victims of Nazi persecution; and 
any accumulated or accrued interest on such 

•• Benefit amounts received under the New Jersey 
State Lifeline Credit Program/Tenants Lifeline 
Assistance Program

•• Benefits received as either New Jersey 
homestead, FAIR, or SAVER rebates

•• Benefits received as property tax 
reimbursements

•• Capital gains on the sale of a principal residence 
of up to $250,000 if single, and up to $500,000 
if married/cu couple. Capital gains in excess 
of the allowable exclusion must be included 
in income. (Capital gains and the exclusion of 
all or part of the gain on the sale of a principal 
residence are computed in the same manner for 
both Federal and State income tax purposes.)

•• Stipends from the Volunteers in Service to 
America (VISTA), Foster Grandparents, and 
Workforce 55+ programs; and programs under 
Title V of the Older Americans Act of 1965

•• Proceeds received from a spouse’s life 
insurance policy

•• Proceeds received by the beneficiary of a 
Special Needs Trust 

•• Proceeds received from viatical settlements

•• Agent Orange Payments

•• Reparation payments to Japanese Americans 
by the Federal Government pursuant to sections 
105 and 106 of the Civil Liberties Act of 1988, 

P.L. 100‑383 (50 U.S.C. App. 1989b‑4 and 
1989b‑5)

•• Rewards involving health care fraud or abuse 
that apply to N.J.A.C. 10:49-13.4

•• Rollovers from one financial instrument (pension, 
annuity, IRA, insurance contract or other retire-
ment benefit) to another financial instrument

•• Tax-free exchanges of a policy or contract han-
dled between two insurance companies

•• Insurance policyholder’s original contributions if 
demutualization of the policy occurs 

•• Income tax refunds (New Jersey, Federal, and 
other jurisdictions)

Filing Requirements
Due Date June 1, 2017
Eligible applicants must file the 2016 Property Tax 
Reimbursement Application (Form PTR‑1) on or 
before June 1, 2017. Applications postmarked on 
or before the due date are considered to be filed 
on time. Applications postmarked after the due 
date are considered to be filed late.

Proof of Age/Disability
Applicants age 65 or older must submit proof 
of age with their applications. Examples of ac-
ceptable documentation include copies of the 
following:

•• Birth certificate
•• Driver’s license
•• Church records 

Applicants who are not age 65 or older, but are 
receiving Federal Social Security disability benefit 
payments, must submit a copy of the Social Secu-
rity Award Letter indicating that the applicant was 
receiving benefit payments. An applicant does not 
qualify if receiving benefits on behalf of someone 
else. 

Proof of Payment
Applicants are required to submit with their appli-
cations proof of the amount of property taxes that 
were due and paid. The Division of Taxation will 
accept copies of the following:
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Homeowners
1.	 Property tax bills for both 2015 and 2016, 

along with
2.	 Proof of the amount of property taxes paid, 

which may be either:
a.	 Copies of cancelled checks or receipts for 

both 2015 and 2016 showing the amount of 
property taxes paid; or

b.	 Copies of Form 1098 for both 2015 and 
2016 that you received from your mortgage 
company showing the amount of property 
taxes that were paid out of your escrow 
account.

Verification Form. We realize that you may not be 
able to locate your 2015 and 2016 property tax bills 
or proof of the amount of taxes paid. For your con-
venience, we have included a form in this booklet 
(Form PTR‑1A) that you may submit as proof. Form 
PTR-1A is also available on the Division of Taxa-
tion’s website at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
ptr/printform.shtml.

Note:	 If you use Form PTR-1A, you must 
have your local tax collector complete 
and certify Part II as to the amount of 
property taxes due and paid for both 
2015 and 2016. Be sure to enclose the 
completed verification form with Form 
PTR-1. 

Co-ops and continuing care retirement facilities. 
Residents of cooperative dwelling units and con-
tinuing care retirement facilities must obtain a state-
ment from their management indicating their share 
of property taxes paid for the residential unit they 
occupy and submit the statement with Form PTR-1.

Multiple owners (if property is owned by more 
than one person, other than husband and wife 
or civil union partners). If title to the property is 
held by the eligible applicant with others as tenants 
in common or joint tenants (except in the case of a 
husband and wife or civil union partners), the ap-
plicant is only eligible for the proportionate share 
of the reimbursement that reflects his or her per-
centage of ownership. This is true even if the other 
owner(s) did not live there. The shares of owner-
ship of the property are considered to be held 
equally by all owners. If the shares of ownership 

are not equal, the applicant must provide docu-
mentation as to the percentage of ownership.

Multiple units (if property consists of more 
than one unit). If the property consists of more 
than one unit, the applicant is only eligible for the 
proportionate share of the reimbursement that 
reflects the percentage of the property used as his 
or her principal residence. 

Mobile Home Owners
1.	 A copy of the contract(s) or agreement(s) 

for both 2015 and 2016 from the mobile home 
park showing the amount of your site fees, 
along with 

2.	 Proof of the amount of site fees paid, which 
may be either:
a.	 Copies of cancelled checks or receipts for 

both 2015 and 2016 showing the amount 
of site fees paid; or 

b.	 A signed statement from the mobile home 
park management showing the amount of 
site fees paid for both 2015 and 2016.

Verification Form. In place of 1 and 2 above, 
mobile home owners may provide a completed 
Form PTR‑1B, which is included in this booklet. 
Form PTR-1B is also available on the Division of 
Taxation’s website at www.state.nj.us/treasury/
taxation/ptr/printform.shtml.

Note:	 If you use Form PTR-1B, you must 
have the owner or manager of the mo-
bile home park complete and certify 
Part II as to the amount of mobile home 
park site fees due and paid for both 
2015 and 2016. Be sure to enclose the 
completed verification form with Form 
PTR-1.

Deceased Residents
If a person met all the eligibility requirements 
for 2015 and 2016, but died after 12:01 a.m. on 
December 31, 2016, and before filing an applica
tion, Form PTR-1 should be filed by the surviving 
spouse or personal representative (executor or ad-
ministrator of an estate or anyone who is in charge 
of the decedent’s personal property).
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Marital/Civil Union Status
Indicate on Line 1 the marital/civil union status of 
the applicant(s) on December 31, 2015, and indi-
cate on Line 2 the marital/civil union status of the 
applicant(s) on December 31, 2016. (See “Marital/
Civil Union Status” on page 6.)

Name and Address 
•• Married/CU Couple (joint application): Write the 

name and address of the decedent and the sur-
viving spouse in the name and address fields. 
Print “Deceased” and the date of death above 
the decedent’s name.

•• Single: Write the decedent’s name in the name 
field and the personal representative’s name 
and address in the remaining fields. Print “De-
ceased” and the date of death above the dece
dent’s name.

Signatures
•• Personal representative: If a personal repre-

sentative has been appointed, that person must 
sign the application in his or her official capac-
ity. The surviving spouse must also sign if it is a 
joint application. 

•• No personal representative – joint application: If 
no personal representative has been appointed, 
the surviving spouse signs the application and 
writes “Filing as Surviving Spouse” or “Filing as 
Surviving Civil Union Partner” in the signature 
section.

•• No personal representative – single application: 
If no personal representative has been appointed 
and there is no surviving spouse, the person in 
charge of the decedent’s property must sign the 
application as “personal representative.”

When a spouse dies prior to December 31, the 
surviving spouse must meet all the eligibility re-
quirements for 2016 himself/herself to receive the 
reimbursement. The marital/civil union status of 
the survivor who does not remarry or enter into a 
new civil union during that year is “Single.” 

Check the box above the signature line and en-
close a copy of the decedent’s death certificate 
in order to have the reimbursement check is-
sued to the surviving spouse or estate.

Reimbursement Checks
For qualified applicants who apply before May 1, 
2017, reimbursement checks will be sent on or 
before July 15, 2017. Qualified applicants who ap-
ply between May 1 and June 1, 2017, will be sent 
reimbursement checks on or before September 1, 
2017.

