OFFICE OF THE COUNTY PROSECUTOR

OFFICE OF VICTIM-WITNESS ADVOCACY

JENNIFER WEBB-MCRAE
CUMBERLAND COUNTY PROSECUTOR

115 Vine Street Lorena Diaz
Bridgeton, New Jersey 08302 Victim-Witness Director
(856) 453-0486

Fax (856) 453- 5219

We have learned that you are a victim of a crime. The Victim Witness Unit at the Cumberland County
Prosecutor’s Office provides assistance to victims to help lessen the loss and any inconveniences as a result of being
victimized.

The Victim Witness Unit can help you apply for reimbursement of medical expenses and/or loss of earnings
through the New Jersey Victims of Crime Compensation Office. If you feel that you are in need of immediate
support or counseling services, please contact Services Empowering Rights of Victims (SERV) for free and
confidential services on their 24-hour bilingual helpline at (800) 225-0196.

Enclosed, please find information on resources available to you. For statewide information on additional
resources, you can visit https://njcasa.org/our-work/resources/.

If you would like further information, or have any questions, please feel free to contact the Office of Victim
Witness Advocacy at (856) 453-0486, option 2.

Hemos aprendido que usted ha sido victima de un crimen. La Unidad de Victimas y Testigos en la oficina de
Fiscalia en el Condado de Cumberland provee asistencia a las victimas para ayudar a disminuir la pérdida y
cualquier inconveniente como resultado de haber sido victimazados.

La Unidad de Victimas y Testigos puede ayudarle a solicitar el reembolso de gastos medicos o pérdida de
ganancias a traves de la Junta de Compensacion para Victimas de Crimenes de Estado de New Jersey. Si siente que
necesita servicios inmediatos de apoyo o asesoramiento, pongase en contacto con servicios que empoderan los
derechos de las victimas (SERV) servicios gratuitos y confidenciales y su linea de ayuda bilingue disponible 24
horas al dia al (800) 225-0196.

Adjunto, encontrara informacion sobre los recursos disponibles para usted. Para obtener informacién a nivel
estatal sobre recursos adicionales, puede visitar https://njcasa.org/our-work/resources/.

Si desea obtener mas informacidn o tiene alguna pregunta, favor de contactar la Oficina de Apoyadores de
Victimas y Testigos al (856) 453-0486, opcion 2.

Sincerely/Atentamente,
Office of Victim Witness Advocacy/La Oficina de Apoyadores de Victimas y Testigos


https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fnjcasa.org%2Four-work%2Fresources%2F&data=04%7C01%7Croap%40ccprosecutor.org%7Ca3cc4dab6f68476c027b08d9213b1613%7Ca92a761f48424ba68ef63de612557a8d%7C0%7C0%7C637577359923795867%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=lOsG7Ge0PLGxiZWNWAIYIVrvoIFibUhWD8hGLkD08EA%3D&reserved=0
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Sexual Assault Victim’s

Bill of Rights

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 52:4B-60.1 et seq.

In New Jersey, victims of sexual violence are afforded the following rights:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

(5)

To have any allegation of sexual assault treated
seriously; to be treated with dignity and compassion;
and to be notified of existing medical, counseling,
mental health, or other services available for victims
of sexual assault, whether or not the crime is reported
to law enforcement;

To be free, to the extent consistent with the New
Jersey or United States Constitution, from any
suggestion that victims are responsible for the
commission of crimes against them or any suggestion
that victims were contributorily negligent or assumed
the risk of being assaulted;

To be free from any suggestion that victims are to report
the crimes to be assured of any other guaranteed right
and that victims should refrain from reporting crimes in
order to avoid unwanted personal publicity;

When applicable, to no-cost access to the services of a
sexual assault response team comprised of: a certified
forensic nurse examiner, a confidential sexual violence
advocate, and a law enforcement official as provided in
accordance with the Attorney General’s Standards for
Providing Services to Victims of Sexual Assault, and the
choice to opt into or out of any of the team’s services;

To be informed of, and assisted in exercising, the right
to be confidentially or anonymously tested for acquired
immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) or infection with
the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other
related virus identified as a probable causative agent of
AIDS; and to be informed of, and assisted in exercising,
any rights that may be provided by law to compel and
disclose the results of testing of a sexual assault suspect
for communicable diseases;
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(6) To have forensic medical evidence, if collected, retained
for a minimum of five years, and to receive information
about the status of the evidence upon request;

