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Safe Haven NJ Safe Haven Infant Protection Act

» Allows a distressed parent to give up an unwanted infant
safely, legally and confidentially

» Protects the parent from arrest or prosecution for
abandonment

» Requires no names or records

» Permits babies up to 30 days old to be given up at any
hospital emergency room or police station in New Jersey

» Makes medical treatment and social services available to h
the birth mother - confinentially I I o S al I I e °
» Puts the child into the custody of Child Protection and
Permanency, which places the infant in a foster or
pre-adoptive home ] 1
Certainly we would prefer that women call us while they are O E lI Il E 8
pregnant, not after giving birth, so we can provide proper medical
care and counseling. But at the same time, we want to assure
parents who choose not to keep their children that they will not n o n a me S
go to jail if they deliver their babies to safe hands in a hospital o
emergency room or police station.
In New Jersey, no one ever
has to abandon a child again.

Safe Haven Hotline: 1-877-839-2339
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These Numbers Can Also Help: there’s a safe haven
Www_r?j12111_org for unwanted infants

Call 211 to connect with various
social service agencies in your community.

Parents Anonymous of NJ www.nj Safe haven.org
Family Helpline :
1-800-THE KIDS 1-8"7"7-839-2339

Domestic Violence Hotline
1-800-572-SAFE

Child Abuse Hotline
1-877-NJ ABUSE
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NJ Department of Children and Families



What is Safe Haven?

It's a law: the New Jersey Safe Haven Infant Protection Act.
Under this law a person may give up an unwanted infant
anonymously. As long as the baby has not been abused, the
person may do so without fear of arrest or prosecution.

Why does New Jersey do this?

The purpose of Safe Haven is to protect unwanted babies from
being hurt or killed from unsafe abandonment.

Abandoning a baby puts the infant in extreme danger. Too
often, it results in the baby’s death. It is also illegal, with severe
consequences. But with Safe haven, this tragedy doesn’t have
to happen ever in New Jersey.

How does it work?

A distressed parent who is unable to care for an infant can give
up custody of a baby less than 30 days old safely, legally and
anonymously. All that is required is that the baby be brought to
a hospital emergency room or police station in New Jersey. As
long as the child shows no signs of intentional abuse, no name
or other information is required.

Can only a parent bring in the baby?

No. The parent may choose to have someone else bring in the
infant. It can be a family member, a friend, a clergy member, a
social worker - practically anyone.

Do you have to call before bringing in the baby?
No. You can walk in anytime.

Can you help a parent decide where to bring
the baby?

Yes. The parent can call the Safe Haven Hotline - 1-877-839-
2339 - and get the address and directions for any hospital or
police station in the state.

Does a parent have to tell anything to the people
taking the baby?

No. Nothing is required. However, hospital personnel or police
will record any information that a parent is willing to share, such
as the child’s health, race, date of birth, place of birth or medical
history of the parents. This could be very useful in caring for
the child. These questions can be answered anonymously on
a medical questionnaire that is available at the police station or
hospital.

What happens if a woman voluntarily provides her
personal identifying information to hospital staff while
delivering her baby at the hospital or being admitted?
If a woman voluntarily provides her personal identifying
information to hospital staff while delivering her baby or being
admitted, her anonymity will no longer be protected under the
New Jersey Safe Haven Law and the State will have the mandate
to search for and contact the infant’s father and/or relatives.

What happens to the mother when she drops off a
baby?

If the mother brings in the baby, she will be offered medical
treatment and social services. She can, of course, refuse if she
wishes. Once she has safely turned over the baby, she is free to
go. She can complete an anonymous medical questionnaire and
drop it in any mailbox.

What happens to the baby once the baby is dropped
off?

The child will be examined and given medical treatment, if needed.
Then Child Protection and Permanency (CP&P) will immediately
take custody and place the child in a foster or pre-adoptive home.
After 21 days, CP&P will proceed with the permanent adoption
of the baby. There are always many families available who want
to adopt an infant.

What happens if the mother, or a relative, wishes to
regain custody of a baby?

If the mother, or a relative, wishes to regain custody of the baby
they should contact the Safe Haven Hotline at 1-877-839-2339
so that they can begin the process towards a safe reunification.

Don’tlet another baby be abandoned. If you or someone
you know is considering giving up a child, learn about
your options.

Safe Haven Hotline
1-8"77-839-2339

Safe Haven Voluntary Medical Information
Under the Safe Haven law, you do not have to tell us anything, but answering these
questions will help us take better care of the child. Please fill out this form with any
information you want to share. Then give it to someone in the hospital or mail it in.
No stamp is required.

Please tell us what you can about the baby:

Since birth, has the baby been sick? yes no don’t know
Any physical handicaps? yes no don’t know
Any mental or developmental problems?

(for example, the baby never cried or has trouble sucking) yes no don’'t know
If you answered yes to any of these questions, please give details:

Was child given a name? yes no don’t know

If yes, please give only the child’s first and/or middle name:

Date and place of birth?

What is the child’s race? Religious or cultural background?

Did mother receive medical care during her pregnancy?

yes no don’t know
Delivered in a hospital or birthing center?  yes no don’t know
Was the baby full term (9 months)? yes no don’t know
If not, how long was the mother pregnant? _
What was the birth weight? pounds, —____ounces

Why is the child being given up?

Mother’s medical history:

If mother has other children, how many?
Race of mother:
Did mother ever have a serious medical problem?

Age of mother:

(heart disease, blood pressure, diabetes, cancer, etc.)  y€s no don’'t know
History of mental illness? yes no don’t know
HIV-positive? yes no don’t know
Drug or alcohol abuse? yes no don’t know
If yes, was it during the pregnancy? yes no don’t know
If you answered yes to any of these questions, please give details:

Father’s medical history:

Race of father: Age of father:

Did father ever have a serious medical problem?

(heart disease, blood pressure, diabetes, cancer, etc.) ~ y€S no don’'t know
History of mental illness? yes no don’t know
HIV-positive? yes no don’t know
Drug or alcohol abuse? yes no don’t know

If you answered yes to any of these questions, please give details:

How did you learn about Safe Haven?

THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS INFORMATION