Note:	 Eligibility requirements, including 
income limits, and benefits available 
under this program are subject to 
change by the State Budget. Check 
the Division of Taxation’s website at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/
index.shtml or call 1-800-323-4400 for 
updated information. (See “Impact of 
State Budget” on page 1.)

Under New Jersey law, if you receive a property 
tax reimbursement that is larger than the amount 
for which you are eligible, you must repay any ex-
cess you received. The amount you owe can be 
deducted from your property tax reimbursement, 
income tax refund or credit, or homestead benefit 
before a payment is issued. 

Privacy Act Notification
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires an 
agency requesting information from individuals to 
inform them why the request is being made and 
how the information is being used.

The Division of Taxation uses your Social Security 
number primarily to account for and give credit for 
tax payments. We also use Social Security num-
bers in the administration and enforcement of all 
tax laws for which we are responsible. In addition, 
the Division is required by law to forward an an-
nual list to the Administrative Office of the Courts 
containing the names, addresses, and Social Se-
curity numbers of individuals who file a New Jer-
sey tax return or property tax benefit application. 
This list will be used to avoid duplication of names 
on jury lists.

Completing the Application
Name and Address
Place the peel-off label in the name and address 
section at the top of the application. You will find 
your preprinted name and address label inside the 
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insert at the front of this booklet. Do not use the 
mailing label if any of the information is inac-
curate. If the information on the preprinted label 
is incorrect or if you did not receive a preprinted 
label, print or type your name (last name first), 
complete address, and zip code in the spaces 
provided. Be sure to include your spouse’s name if 
your marital/civil union status as of December 31, 
2016, was married/CU couple. Your reimburse-
ment check and next year’s application will be sent 
to the address you provide.

Social Security Number
If your marital/civil union status as of Decem-
ber 31, 2016, was single, you must enter your So-
cial Security number in the space provided on the 
application, one digit in each box ( ). To protect 
your privacy, your Social Security number is not 
printed on your name and address label. If your 
status as of December 31, 2016, was married/CU 
couple, you must report both applicants’ numbers 
in the order in which the names are listed on the 
application. If you were married or in a civil union 
but living apart from your spouse, and you did 
not have access to or receive support from their 
income, you are considered “Single” for purposes 
of the property tax reimbursement. Enter only your 
Social Security number on the application. 

If you (or your spouse) do not have a Social Se-
curity number, file Form SS-5 with the Social Se-
curity Administration to apply for a Social Security 
number. If you are not eligible for a Social Security 
number, you must file Form W-7 with the Internal 
Revenue Service to obtain an individual taxpayer 
identification number (ITIN). If you applied for but 
have not received an ITIN by the due date, en-
close a copy of your Federal Form W-7 application 
with Form PTR-1.

County/Municipality Code
Enter your four-digit county/municipality code, one 
digit in each box ( ), from the table on page 14. 
This code identifies the county and municipality of 
your current residence. The county and municipal-
ity codes in these instructions are for Division of 
Taxation purposes only.

Note:	 If the local name of the place where 
you live is not listed, enter the code 
for the municipality where the property 
taxes were paid on your home. (Go to 
www.state.nj.us/infobank/locality.htm 
for a listing of local names in the State 
and the county and municipality where 
they are located.) 

Marital/Civil Union Status
(Lines 1 and 2)
Line 1. Indicate your marital/civil union status on 
December 31, 2015. Fill in only one oval ( ). If 
you were married or in a civil union but living apart 
from your spouse, and you did not have access to 
or receive support from their income, you are con-
sidered “Single” for purposes of the property tax 
reimbursement.

Line 2. Indicate your marital/civil union status on 
December 31, 2016. Fill in only one oval ( ). If 
you were married or in a civil union but living apart 
from your spouse, and you did not have access to 
or receive support from their income, you are con-
sidered “Single” for purposes of the property tax 
reimbursement.

Age/Disability Status
(Lines 3 and 4)
Fill in the oval ( ) to indicate your status:

Line 3a. Indicate whether you were 65 or older on 
December 31, 2015. Fill in the appropriate oval to 
the right of “Yourself.” If your marital/civil union sta-
tus was married/CU couple, fill in the appropriate 
oval to the right of “Spouse/CU Partner.”

Line 3b. Indicate whether you were actually re
ceiving Federal Social Security disability benefit 
payments on or before December 31, 2015. Fill 
in the appropriate oval to the right of “Yourself.” 
If your marital/civil union status was married/CU 
couple, fill in the appropriate oval to the right of 
“Spouse/CU Partner.”

Line 4a. Indicate whether you were 65 or older on 
December 31, 2016. Fill in the appropriate oval to 
the right of “Yourself.” If your marital/civil union sta-
tus was married/CU couple, fill in the appropriate 
oval to the right of “Spouse/CU Partner.”
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Determining Total Income 
(Lines 7 and 8)
Review “Income Categories” on page 8 before en-
tering your income amounts for 2015 and 2016 on 
Lines a through q. For a list of sources of income 
that you are not required to take into account to 
determine income eligibility, see page 3.

Line 7 
Total 2015 Income. List all the income you re-
ceived in 2015. Add the amounts on Lines a 
through q and enter the result on Line 7. If you 
were married or in a civil union as of Decem-
ber 31, 2015, and living in the same household, 
you must combine your income with your spouse’s 
income. If your spouse died during 2015 and your 
status on December 31, 2015, was “Single,” list 

Page 7

*	 These income limits apply regardless of your marital/civil union status. If your status at Line 1 and/or Line 2, Form 
PTR-1, was married/CU couple, you must report the combined income of both spouses/CU partners for that year. 

Determining Total Income (Lines 7 and 8)

2015 Total Income*
If your total 2015 
income was… 	 Then…	

$87,007 or less	 You meet the income eligibility 
	 requirement for 2015. Continue
	 completing the application.

Over $87,007 	 You are not eligible for the 
	 reimbursement and should not
	 file this application.

If your total 2016 
income was… 	 Then…	

$87,007 or less	 You meet the income eligibility 
	 requirement for 2016. Continue 
	 completing the application.

Over $87,007	 You are not eligible for the 
	 reimbursement and should not 
	 file this application.

2016 Total Income*

Important
You must satisfy all the requirements at Lines 3, 4, 5, and 6 for BOTH 2015 AND 2016 to be eligible 
for the reimbursement. File the application only if you met the requirements. 

Line 4b. Indicate whether you were actually re
ceiving Federal Social Security disability benefit 
payments on or before December 31, 2016. Fill 
in the appropriate oval to the right of “Yourself.” 
If your marital/civil union status was married/CU 
couple, fill in the appropriate oval to the right of 
“Spouse/CU Partner.”

Applicant(s) must meet the age or disability re-
quirements for both 2015 and 2016 to be eligible 
for the reimbursement. File the application only if 
you or your spouse met the requirements.

Residency Requirements 
(Lines 5 and 6)
Line 5. Fill in the “Yes” oval ( ) if you lived in 
New Jersey continuously since December 31, 
2005, or earlier as either a homeowner or a renter. 
If “No,” you are not eligible for a property tax 
reimbursement, and you should not file this 
application.

Line 6. Fill in the “Yes” oval ( ) if you owned and 
lived in the same home for which you are claiming 
the reimbursement (or leased a site in a mobile 
home park in New Jersey on which you placed a 
manufactured or mobile home that you own) con-
tinuously since December 31, 2012, or earlier. 
If “No,” you are not eligible for a property tax 
reimbursement, and you should not file this 
application.



2016 Form PTR-1 Instructions

only the income you yourself received (do not 
include your deceased spouse’s income). Joint 
income must be apportioned to reflect the amount 
you received.

2015 Income Eligibility. If your total 2015 income 
on Line 7 was $87,007 or less, you meet the 
income eligibility requirement for 2015 (see chart 
above). Continue to Line 8 and check your income 
eligibility for 2016.

If the amount on Line 7 is over $87,007, STOP. 
You are not eligible for the reimbursement, and 
you should not file this application. 

