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Introduction 

The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act provides that most sales of tangible personal property are 

subject to tax. These sales include regular and occasional or seasonal sales such as those taking place 

at flea markets. 

 

Registration 

All businesses are required to register with the State for tax purposes at least 15 business days before 

starting business. To register, a Business Registration Application (Form NJ-REG) must be filed. Form 

NJ-REG may be filed online from the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services’ NJ Business Gateway 

Services website at: www.state.nj.us/njbgs/. You will receive a New Jersey Certificate of Authority 

(Form CA-1) for Sales Tax if you have indicated on your application that you will collect Sales Tax or 

purchase materials for resale. This certificate is your authorization from the State of New Jersey to 

collect Sales Tax and accept exemption certificates. A seller must always be registered with New Jersey 

to accept exemption certificates. A Public Records Filing also may be required depending upon the 

type of business ownership. For more information on Public Records Filing call 609-292-9292. 

 

Owners and Operators of Flea Markets 

Owners and operators of flea markets are required to register with New Jersey and pay any applicable 

State taxes. They are also required to charge and collect Sales Tax on the sale or rental of any taxable 

tangible personal property sold or rented to concessionaires, lessees, or others (i.e., display counters, 

racks, tables, etc.). Items for rental or resale may be purchased without paying Sales Tax provided a 

valid New Jersey Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate of 

Exemption (Form ST-SST) is issued to the supplier. The rental charges for space within the flea market 

are not subject to Sales Tax. If the rental charge includes tangible personal property as part of the 

charge for the space, then the flea market operator is not holding such property out for rental and is 

not entitled to use a resale certificate when purchasing the property. 

Examples: (1) Bob’s Flea Market advertises available space for rent. The ad quotes a price of $10 for a 

space without a table and $12 for a space with a table. The rental charge for either space is not subject 

to Sales Tax. Here, the flea market operator is not renting the tables as such and should have paid 

Sales Tax, or Use Tax, when they were purchased. (2) The Greenview Flea Market advertises their 

available space at a price of $10 and charges a separate $2 rental fee for a table. In this case, the $10 

space rental is exempt from Sales Tax and the $2 charge for renting a table is taxable. 

 

Owners and operators of flea markets should inform all concessionaires, licensees, or lessees using 

space or equipment at the flea market to sell taxable tangible personal property that (1) they are 

required to be registered with New Jersey and (2) they must collect and remit Sales Tax to the State on 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/revprnt.htm
http://www.state.nj.us/njbgs/
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
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their taxable sales. Registered sellers must display their New Jersey Certificate of Authority at their sales 

location at all times. 

 

Seasonal, Occasional, and Casual Sales 

Persons regularly engaged in the business of selling taxable tangible property, taxable services, or 

prepared foods are considered to be sellers under the New Jersey Sales Tax law and are required to 

register and collect and remit Sales Tax. Registration is required even if the sales are only made on a 

seasonal basis (e.g., Christmas trees) or if they are only made occasionally (i.e., by an artist or 

craftsman who periodically sells handmade items at shows) during the year. 

 

Sales by persons making isolated or occasional sales of items of tangible personal property which were 

purchased by them for their own use are considered to be “casual sales” and are not subject to tax. 

Examples of casual sales are one-time sales of household items, children’s toys, tools, etc. at a yard 

sale, garage sale, or through a classified ad. 

 

Persons regularly engaged in the sale of merchandise at flea markets are presumed to be in the 

business of making retail sales and, therefore, are required to be registered with New Jersey and to 

charge, collect, and remit New Jersey Sales Tax. The Certificate of Authority to collect Sales Tax must be 

displayed at all times. 

 

Concessionaires, Licensees, and Lessees 

Concessionaires, licensees, and lessees are required to register with New Jersey if they sell taxable 

tangible personal property or services. 

 

The Certificate of Authority issued to a seller (concessionaire) is required to be displayed at the table, 

stand, motor vehicle, or other merchandising device used at their business location. These certificates 

are nonassignable and nontransferable and must be returned to the State immediately upon 

termination of the business. 

 

A seller who has a permanent place of business other than at a flea market should apply for a duplicate 

Certificate of Authority to display at the flea market location. 

 

Resale Certificates 

Businesses may purchase tangible personal property either for resale in its present form or for 

incorporation into other property held for sale without paying Sales Tax. The exemption also applies to 

the purchase of services performed on tangible personal property held for sale. When purchasing tax-

exempt goods or services, a retailer or wholesaler must issue one of the following exemption 

certificates to the supplier. 

Businesses Registered in New Jersey. Businesses with locations, employees, independent contractors, 

leased tangible personal property, or sales and service activities in New Jersey are required to register 
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with New Jersey. Businesses registered with New Jersey should issue a valid New Jersey Resale 

Certificate (Form ST-3) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (Form ST-

SST) when making tax-exempt purchases of goods and services intended for resale. 

 

Qualified Out-of-State Sellers. Qualified out-of-State sellers may make tax-exempt purchases in 

New Jersey of goods or services purchased for resale. When the qualified out-of-State seller carries the 

goods away with him from the point of sale, or sends his own vehicle or messenger to pick them up in 

New Jersey, the qualified out-of-State seller may use the Resale Certificate for Non-New Jersey 

Sellers (Form ST-3NR) or the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (Form ST-

SST). “Qualified out-of-State sellers” are sellers that (1) are not registered with New Jersey, (2) are not 

required to be registered with New Jersey, and (3) are registered with another state. 

 

Suppliers accepting an exemption certificate must always be registered with New Jersey and must 

collect sales tax when a purchaser does not issue the appropriate exemption certificate. For more 

information on exemption certificates, see Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax Exemption 

Administration. 

 

For More Information 

For more information on flea markets and New Jersey Sales Tax, contact the Division’s Customer 

Service Center at 609-292-6400, or email us. Many State tax forms and publications are available on 

our website. 

 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3nr.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st_sst.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/su6.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