(7) To choose whether to participate in any investigation
of the assault;

(8) To reasonable efforts to provide treatment and
interviews in a language in which the victim is fluent
and the right to be given access to appropriate assistive
devices to accommodate disabilities that the victim
may have, whether temporary or long term;

(9) To information and assistance in accessing specialized
mental health services; protection from further violence;
other appropriate community or governmental services,
including services provided by the Victims of Crime
Compensation Office; and all other assistance available
to crime victims under current law;

(10) To be apprised of the availability and process by
which a court may order the taking of testimony
from a victim via closed circuit television in
accordance with section 1 of PL.1985, ¢.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); and

(11) To be apprised of the availability and process by which
to seek protections through a temporary or final
protective order under the “Sexual Assault Survivor
Protection Act of 2015,” P1..2015, c.147 (C.2C:14-13
et seq.), if the victim believes that the victim is at risk
for re-victimization or further harm by the perpetrator.




Declaracion de Derechos de

La Victima de Agresion Sexual
N.J. Stat. Ann. § 52:4B-60.1 et seq.

En Nueva Jersey a las victimas de violencia sexual se les otorgan los siguientes derechos:

(1)

(2)

3)

(4)

5)

Que toda denuncia de agresién sexual sea tratada
con seriedad; ser tratada/o con dignidad y compasién;
y de ser notificada/o de servicios disponibles ya sean
médicos, de consejeria y asesoramiento, de salud
mental, o de otros tipos disponibles para las victimas
de agresion sexual ya sea que se haya reportada el
delito a las agencias del orden publico o no.

De estar libres, en la medida compatible con la
Constitucién de Nueva Jersey o de Los Estados
Unidos, de cualquier inferencia que las victimas
son las responsables por los delitos que se cometen
en su contra o de alguna inferencia que las victimas
contribuyeron al delito por su negligencia o que
asumido el riesgo de ser agredidas/os.

De estar libres de cualquier inferencia que las
victimas deben reportar los delitos para que se les
asegure algtin otro derecho garantizado y que las
victimas deben evitar reportar los delitos para evitar
publicidad personal no deseada.

Cuando aplique, al acceso sin costo a los servicios de un
equipo de respuesta a la agresién sexual comprendido por
una enfermera examinadora forense certificada, un asesor
confidencial de violencia sexual, y un oficial del orden
publico como lo indican los Estdndares de la Oficina del
Fiscal General para proveer servicios a las Victimas de
Agresién Sexual, y de tener la opcién de participar o no

con los servicios que provee el equipo y que usted escoja.

De que se le informe y que se le ayude a ejercer su
derecho a obtener pruebas confidenciales para detectar
el Sindrome de Inmunodeficiencia Adquirida (SIDA)
o la infeccién con el Virus de Inmunodeficiencia
Humana (VIH) o de cualquier otro virus relacionado e
identificado como probable agente causante del SIDA;
y de permanecer informada/o y recibir asistencia al
ejercer cualquier derecho que le otorgue la ley para
requerir y divulgar los resultados de pruebas que se le
hayan hecho a un sospechoso de agresién sexual para
detectar enfermedades transmisibles;
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(6)

7)

@)

)

Que se guarden los resultados de las pruebas médicas
forenses, si es que se han colectado, por un minimo
de cinco afios, y de recibir informacién sobre la

condicién/estatus de las evidencias cuando la solicite.

Decidir si participar o no en la investigacién
de la agresion.

Que se hagan esfuerzos razonables para proveer
tratamiento y entrevistas en el idioma en el que la
victima hable con fluidez y dar acceso a dispositivos
de asistencia adecuados en relacién a cualquier
incapacidad que pueda tener la victima ya sea
temporal o a largo plazo;

A tener informacién y ayuda para poder tener
acceso a servicios especializados de salud mental;

a proteccién contra nuevos actos de violencia; a
otros servicios apropiados ya sean comunitarios o
gubernamentales, incluyendo los servicios proveidos
por la Oficina de Compensacién para Victimas del
Crimen; y toda otra ayuda disponible a victimas de
delitos conforme a las leyes vigentes.