Line 8 
Total 2016 Income. List all the income you re-
ceived in 2016. Add the amounts on Lines a 
through q and enter the result on Line 8. If you 
were married or in a civil union as of Decem-
ber 31, 2016, and living in the same household, 
you must combine your income with your spouse’s 
income. If your spouse died during 2016 and your 
status on December 31, 2016, was “Single,” list 
only the income you yourself received (do not 
include your deceased spouse’s income). Joint 
income must be apportioned to reflect the amount 
you received. 

2016 Income Eligibility. If your total 2016 income 
on Line 8 was $87,007 or less, you meet the in-
come eligibility requirement for 2016. (See chart 
on page 7.) Continue completing the application 
with Line 9.

If the amount on Line 8 is over $87,007, STOP. 
You are not eligible for the reimbursement, and 
you should not file this application. 

Income Categories
With very few exceptions, all income that you 
received during the year, including income that 
you are not required to report on your New Jersey 
income tax return, must be taken into account to 
determine eligibility for the property tax reimburse-
ment. In most cases, you must report on your ap-
plication the total (gross) amount of income you 
received, whether taxable or nontaxable. 

If you have a loss in one category of income, you 
may apply it against income in the same category. 
However, if you have a net loss in one category 

of income, you cannot apply it against income or 
gains in a different category. In the case of a net 
loss in any category, leave that line blank.

Enter dollars and cents in the fields as shown: 

Line A
Enter the total amount of Social Security or Rail-
road Retirement benefits (including Medicare 
Part B premiums) from Box 5 of Form SSA-1099 
or Form RRB-1099. 

Line B
Enter the total amount (after adjustments below) of 
pension and annuity payments, including IRA with-
drawals, that you reported on Line 19a, Pensions, 
Annuities, and IRA Withdrawals, of your New Jer-
sey resident income tax return, Form NJ-1040. If 
you are required to file Form NJ-1040, you must 
complete Line 19a before you complete your 
PTR-1 application. 

If you are not required to file Form NJ-1040, you 
must calculate the amount you would have re-
ported on Line 19a if you did file the return. For 
your convenience, a copy of the instructions for 
completing Line 19a of Form NJ-1040 has been 
included in this booklet as Appendix A. You can 
use those instructions to calculate the Line 19a 
amount for both 2015 and 2016.

Adjustments. For property tax reimbursement 
purposes, you must make adjustments to the 
Line 19a amount as follows:

1.	 Add any amounts received as U.S. military 
pension or survivor’s benefit payments.

2.	 Add any amounts received as a total and per-
manent disability pension before you reached 
age 65. Note: Once you reach age 65, you 
must include any payments you receive from a 
disability pension in the Line 19a amount.

3.	 Add the portion of any distribution from a Roth 
IRA you received that you would have reported 
if it were a traditional IRA. (See Appendix A.)

Do not include income from: a direct rollover to 
another financial instrument, a tax-free exchange 
of a policy or contract between two insurance 
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disposition of property. This includes all gains or 
income derived from the sale of real property (e.g., 
house, condominium unit, parcel of land) and per-
sonal property whether tangible (e.g., car, jewelry, 
furniture) or intangible (e.g., stocks, bonds, mutual 
funds). All gains, whether taxable or nontaxable, 
must be reported. 

Capital gains on the sale of a principal residence 
of up to $250,000 for a single person or up to 
$500,000 for a married/civil union couple that are 
also excluded from income taxation for Federal 
and New Jersey purposes may be excluded. Capi-
tal gains in excess of the allowable exclusion must 
be reported.

Line I
Enter the net amount (after expenses) of rental in-
come you received.

Line J
Enter the net amount of income (profits) from your 
business, trade, or profession whether carried on 
inside or outside New Jersey. 

Line K
Enter the net amount of your distributive share of 
partnership income, whether or not the income 
was actually distributed. 

Line L
Enter the amount of your net pro rata share of S 
corporation income, whether or not the income 
was actually distributed.

Line M
Enter the total amount of alimony and separate 
maintenance payments you received that were 
required under a decree of divorce/dissolution or 
separate maintenance. Do not include payments 
received for child support.

Line N
Enter the total amount you received as an inheri-
tance (whether received in the form of cash or 
property) except for transfers of property or assets 
from a deceased spouse to a surviving spouse. 
You must also report any income you received as a 
beneficiary of an estate or trust. 

Also include on this line the total value of any 
property or assets you received as a gift or be-
quest and amounts paid as death benefits. In 

companies, or a conversion from an existing tradi-
tional IRA to a Roth IRA.

Line C
Enter the total amount of wages, salaries, tips, 
and other compensation you received from all em-
ployment both inside and outside New Jersey as 
shown in Box 1 of Form W-2. Also include the total 
amount you received from fees, commissions, 
bonuses, and any other payments received for 
services performed both inside and outside New 
Jersey that are not already listed. Include all pay
ments you received whether in cash, benefits, or 
property.

Line D
Enter the total amount of unemployment benefits 
you received as shown in Box 1 of Form 1099-G.

If you received family leave insurance benefits, 
enter the total amount shown in Box 1 of the Form 
1099-G you received for those payments. 

Line E
Enter the total amount of disability benefits you re-
ceived, including veterans’ and black lung benefits. 

Do not include on this line Social Security dis-
ability benefits or payments from a disability pen-
sion. Enter Social Security disability benefits on 
Line a, and payments from a disability pension on 
Line b.

Line F
Enter the total amount of interest you received 
from sources both inside and outside New Jersey. 
All interest, whether taxable or tax-exempt, must 
be included. If you incurred a penalty by making 
a withdrawal from a certificate of deposit or other 
time-deposit account early, you may subtract this 
penalty from your total interest.

Line G
Enter the total amount of dividends you received 
from investments (e.g., from stocks, mutual funds) 
or other income-producing activities that do not 
constitute a trade or business. The total amount of 
dividends received, regardless of where earned, 
must be reported.

Line H
Enter the total amount of capital gains you 
received from the sale, exchange, or other 
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Mobile Home Owners. If you occupied your mo-
bile home with someone who was not your spouse 
and shared site fees with them, check “Yes.” If 
you (and your spouse) were the sole occupant(s), 
check “No.”

Line 11b - Percentage of Ownership
Homeowners. If you answered “Yes” at Line 11a, 
enter the share (percentage) of the property you 
(and your spouse) owned. 

Example: You and your spouse owned a home 
with your sister. Your sister did not live with you, 
and you and your spouse paid all the property 
taxes. You must enter 50% on Line 11b of your 
application because you and your spouse owned 
only one-half (50%) of the property. If your sister is 
also eligible, she must file a separate property tax 
reimbursement application. 

Mobile Home Owners. If you answered “Yes” at 
Line 11a, enter the share (percentage) of site fees 
that you (and your spouse) paid. 

Line 12a - Multiunit Properties
Check “Yes” if your principal residence was a unit 
in a multiunit property that you owned. For ex-
ample, you owned a property consisting of four 
residential units and you occupied one of the units 
as your principal residence. If the property is not a 
multiunit property, check “No.” 

“Unit of residential property” means a single, 
separate dwelling unit that must include complete, 
independent living facilities for one or more per-
sons. This unit must contain permanent provisions 
for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanita-
tion along with separate kitchen and bathroom 
facilities.

Note:	 Residents of condominium complexes, 
co-ops, and continuing care retirement 
facilities are not considered to be liv-
ing in multiunit properties and should 
check “No.”

Line 12b - Percentage of Occupancy
If you answered “Yes” at Line 12a, enter the share 
(percentage) of the property that you (and your 
spouse) used as your principal residence. 

Example:  You owned a four-unit property. The 
units are equal in size, and one of the units was 

addition, you must report life insurance proceeds 
payable by reason of death, except for payments 
to the spouse of the deceased.

Line O
Enter the total amount of income you received 
from royalties.

Line P
Enter the total amount of gambling and lottery win-
nings you received, including all New Jersey Lot-
tery winnings. 

Line Q
Enter the total amount of any other income you 
received for which a place has not been pro-
vided elsewhere on the application. Income from 
sources both legal and illegal must be included. 

Principal Residence
(Lines 9 – 12)
Line 9 - Status 
Fill in the oval ( ) to indicate whether you are 
claiming the reimbursement as a “Homeowner” or 
“Mobile Home Owner.” Fill in only one oval.

Line 10 - Block and Lot Numbers 
Homeowners, enter the Block and Lot Numbers 
of the residence for which you are claiming the 
reimbursement. Include qualifier if applicable (con-
dominiums only). You can obtain this information 
from your current property tax bill or from your lo-
cal tax collector.

Enter the Block and Lot Numbers in the boxes like 
this:
Example:  Block 3105.62  Lot 14.3

Mobile Home Owners will not have a block or 
lot number.

Line 11a - Multiple Owners 
Homeowners. Check “Yes” only if you owned the 
property that was your principal residence with 
someone who was not your spouse — even if the 
other owner(s) did not live there. For example, 
you and your sister owned the home you lived in. 
If you (and your spouse) were the sole owner(s), 
check “No.”
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2015 or 2016, these payments are not con-
sidered property taxes for purposes of the 
property tax reimbursement.

Residents of cooperative dwelling units and 
continuing care retirement facilities must obtain 
a statement from their management indicating 
their share of property taxes paid for the residen-
tial unit they occupy.

Multiple Owners. If you owned your home with 
someone who was not your spouse, enter for 
each year the proportionate share of the property 
taxes for your percentage of ownership listed at 
Line 11b. The shares of ownership of the property 
are considered to be held equally by all owners. 
If the shares of ownership are not equal, enclose 
a copy of your deed or other documentation with 
your application showing your percentage of 
ownership. 

Example: You and your sister (who lives in an-
other state) are co-owners of a home on which 
you pay all the property taxes. If the 2016 property 
taxes totaled $6,000 and the 2015 property taxes 
totaled $5,000, you must indicate at Line 11b that 
you owned 50% of the property, and you must 
enter $3,000 ($6,000  50%) on Line 13 and 
$2,500 ($5,000  50%) on Line 14. You are only 
eligible for a proportionate share of the reimburse-
ment based on your percentage of ownership in 
the property. Your sister is not eligible for a reim-
bursement for this home because she does not 
live there.

Multiple Units. If your principal residence was a 
unit in a multiunit property that you owned, enter 
for each year the proportionate share of the prop-
erty taxes for the unit you occupied as your princi-
pal residence. 

Example: You own a four-unit property. If the 
2016 property taxes for the entire property to-
taled $4,000 and the 2015 property taxes totaled 
$3,800 and you indicated at Line 12b that you 
occupied 25% of the property (one unit), you must 
enter $1,000 ($4,000  25%) on Line 13 and $950 
($3,800  25%) on Line 14. You are only eligible 
for a proportionate share of the reimbursement 
based on the portion of the property that you occu-
pied as your principal residence, even if you paid 
all of the property taxes.
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your principal residence. You occupied one-fourth 
(25%) of the property as your principal residence. 
Enter 25% at Line 12b. 

Note:	
•• If the property you owned consists of more 

than four units, you do not qualify for the 
reimbursement, even if one of the units was 
your principal residence.

•• If the property you owned contains more 
than one commercial unit, you do not 
qualify for the reimbursement, even if it also 
includes a residential unit you used as your 
principal residence.

2016 and 2015 Property Taxes
(Lines 13 and 14)
Homeowners
Enter your total property taxes due and paid on 
your principal residence in New Jersey for 2016 on 
Line 13, and for 2015 on Line 14. (If you received 
a senior citizen’s deduction, veteran’s deduction, 
Regional Efficiency Aid Program (REAP) credit, 
and/or homestead benefit credit(s) in 2015 or 
2016, enter the amount of property taxes actu-
ally due and paid before the deduction(s) and/or 
credit(s) were subtracted.) 

If you enclose Form PTR-1A, you must enter on 
Lines 13 and 14 the property tax amounts for 2015 
and 2016 from the boxes at Line 5 in Part II.

Enter dollars and cents, one digit in each box ( ). 
Do not use dollar signs or dashes. You must have 
paid the full amount of 2016 property taxes due by 
June 1, 2017, and the full amount of 2015 property 
taxes due by June 1, 2016, to be eligible for the 
reimbursement. 

Note:	
•• If you (or your spouse) are a totally and per-

manently disabled veteran who received a 
100% exemption from local property taxes 
in 2015 or 2016, you are not eligible for a 
property tax reimbursement, even if a por-
tion of the property was rented to a tenant 
and property taxes were paid on the rented 
portion.

•• If you made P.I.L.O.T. (Payments-in-Lieu-of-
Tax) payments to your municipality during 
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Multiunit Property With Multiple Owners. If you 
answered “Yes” at both Lines 11a and 12a for 
2015 or 2016, use the percentage of occupancy 
on Line 12b to calculate your proportionate share 
of property taxes. 

Mobile Home Owners
Enter your property taxes due and paid on your 
principal residence in New Jersey for 2016 on 
Line 13, and for 2015 on Line 14. (For mobile 
home owners, property taxes are 18% of the an-
nual site fees due and paid to the owner of the 
mobile home park.) If you lived with someone 
who was not your spouse and shared the site 
fees with them, use the percentage entered on 
Line 11b to calculate the proportionate share of 
the site fees paid by you (and your spouse). Mul-
tiply the amount of site fees for each year by 18% 
(0.18) and enter the result in the boxes at Lines 13 
and 14. 

If you enclose Form PTR-1B, you must enter on 
Lines 13 and 14 the property tax amounts for 2015 
and 2016 from the boxes at Line 6 in Part III. 

Enter dollars and cents, one digit in each box ( ). 
Do not use dollar signs or dashes. You must have 
paid the full amount of site fees due for 2016 by 
December 31, 2016, and the full amount of site 
fees due for 2015 by December 31, 2015, to be 
eligible for the reimbursement.

Important
You must enclose verification of 2015 and 
2016 property taxes (or mobile home park 
site fees) due and paid with Form PTR-1. See 
page 3 for acceptable forms of proof.

Reimbursement Amount
(Line 15)
Subtract Line 14 from Line 13 and enter the result 
on Line 15. Enter dollars and cents, one digit in 
each box ( ). Do not use dollar signs or dashes. 
This is the amount of your 2016 property tax 
reimbursement. If the amount on Line 15 is zero 
or less, you are not eligible for a property tax 
reimbursement, and you should not file this 
application.

The total amount of all property tax relief benefits 
you receive for 2016 (property tax reimbursement, 
homestead benefit, property tax deduction for 
senior citizens/disabled persons, and property tax 
deduction for veterans) cannot exceed the total 
amount of property taxes or rent/site fees consti-
tuting property taxes paid for 2016 on your prin-
cipal residence in New Jersey. (For this purpose, 
18% of rent/site fees paid during the year is con-
sidered property taxes.) This limitation may affect 
the amount of your property tax reimbursement.

Note:	 Eligibility requirements, including 
income limits, and benefits available 
under this program are subject to 
change by the State Budget. Check 
the Division of Taxation’s website at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/
index.shtml or call 1-800-323-4400 for 
updated information. (See “Impact of 
State Budget” on page 1.)

Under New Jersey law, if you receive a property 
tax reimbursement that is larger than the amount 
for which you are eligible, you must repay any ex-
cess you received. The amount you owe can be 
deducted from your property tax reimbursement, 
income tax refund or credit, or homestead benefit 
before a payment is issued. 

Signatures
Sign and date your application in blue or black ink. 
If your 2016 marital/civil union status is married/
CU couple, both of you must sign the application. 
The signatures on the application you file must be 
original; photocopied signatures are not accept-
able. We cannot process an application without 
the proper signature(s) and will return it to you. 
This may delay your reimbursement.

Daytime Telephone Number and/or Email Ad-
dress. Providing your daytime telephone number 
and/or email address may help us process your 
application if we have questions. If you are filing a 
joint application, you can enter either your or your 
spouse’s daytime telephone number and/or email 
address.

Tax Preparers. Anyone who prepares an applica-
tion for a fee must sign the application as a “Paid 
Preparer” and enter his or her Social Security 
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Important Points to Remember
1.	 Complete the entire application. Provide full information for both 2015 and 2016.