(10) De ser informada/o de la disponibilidad y el proceso

por el cual un tribunal puede ordenar testimonio de
una victima a través de circuito cerrado de televisiéon
conforme a la seccién 1 de PL. 1985, c.126
(C.2A:84A-32.4); y

(11) De ser informada/o sobre la disponibilidad y el

proceso para solicitar proteccion mediante una
orden de alejamiento temporal o permanente
conforme a “la Ley de proteccién a sobrevivientes
de agresiones sexuales del 2015,” PL.2015, c.147
(C.2C:14-13 et seq.), si la victima cree que corre el
riesgo de ser victima de nuevo o de dano adicional
por parte del autor.




LAW & LEGISLATION

LAW & LEGISLATION

) the sexual
sassault survivor

protection act
(SASPA)

©

The Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act (SASPA) expands opportunities for survivors of sexual
violence to apply for a protective order against their perpetrator, without reporting to law enforcement
or filing criminal charges. SASPA was passed into law in November 2015 and was enacted in May 2016.

The vast majority of sexual violence survivors know their perpetrator. SASPA closed a legal loophole,
where protective orders weren’t available for survivors of sexual assault unless there was a charge or

conviction.
+ 46.7% ACQUAINTANCE

WHAT IS APROTECTIVE ORDER & WHAT DOES IT
DO?

A protective order is a document issued by the court to help
protect a survivor from a perpetrator and stop any further
acts of violence or intimidating behaviors.

A protective order can shield survivors from:

- Further acts of violence

- Seeing a perpetrator (the person can be prevented
from entering specific places that the survivor or their
household members regularly frequent, such as work,
home, or school)

- Future contact with their perpetrator (whether in-person,

over the phone, or through another person) 12.1% :
- Stalking behaviors :n:“:,:;\éR : 45.4% CURRENT OR
- Harassment, including online harassment, of the survivor, ¢ 12.9% STRANGER FORMER PARTNER
their family members, or their employer/employees 2:_6% SOMEONE IN
- Any other relief the court deems appropriate POSITION OF AUTHORITY

Data per the National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey, 2014. Results add up to over 100% to account for multiple perpetrators.

© New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault 2017.

The New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) is the statewide organization representing 21 county-based rape crisis centers and Rutgers
University's Office for Violence Prevention and Victim Assistance. NJCASA elevates the voices of survivors and service providers through advocacy, training,
and support for efforts to create safer communities for all women, men and children.



WHAT IS A PROTECTIVE ORDER & WHAT
DOES IT DO?

There are two types of protective orders: a temporary
protective order (TPO) and a final protective order
(FPO).

- Atemporary protective order is the initial type of
protective order survivors can receive. It protects

against the same kind of harassing behaviors as a
final protective order, but it only remains in place
until the final protective order hearing.

- A final protective order outlines harassing
behaviors that cannot continue. It is forwarded to
the police department where the survivor lives, as
well as where the perpetrator lives. FPOs never
expire, and are valid anywhere in New Jersey.

WHO CAN APPLY FOR APROTECTIVE ORDER
UNDER SASPA?

Generally, survivors of sexual violence who are
subjected to continued harassing behaviors from their
abuser, who do not qualify for a domestic violence
restraining order, can apply for a protective order
under SASPA.

Survivors can apply for a protective order regardless
of if the assault was reported to law enforcement.

If you feel you are inimmediate danger, contact local
law enforcement.

WHY MAY SOMEONE CHOOSE TO APPLY FOR
A PROTECTIVE ORDER?

Everyone’s situation is unique and requesting a
protective order is a decision only the survivor can
make. For some, a protective order will end harmful
behaviors. Others may feel a protective order could
cause a perpetrator to escalate.

Protective order hearings can be stressful - it may
not be the right decision for you at this time, or ever.
Every person has the right to practice self-care and
make decisions that are best for their own wellbeing.

While a protective order will discourage many perpetrators from continuing harassing behavior,
it is often one piece of a comprehensive plan for safety and well-being. Working with an advocate
may help a survivor feel empowered to access other support systems.

HOW DO SURVIVORS APPLY FOR A TEMPORARY PROTECTIVE ORDER?

A person who is seeking a protective order may file in
person at the Superior Court in their county. A list of
courthouses in New Jersey is available at:
https://www.njcasa.org/find-a-courthouse/

The process may take several hours. You will need
to provide a specific and comprehensive written
statement to a hearing officer. Everything included in
this statement can be brought up in the protective order
hearing(s); anything not included cannot be referenced
in your testimony.