2.	 You must meet the eligibility requirements for both 2015 and 2016 (see page 1). 

3.	 Enclose proof of age or disability for 2015 and 2016.

4.	 Homeowners, enclose copies of your 2015 and 2016 property tax bills and proof of pay-
ment or Form PTR-1A. Mobile home owners, enclose proof of 2015 and 2016 site fees 
due and paid or Form PTR-1B. 

5.	 File your application on or before June 1, 2017.

6.	 If you meet the eligibility requirements for both 2015 and 2016, you must file this applica-
tion in order to use the amount of your 2015 property taxes to calculate your reimburse-
ment in future years.

7.	 Eligibility requirements, including income limits, and benefits available under this program 
are subject to change by the State Budget. (See “Impact of State Budget” on page 1.)

Caution!!!
This is not an application for a homestead benefit. You must file a separate 
application to apply for a homestead benefit.
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number or Federal preparer tax identification num-
ber. Include the company or corporation name 
and Federal identification number if applicable. 
A tax preparer who fails to sign the application 
or provide a tax identification number may incur 
a $25 penalty for each omission. Someone who 
prepares your application but does not charge you 
should not sign your application.

Where to Send Your 
Application
When you have completed and signed your appli-
cation, use the envelope provided in the booklet to 
mail the application and supporting documentation 
to:

NJ Division of Taxation
Revenue Processing Center
Property Tax Reimbursement
PO Box 635
Trenton, NJ 08646-0635

For information or help in completing your applica
tion, call the Property Tax Reimbursement Hotline 
at 1‑800‑882‑6597 to speak to a Division of Taxa
tion representative. Representatives are available 
Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
(except State holidays).



2016 County/Municipality Codes
Enter the appropriate four-digit number in the boxes below the Social Security number boxes on Form PTR-1. These codes 
are for Division of Taxation purposes only. If the place where you live is not listed, see instructions on page 6.

Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code

ATLANTIC COUNTY
Absecon City	 0101
Atlantic City	 0102
Brigantine City	 0103
Buena Borough	 0104
Buena Vista Township	 0105
Corbin City	 0106
Egg Harbor City	 0107
Egg Harbor Township	 0108
Estell Manor City	 0109
Folsom Borough	 0110
Galloway Township	 0111
Hamilton Township	 0112
Hammonton Town	 0113
Linwood City	 0114
Longport Borough	 0115
Margate City	 0116
Mullica Township	 0117
Northfield City	 0118
Pleasantville City	 0119
Port Republic City	 0120
Somers Point City	 0121
Ventnor City	 0122
Weymouth Township	 0123

BERGEN COUNTY
Allendale Borough	 0201
Alpine Borough	 0202
Bergenfield Borough	 0203
Bogota Borough	 0204
Carlstadt Borough	 0205
Cliffside Park Borough	 0206
Closter Borough	 0207
Cresskill Borough	 0208
Demarest Borough	 0209
Dumont Borough	 0210
East Rutherford Borough	 0212
Edgewater Borough	 0213
Elmwood Park Borough	 0211
Emerson Borough	 0214
Englewood City	 0215
Englewood Cliffs Borough	 0216
Fair Lawn Borough	 0217
Fairview Borough	 0218
Fort Lee Borough	 0219
Franklin Lakes Borough	 0220
Garfield City	 0221
Glen Rock Borough	 0222
Hackensack City	 0223
Harrington Park Borough	 0224

Hasbrouck Heights Bor.	 0225
Haworth Borough	 0226
Hillsdale Borough	 0227
Ho Ho Kus Borough	 0228
Leonia Borough	 0229
Little Ferry Borough	 0230
Lodi Borough	 0231
Lyndhurst Township	 0232
Mahwah Township	 0233
Maywood Borough	 0234
Midland Park Borough	 0235
Montvale Borough	 0236
Moonachie Borough	 0237
New Milford Borough	 0238
North Arlington Borough	 0239
Northvale Borough	 0240
Norwood Borough	 0241
Oakland Borough	 0242
Old Tappan Borough	 0243
Oradell Borough	 0244
Palisades Park Borough	 0245
Paramus Borough	 0246
Park Ridge Borough	 0247
Ramsey Borough	 0248
Ridgefield Borough	 0249
Ridgefield Park Village	 0250
Ridgewood Village	 0251
River Edge Borough	 0252
River Vale Township	 0253
Rochelle Park Township	 0254
Rockleigh Borough	 0255
Rutherford Borough	 0256
Saddle Brook Township	 0257
Saddle River Borough	 0258
South Hackensack Twp.	 0259
Teaneck Township	 0260
Tenafly Borough	 0261
Teterboro Borough	 0262
Upper Saddle River Bor.	 0263
Waldwick Borough	 0264
Wallington Borough	 0265
Washington Township	 0266
Westwood Borough	 0267
Woodcliff Lake Borough	 0268
Wood-Ridge Borough	 0269
Wyckoff Township	 0270

BURLINGTON COUNTY	
Bass River Township	 0301
Beverly City	 0302
Bordentown City	 0303

Bordentown Township	 0304
Burlington City	 0305
Burlington Township	 0306
Chesterfield Township	 0307
Cinnaminson Township	 0308
Delanco Township	 0309
Delran Township	 0310
Eastampton Township	 0311
Edgewater Park Township	 0312
Evesham Township	 0313
Fieldsboro Borough	 0314
Florence Township	 0315
Hainesport Township	 0316
Lumberton Township	 0317
Mansfield Township	 0318
Maple Shade Township	 0319
Medford Township	 0320
Medford Lakes Borough	 0321
Moorestown Township	 0322
Mount Holly Township	 0323
Mount Laurel Township	 0324
New Hanover Township	 0325
North Hanover Township	 0326
Palmyra Borough	 0327
Pemberton Borough	 0328
Pemberton Township	 0329
Riverside Township	 0330
Riverton Borough	 0331
Shamong Township	 0332
Southampton Township	 0333
Springfield Township	 0334
Tabernacle Township	 0335
Washington Township	 0336
Westampton Township	 0337
Willingboro Township	 0338
Woodland Township	 0339
Wrightstown Borough	 0340

CAMDEN COUNTY	
Audubon Borough	 0401
Audubon Park Borough	 0402
Barrington Borough	 0403
Bellmawr Borough	 0404
Berlin Borough	 0405
Berlin Township	 0406
Brooklawn Borough	 0407
Camden City	 0408
Cherry Hill Township	 0409
Chesilhurst Borough	 0410
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Enter the appropriate four-digit number in the boxes below the Social Security number boxes on Form PTR-1. These codes 
are for Division of Taxation purposes only. If the place where you live is not listed, see instructions on page 6.

Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code

Clementon Borough	 0411
Collingswood Borough	 0412
Gibbsboro Borough	 0413
Gloucester City	 0414
Gloucester Township	 0415
Haddon Township	 0416
Haddonfield Borough	 0417
Haddon Heights Borough	 0418
Hi-Nella Borough	 0419
Laurel Springs Borough	 0420
Lawnside Borough	 0421
Lindenwold Borough	 0422
Magnolia Borough	 0423
Merchantville Borough	 0424
Mount Ephraim Borough	 0425
Oaklyn Borough	 0426
Pennsauken Township	 0427
Pine Hill Borough	 0428
Pine Valley Borough	 0429
Runnemede Borough	 0430
Somerdale Borough	 0431
Stratford Borough	 0432
Tavistock Borough	 0433
Voorhees Township	 0434
Waterford Township	 0435
Winslow Township	 0436
Woodlynne Borough	 0437

CAPE MAY COUNTY	
Avalon Borough	 0501
Cape May City	 0502
Cape May Point Borough	 0503
Dennis Township	 0504
Lower Township	 0505
Middle Township	 0506
North Wildwood City	 0507
Ocean City	 0508
Sea Isle City	 0509
Stone Harbor Borough	 0510
Upper Township	 0511
West Cape May Borough	 0512
West Wildwood Borough	 0513
Wildwood City	 0514
Wildwood Crest Borough	 0515
Woodbine Borough	 0516

CUMBERLAND COUNTY	
Bridgeton City	 0601
Commercial Township	 0602
Deerfield Township	 0603
Downe Township	 0604

Fairfield Township	 0605
Greenwich Township	 0606
Hopewell Township	 0607
Lawrence Township	 0608
Maurice River Township	 0609
Millville City	 0610
Shiloh Borough	 0611
Stow Creek Township	 0612
Upper Deerfield Township	 0613
Vineland City	 0614

ESSEX COUNTY
Belleville Township	 0701
Bloomfield Township	 0702
Caldwell Borough	 0703
Cedar Grove Township	 0704
East Orange City	 0705
Essex Fells Township	 0706
Fairfield Township	 0707
Glen Ridge Borough	 0708
Irvington Township	 0709
Livingston Township	 0710
Maplewood Township	 0711
Millburn Township	 0712
Montclair Township	 0713
Newark City	 0714
North Caldwell Borough	 0715
Nutley Township	 0716
Orange City 	 0717
Roseland Borough	 0718
South Orange Village Twp.	 0719
Verona Township	 0720
West Caldwell Township	 0721
West Orange Township	 0722

GLOUCESTER COUNTY
Clayton Borough	 0801
Deptford Township	 0802
East Greenwich Township	 0803
Elk Township	 0804
Franklin Township	 0805
Glassboro Borough	 0806
Greenwich Township	 0807
Harrison Township	 0808
Logan Township	 0809
Mantua Township	 0810
Monroe Township	 0811
National Park Borough	 0812
Newfield Borough	 0813
Paulsboro Borough	 0814
Pitman Borough	 0815

South Harrison Township	 0816
Swedesboro Borough	 0817
Washington Township	 0818
Wenonah Borough	 0819
West Deptford Township	 0820
Westville Borough	 0821
Woodbury City	 0822
Woodbury Heights Borough	 0823
Woolwich Township	 0824

HUDSON COUNTY
Bayonne City	 0901
East Newark Borough	 0902
Guttenberg Town	 0903
Harrison Town	 0904
Hoboken City	 0905
Jersey City	 0906
Kearny Town	 0907
North Bergen Township	 0908
Secaucus Town	 0909
Union City	 0910
Weehawken Township	 0911
West New York Town	 0912

HUNTERDON COUNTY
Alexandria Township	 1001
Bethlehem Township	 1002
Bloomsbury Borough	 1003
Califon Borough	 1004
Clinton Town	 1005
Clinton Township	 1006
Delaware Township	 1007
East Amwell Township	 1008
Flemington Borough	 1009
Franklin Township	 1010
Frenchtown Borough	 1011
Glen Gardner Borough	 1012
Hampton Borough	 1013
High Bridge Borough	 1014
Holland Township	 1015
Kingwood Township	 1016
Lambertville City	 1017
Lebanon Borough	 1018
Lebanon Township	 1019
Milford Borough	 1020
Raritan Township	 1021
Readington Township	 1022
Stockton Borough	 1023
Tewksbury Township	 1024
Union Township	 1025
West Amwell Township	 1026

Page 15



2016 County/Municipality Codes
Enter the appropriate four-digit number in the boxes below the Social Security number boxes on Form PTR-1. These codes 
are for Division of Taxation purposes only. If the place where you live is not listed, see instructions on page 6.

Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code

Colts Neck Township	 1310
Deal Borough	 1311
Eatontown Borough	 1312
Englishtown Borough	 1313
Fair Haven Borough	 1314
Farmingdale Borough	 1315
Freehold Borough	 1316
Freehold Township	 1317
Hazlet Township	 1318
Highlands Borough	 1319
Holmdel Township	 1320
Howell Township	 1321
Interlaken Borough	 1322
Keansburg Borough	 1323
Keyport Borough	 1324
Lake Como Borough	 1346
Little Silver Borough	 1325
Loch Arbour Village	 1326
Long Branch City	 1327
Manalapan Township	 1328
Manasquan Borough	 1329
Marlboro Township	 1330
Matawan Borough	 1331
Middletown Township	 1332
Millstone Township	 1333
Monmouth Beach Borough	 1334
Neptune City Borough	 1336
Neptune Township	 1335
Ocean Township	 1337
Oceanport Borough	 1338
Red Bank Borough	 1339
Roosevelt Borough	 1340
Rumson Borough	 1341
Sea Bright Borough	 1342
Sea Girt Borough	 1343
Shrewsbury Borough	 1344
Shrewsbury Township	 1345
Spring Lake Borough	 1347
Spring Lake Heights Bor.	 1348
Tinton Falls Borough	 1349
Union Beach Borough	 1350
Upper Freehold Township	 1351
Wall Township	 1352
West Long Branch Borough	 1353

MORRIS COUNTY	
Boonton Town	 1401
Boonton Township	 1402
Butler Borough	 1403
Chatham Borough	 1404
Chatham Township	 1405

MERCER COUNTY	
East Windsor Township	 1101	
Ewing Township	 1102
Hamilton Township	 1103
Hightstown Borough	 1104
Hopewell Borough	 1105
Hopewell Township	 1106
Lawrence Township	 1107
Pennington Borough	 1108
Princeton	 1114
Robbinsville Township	 1112
Trenton City	 1111
West Windsor Township	 1113

MIDDLESEX COUNTY	
Carteret Borough	 1201
Cranbury Township	 1202
Dunellen Borough	 1203
East Brunswick Township	 1204
Edison Township	 1205
Helmetta Borough	 1206
Highland Park Borough	 1207
Jamesburg Borough	 1208
Metuchen Borough	 1209
Middlesex Borough	 1210
Milltown Borough	 1211
Monroe Township	 1212
New Brunswick City	 1213
North Brunswick Township	 1214
Old Bridge Township	 1215
Perth Amboy City	 1216
Piscataway Township	 1217
Plainsboro Township	 1218
Sayreville Borough	 1219
South Amboy City	 1220
South Brunswick Township	 1221
South Plainfield Borough	 1222
South River Borough	 1223
Spotswood Borough	 1224
Woodbridge Township	 1225

MONMOUTH COUNTY	
Aberdeen Township	 1301
Allenhurst Borough	 1302
Allentown Borough	 1303
Asbury Park City	 1304
Atlantic Highlands Borough	 1305
Avon-by-the-Sea Borough	 1306
Belmar Borough	 1307
Bradley Beach Borough	 1308
Brielle Borough	 1309

Chester Borough	 1406
Chester Township	 1407
Denville Township	 1408
Dover Town	 1409
East Hanover Township	 1410
Florham Park Borough	 1411
Hanover Township	 1412
Harding Township	 1413
Jefferson Township	 1414
Kinnelon Borough	 1415
Lincoln Park Borough	 1416
Long Hill Township	 1430
Madison Borough	 1417
Mendham Borough	 1418
Mendham Township	 1419
Mine Hill Township	 1420
Montville Township	 1421
Morris Plains Borough	 1423
Morris Township	 1422
Morristown Town	 1424
Mountain Lakes Borough	 1425
Mt. Arlington Borough	 1426
Mt. Olive Township	 1427
Netcong Borough	 1428
Parsippany-Troy Hills Twp.	 1429
Pequannock Township	 1431
Randolph Township	 1432
Riverdale Borough	 1433
Rockaway Borough	 1434
Rockaway Township	 1435
Roxbury Township	 1436
Victory Gardens Borough	 1437
Washington Township	 1438
Wharton Borough	 1439

OCEAN COUNTY	
Barnegat Township	 1501
Barnegat Light Borough	 1502
Bay Head Borough	 1503
Beach Haven Borough	 1504
Beachwood Borough	 1505
Berkeley Township	 1506
Brick Township	 1507
Eagleswood Township	 1509
Harvey Cedars Borough	 1510
Island Heights Borough	 1511
Jackson Township	 1512
Lacey Township	 1513
Lakehurst Borough	 1514
Lakewood Township	 1515
Lavallette Borough	 1516

Page 16



2016 County/Municipality Codes
Enter the appropriate four-digit number in the boxes below the Social Security number boxes on Form PTR-1. These codes 
are for Division of Taxation purposes only. If the place where you live is not listed, see instructions on page 6.

Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code	 Municipality	 Code

Little Egg Harbor Township	 1517
Long Beach Township	 1518
Manchester Township	 1519
Mantoloking Borough	 1520
Ocean Gate Borough	 1522
Ocean Township	 1521
Pine Beach Borough	 1523
Plumsted Township	 1524
Point Pleasant Borough	 1525
Pt. Pleasant Beach Borough	 1526
Seaside Heights Borough	 1527
Seaside Park Borough	 1528
Ship Bottom Borough	 1529
South Toms River Borough	 1530
Stafford Township	 1531
Surf City Borough	 1532
Toms River Township	 1508
Tuckerton Borough	 1533

PASSAIC COUNTY	
Bloomingdale Borough	 1601
Clifton City	 1602
Haledon Borough	 1603
Hawthorne Borough	 1604
Little Falls Township	 1605
North Haledon Borough	 1606
Passaic City	 1607
Paterson City	 1608
Pompton Lakes Borough	 1609
Prospect Park Borough	 1610
Ringwood Borough	 1611
Totowa Borough	 1612
Wanaque Borough	 1613
Wayne Township	 1614
West Milford Township	 1615
Woodland Park Borough	 1616

SALEM COUNTY	
Alloway Township	 1701
Carneys Point Township	 1702
Elmer Borough	 1703
Elsinboro Township	 1704
Lower Alloways Creek Twp.	 1705
Mannington Township	 1706
Oldmans Township	 1707
Penns Grove Borough	 1708
Pennsville Township	 1709
Pilesgrove Township	 1710
Pittsgrove Township	 1711
Quinton Township	 1712

Salem City	 1713
Upper Pittsgrove Township	 1714
Woodstown Borough	 1715

SOMERSET COUNTY	
Bedminster Township	 1801
Bernards Township	 1802
Bernardsville Borough	 1803
Bound Brook Borough	 1804
Branchburg Township	 1805
Bridgewater Township	 1806
Far Hills Borough	 1807
Franklin Township	 1808
Green Brook Township	 1809
Hillsborough Township	 1810
Manville Borough	 1811
Millstone Borough	 1812
Montgomery Township	 1813
North Plainfield Borough	 1814
Peapack & Gladstone Bor.	 1815
Raritan Borough	 1816
Rocky Hill Borough	 1817
Somerville Borough	 1818
South Bound Brook Bor.	 1819
Warren Township	 1820
Watchung Borough	 1821

SUSSEX COUNTY	
Andover Borough	 1901
Andover Township	 1902
Branchville Borough	 1903
Byram Township	 1904
Frankford Township	 1905
Franklin Borough	 1906
Fredon Township	 1907
Green Township	 1908
Hamburg Borough	 1909
Hampton Township	 1910
Hardyston Township	 1911
Hopatcong Borough	 1912
Lafayette Township	 1913
Montague Township	 1914
Newton Town	 1915
Ogdensburg Borough	 1916
Sandyston Township	 1917
Sparta Township	 1918
Stanhope Borough	 1919
Stillwater Township	 1920
Sussex Borough	 1921
Vernon Township	 1922

Walpack Township	 1923
Wantage Township	 1924

UNION COUNTY	
Berkeley Heights Township	 2001
Clark Township	 2002
Cranford Township	 2003
Elizabeth City	 2004
Fanwood Borough	 2005
Garwood Borough	 2006
Hillside Township	 2007
Kenilworth Borough	 2008
Linden City	 2009
Mountainside Borough	 2010
New Providence Borough	 2011
Plainfield City	 2012
Rahway City	 2013
Roselle Borough	 2014
Roselle Park Borough	 2015
Scotch Plains Township	 2016
Springfield Township	 2017
Summit City	 2018
Union Township	 2019
Westfield Town	 2020
Winfield Township	 2021

WARREN COUNTY	
Allamuchy Township	 2101
Alpha Borough	 2102
Belvidere Town	 2103
Blairstown Township	 2104
Franklin Township	 2105
Frelinghuysen Township	 2106
Greenwich Township	 2107
Hackettstown Town	 2108
Hardwick Township	 2109
Harmony Township	 2110
Hope Township	 2111
Independence Township	 2112
Knowlton Township	 2113
Liberty Township	 2114
Lopatcong Township	 2115
Mansfield Township	 2116
Oxford Township	 2117
Phillipsburg Town	 2119
Pohatcong Township	 2120
Washington Borough	 2121
Washington Township	 2122
White Township	 2123
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Line 19a - Pensions, 
Annuities, and IRA 
Withdrawals
Pensions, annuities, and certain IRA with­
drawals are taxable and must be reported 
on Line 19a. The New Jersey taxable 
amount may be different from the Federal 
amount.  

All state and local government, teachers’, 
and Federal pensions, and Keogh Plans 
are treated the same way as pensions from 
the private sector. Amounts received as 
“early retirement benefits” and amounts 
reported as pension on Schedule NJK-1, 
Partnership Return Form NJ-1065, are 
also taxable. 

Social Security and Railroad Retirement 
benefits are not taxable. Do not include 
these amounts on Form NJ-1040. 

Pension payments received because of 
total and permanent disability are not 
taxable until the year you reach age 65. 
If you continue to receive pension pay­
ments after you turn 65, your disability 
pension is treated as ordinary pension 
income beginning that year. (See defini­
tion of “disabled” on page 16 of NJ-1040 
instructions.)

Military pensions and survivor’s benefit 
payments are not taxable. Do not in­
clude these payments on Form NJ-1040. 
Military pensions are those resulting 
from service in the United States Army, 
Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast 
Guard. However, civil service pensions 
and annuities are taxable, even if they are 
based on credit for military service. Most 
military pensions and survivor’s benefit 
payments are received from the U.S. De­
fense Finance and Accounting Service, 
while a civil service annuity is received 
through the U.S. Office of Personnel 
Management. 

Taxable and Excludable Amounts
Retirement plans are either noncontribu­
tory or contributory. The amounts you re­
port depend on the type of plan you have.

Noncontributory Plans. If you did not 
make any contributions to your plan, it is 
a noncontributory plan. Amounts received 

from noncontributory plans are fully tax­
able. Enter the total amount from your 
1099-R on Line 19a.

Contributory Plans (Other Than IRAs). 
If you made contributions to your plan, it 
is a contributory plan. Your contributions 
are usually made through payroll deduc­
tions and, in general, were taxed when 
they were made. Your contributions are 
not taxed when withdrawn (except for 
401(k) Plans). Contributory plans also 
include employer contributions (if any) 
and earnings, which have not been taxed. 
Therefore, you must determine the taxable 
and excludable parts of your distribution.

There are two methods of calculating the 
taxable and excludable amounts: Three-
Year Rule Method and General Rule 
Method. Complete Worksheet A above to 
determine which method you should use.

Note:  
�� If you received a distribution from 

a 401(k) Plan, see page A-2 before 
continuing. 

�� If you made a withdrawal from an IRA, 
complete Worksheet C on page A-3. Do 
not use Worksheet A or B for an IRA 
withdrawal.

Three-Year Rule Method. You may use 
the Three-Year Rule Method if:
�� You will recover all your contributions 

within 36 months from the date you 
receive your first payment from the 
plan, and 

�� Both you and your employer contrib­
uted to the plan.

When you use the Three-Year Rule 
Method, do not report your pension and 
annuity payments as income on Line 19a 
until you have recovered all of your con­
tributions. Instead, report these amounts 
on Line 19b (see page 24 of NJ-1040 
instructions). Once you have recovered 
your contributions, the payments you 
receive are fully taxable and must be re­
ported on Line 19a. The amount taxable 
for New Jersey purposes will be different 
from the amount you report on your Fed­
eral return when using this method, un­
less you retired on or before July 1, 1986.

General Rule Method. You must use the 
General Rule Method if:
�� You will not recover your contribu­

tions within 36 months from the date 
you receive your first payment from 
the plan, or 

�� Your employer did not contribute to 
the plan.