It's important that the statement comprehensively
details abusive or harassing behaviors and is specific.
Include actual language the perpetrator used.

y

Rather than saying, “He texted me a lot,” include detail,
such as: “He texted me six times in one hour, threatening

to release pictures of me.”

There are no court fees associated with receiving a
TPO. While a lawyer is not necessary to seek a PO,
it may be helpful to speak to one or to contact an
advocate. Your county-based sexual violence service
provider can provide trained advocates to provide
additional information, link you with resources, and
offer emotional support; find a program at:
https://www.njcasa.org/find-help

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
HTTPS://WWW.NJCASA.ORG/SASPA/


https://njcasa.org/find-a-courthouse/
http://www.njcasa.org/find-help
HTTPS://WWW.njcasa.org/saspa/

Revised: August 2020
Family — SASPA Complaint

How to File a New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act (SASPA) Complaint
Superior Court of New Jersey - Chancery Division - Family Part

**Please be advised this packet is intended to only be used during the COVID-19 crisis.**

Who Should Use This Packet?

This packet should only be used the first time you file for a Sexual Assault Survivor Protective Order.

Use this packet if you are:
A victim of nonconsensual sexual contact, sexual penetration, or lewdness, (see definitions on page 3) or any attempt at
such conduct, and who does not meet the definition of a “domestic violence victim” in the Prevention of Domestic
Violence Act (PDVA).
e A victim's parent or guardian may file on behalf of the victim in any case in which the victim:
O is less than 18 years of age; or
O has a developmental disability or a mental disease or defect that renders the victim temporarily or
permanently incapable of understanding the nature of the victim’s conduct, including, but not limited to,
being incapable of providing consent
Do NOT use this packet if:
e You meet the definition of a “victim” under the PDVA - N.J.S.A. 2C:25-19 (d)(a) which is as follows:
0 A person protected by the PDVA includes any person:
=  Whois 18 years of age or older, or who is an emancipated minor, and who has been subjected to
domestic violence by:
s Spouse
+ Former spouse
¢ Any other person who is a present household member or was at any time a household
member, or
= Who, regardless of age, has been subjected to domestic violence by a person:

@,

¢  With whom the victim has a child in common, or
+ With whom the victim anticipates having a child in common, if one of the parties is
pregnant, or has been subjected to domestic violence by a person with whom the victim

has had a dating relationship.

NOTE: If you are a victim of domestic violence and want to file for a domestic violence restraining order, please contact
your local law enforcement agency.

e If you are filing on behalf of a minor child and the person you are filing against is a parent or guardian of the minor
child, you cannot file under the Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act. You must call the Division of Permanency
and Protection at: 1-877 NJ ABUSE (1-877-652-2873); TTY/TDD 1-800-835-5510

Note: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts for use by self-represented litigants. The guides,
instructions, and forms will be periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jersey statutes and court rules. The most recent version of
the forms will be available at the county courthouse or on the Judiciary’s Internet site njcourts.gov. However, you are ultimately responsible for
the content of your court papers.

Completed forms are to be submitted to your local Family Division. A list of Family Division Offices can be found
on njcourts.gov
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Things to Think About Before You Represent Yourself in Court

Try to Get a Lawyer

The law, the proofs necessary to present your case,
and the procedural rules governing cases in the
Family Division are complex. It is recommended
that you make every effort to obtain the assistance
of a lawyer. If you cannot afford a lawyer, you may
contact the legal services program in your county to
see if you qualify for free legal services. Their
telephone number can be found online under “Legal

Aid” or “Legal Services.”

If you do not qualify for free legal services and need
help in locating an attorney, you can contact the bar
association in your county. The telephone number
can also be found in your local yellow pages. Most
county bar associations have a Lawyer Referral
Service.

The County Bar Lawyer Referral Service can
supply you with the names of attorneys in your area
willing to handle your particular type of case and
will sometimes consult with you at a reduced fee.

There are a variety of organizations of minority
lawyers throughout New Jersey, as well as
organizations of lawyers who handle specialized
types of cases. Ask the Family court staff in your
county for a list of lawyer referral services that
include these organizations.

What You Should Expect If You Represent
Yourself

While you have the right to represent yourself in
court, you should not expect special treatment, help
or attention from the court. The following is a list
of some things court staff can and cannot do for
you. Please read it carefully before asking court
staff for help.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)

*  We can explain and answer questions about
how the court works.

We can tell you what the requirements are to
have your case considered by the court.