When you use the General Rule Method, 
part of your pension is excludable and 
part is taxable every year. The excludable 
amount represents your contributions. 
Complete Worksheet B on page A-2 
the year you receive your first pension 
payment. Keep Worksheet B for your 
records. You will need it to calculate your 
taxable and excludable amounts in future 
years. Recalculate the percentage on 
line 3 of the worksheet only if your an­
nual pension payments decrease.

Contributions to Plans Prior to Becom-
ing a Resident. Any contributions you 
made to a pension, annuity, or IRA before 
moving to New Jersey are treated as if 

Worksheet A 
Which Pension Method to Use

1.	 Amount of pension you will receive during the first three  
years (36 months) from the date of the first payment ...........  1. _____________

2.	 Your contributions to the plan ...............................................  2. _____________ 
3.	 Subtract line 2 from line 1 .....................................................  3. _____________ 

(a)	 If line 3 is “0” or more, and both you and your employer contributed to the 
plan, you may use the Three-Year Rule Method.

(b)	 If line 3 is less than “0,” or your employer did not contribute to the plan, you 
must use the General Rule Method.

(Keep for your records)

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/current/1040.pdf
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you had been a New Jersey resident at the 
time. Contributions to plans other than 
401(k) Plans are considered to have been 
previously taxed. 

Lump-Sum Distributions and Roll
overs. When you receive a lump-sum 
distribution of the entire balance from 
a qualified employee pension, annuity, 
profit-sharing, or other plan, any amount 
that exceeds your previously taxed contri­
butions must be included in your income 
in the year received. New Jersey has no 
provision for income averaging of lump-
sum distributions. Report the taxable 
amount on Line 19a and the excludable 
amount on Line 19b.

If you roll over a lump-sum distribution 
from an IRA or a qualified employee pen­
sion or annuity plan into an IRA or other 
eligible plan, do not report the rollover on 
Line 19a or 19b if it qualifies for defer­
ral for Federal tax purposes. The amount 
rolled over (minus previously taxed 
contributions) will be taxable when it is 
withdrawn. 

401(k) Plans. New Jersey’s treatment 
of 401(k) Plan contributions changed on 
January 1, 1984. 

1.	 Contributions made on or after 
January 1, 1984, were not taxed 
when they were made. If all of your 
contributions were made on or after 
that date, your distributions are fully 

taxable unless your contributions ex­
ceeded the Federal limit. If your con­
tributions exceeded the Federal limit, 
you must calculate the taxable and ex­
cludable portions of your distributions 
using one of the methods described 
under contributory plans.

2.	 Contributions made before Janu-
ary 1, 1984, were taxed when they 
were made. If you made contributions 
before that date, you must calculate 
the taxable and excludable portions 
of your distributions using one of the 
methods described under contributory 
plans.

For more information, see Tax Topic Bul­
letin GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities.

Traditional IRAs
Your IRA consists of your contributions 
and earnings plus certain amounts rolled 
over from pension plans. In general, your 
contributions were taxed when you made 
them and are not taxed by New Jersey 
when withdrawn. The portion of your 
distribution that represents earnings is 
taxable. Earnings credited to your IRA, as 
well as tax-free rollovers, are not taxable 
until withdrawn. 

Use Worksheet C on page A-3 to calculate 
the taxable and excludable portions of 
your IRA withdrawal. Report the taxable 
amount on Line 19a and the excludable 

amount on Line 19b. If you made with­
drawals from multiple IRAs, you may use 
a separate worksheet for each or combine 
all IRAs on one worksheet.

Lump-Sum Withdrawal. If you with­
draw the total amount from an IRA, all 
the earnings and any amounts rolled over 
tax-free are taxable. You must report 
these amounts in the year you make the 
withdrawal. 

Periodic Withdrawals. If you make 
withdrawals over a period of years, the 
part of the annual distribution that rep­
resents earnings is taxable. The amount 
taxable for New Jersey purposes may be 
different from the amount you report on 
your Federal return.

For more information, see Tax Topic Bul­
letin GIT-2, IRA Withdrawals, and Tech­
nical Bulletin TB-44.

Worksheet B
General Rule Method

1.	 Your previously taxed contributions to the plan ...................  1. _____________
2.	 Expected return on contract* ................................................  2. _____________
3.	 Percentage excludable (Divide line 1 by line 2) ...................  3. _____________%
4.	 Amount received this year ....................................................  4. _____________ 
5.	 Amount excludable (Multiply line 4 by line 3) 

Enter here and on Line 19b, Form NJ-1040 ..........................  5. _____________
6.	 Taxable amount (Subtract line 5 from line 4.  

Enter here and on Line 19a, Form NJ-1040) ........................  6. _____________ 

*The expected return on the contract is the amount receivable. If life expectancy 
is a factor under your plan, Federal actuarial tables must be used to compute the 
expected return. The Federal actuarial tables are contained in the Internal Revenue 
Service’s Publication 939, General Rule for Pensions and Annuities. Contact the 
IRS for this publication. If life expectancy is not a factor under your plan, the ex­
pected return is found by totaling the amounts to be received.

(Keep for your records)

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git2.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb44.pdf
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Worksheet C - IRA Withdrawals
 2016

Part I  
1.	 Value of IRA on 12/31/16. 

Include contributions made for the 
tax year from 1/1/17–4/15/17 ............................ 1.  ________ 

2.	 Total distributions from IRA during the  
tax year. Do not include tax-free rollovers........ 2.  ________ 

3.	 Total value of IRA.   
Add lines 1 and 2 ............................... 3.    _______ 

Unrecovered Contributions:  
Complete either line 4a or 4b: 
4a.	 First year of withdrawal from IRA:  

Enter the total of IRA contributions  
that were previously taxed ................. 4a.  _______ 

4b.	 After first year of withdrawal   
from IRA: Complete Part II. Enter   
amount of unrecovered contributions   
from Part II, line (g)*.......................... 4b.  _______ 

5.	 Accumulated earnings in IRA on  
12/31/16. Subtract either line 4a   
or 4b from line 3 ................................ 5.    _______ 

6.	 Divide line 5 by line 3 and enter the   
result as a decimal ............................................. 6.  ________

7.	 Taxable portion of this year’s withdrawal.  
Multiply line 2 by decimal amount on line 6.  
Enter here and on Line 19a, Form NJ-1040 ...... 7.  ________

8.	 Excludable portion of this year’s  
withdrawal. Subtract line 7 from line 2.  
Enter here and on Line 19b, Form NJ-1040 ..... 8.  ________

Part II—Unrecovered Contributions
(For Second and Later Years)

(a)	 Last year’s unrecovered contributions. 
From line 4 of last year’s worksheet* ..........  (a)  _______

(b)	 Amount withdrawn last year. 
From line 2 of last year’s  
worksheet ....................................  (b)  _______

(c)	 Taxable portion of last year’s  
withdrawal. From line 7 of   
last year’s worksheet ...................  (c)  _______

(d)	 Contributions recovered last  
year. Subtract line (c) from line (b) .............  (d)  _______

(e)	 This year’s unrecovered contributions. 
Subtract line (d) from line (a) ......................  (e)  _______

(f)	 Contributions to IRA during current 
tax year. Do not include tax-free  
rollovers .......................................................  (f)  _______

(g)	 Total unrecovered contributions.   
Line (e) plus line (f). Enter here and on   
Part I, line 4b ................................................  (g)  _______

*	If you did not complete a worksheet in prior year(s), skip Part II and calculate the amount of unrecovered contributions as follows:
A.	 Determine the total amount of withdrawal(s) made from the IRA in previous years.
B.	 Total the portion(s) of these previous year withdrawal(s) already reported as income on prior New Jersey tax returns.
C.	 Subtract the amount of previous year withdrawals reported (B) from the total amount of previous year withdrawals (A).  

This difference is the amount of contributions that have been recovered thus far.
D.	 Subtract the amount of recovered contributions (C) from the total amount of contributions made to the IRA.  

This is the amount of unrecovered contributions to enter on line 4b of Part I.
(Keep for your records)
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