*  We can give you some information from your
case file.

*  We can provide you with samples of court
forms that are available.

*  We can provide you with guidance on how to
fill out forms.

*  We can usually answer questions about court
deadlines.

*  We cannot give you legal advice. Only your
lawyer can give you legal advice.

*  We cannot tell you whether or not you should
bring your case to court.

*  We cannot give you an opinion about what will
happen if you bring your case to court.

*  We cannot recommend a lawyer, but we can
provide you with the telephone number of a
local lawyer referral service.

*  We can cannot not talk to the judge for you
about what will happen in your case.

*  We cannot let you talk to the judge outside of
court.

*  We cannot change an order issued by a judge.
Keep Copies of All Papers
Make and keep copies for yourself, written

agreements, Case Information Statements, and other
important papers that relate to your case

page 2 of 10
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Definitions of Court Terms Used in SASPA Cases

Certification - A certification is a written statement made to the court when you file papers with the court,
swearing that the information contained in the filed papers is true subject to penalty if any statement is willfully
false.

Complaint - A complaint is a formal document filed in court that starts a case. It typically includes the names
of the parties and the issues you are asking the court to decide.

Court Order - A court order is the written decision issued by a court of law. For example, a child support
court order sets forth how often, how much, and what kind of support is to be paid.

Defendant - the party sued in a civil lawsuit or the party charged with a crime in a criminal prosecution. In
some types of cases (such as divorce) a defendant may be called a respondent.

Docket Number - The docket number is the identifying number assigned to every case filed in the court.
File - To file means to give the appropriate forms to the court to begin the court’s consideration of your request.

Intimate Parts - Means the following body parts: sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin,
buttock, or breast of a person.

Lewdness - Means the exposing of the genitals for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual of the actor.

Party - A party is a person, business, or governmental agency involved in a court action.

Petitioner - Petitioner is another name for the person starting the court action by filing the appropriate papers
the court will consider.

Respondent - Respondent is the person who is named as the other party in the court action filed by the
petitioner. This person can respond to the complaint or application filed by the petitioner by filing a cross
application or written response with the court.

Sexual Conduct - Means an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of
the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing
or sexually gratifying the actor.

Sexual Penetration - Means vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons or
insertion of the hand, finger, or object into the anus or vagina either by the actor or upon the actor’s instruction.
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The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them. Each form should be typed or
printed clearly on 8 2 “x 11” white paper only. Forms cannot be filed on a different size or color paper. Use only the forms included
in this packet. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Steps for Filing a Complaint

STEP 1: Fill out the Intake Form (Form A)
The Intake form provides your and/or the minor child’s demographic information. This information will be kept
confidential and will not be shared with the defendant.

STEP 2: Fill out the Verified Complaint (Form B)

The Verified Complaint is a written request in which you ask the court to establish a court order on your behalf
or on a minor child’s behalf. The court will establish an order based on testimony of the parties and written
documentation submitted.

STEP 3: Additional Information Sheet (FORM C)
This form is provided if you need additional space to type the details of the incident for which you are filing for
a protective order.

STEP 4: Provide the court with the most recent address of the other party

If the court grants a temporary order of protection, the court will send a Notice to Appear to the plaintiff and the
defendant and any attorney(s) connected to your case when the case is scheduled for a final hearing. Your
appearance is mandatory.

Note: The other party will receive copies of all the papers you attach (except for the Intake Form) to your
complaint with the Notice to Appear, unless court rules prohibit this information from being shared.

You must provide the court with the most current address (that you know of) for the other party and the name of
their attorney (if you know it) when you file your complaint.

STEP 5: Check your completed forms and make copies
Check your forms and make sure they are complete. Remove all instruction sheets. Make sure you have signed
all the forms wherever necessary.

STEP 6: Submit your completed paperwork

Submit your completed packet through the Judiciary Electronic Document System (JEDS). You may find the
link to JEDS here https://www.njcourts.gov/selthelp/jeds.html. In JEDS please select the county where you
would like to file your application. You may file your complaint in the county where the conduct or attempted
conduct occurred, where the defendant resides, or where you reside or are sheltered.

NOTE:
These applications may only be filed in the Family Division of the Superior Court during normal business
hours.

These applications may only be taken at the Superior Court and are not to be accepted at Municipal Courts
and/or police departments.

All courthouse addresses can be found on njcourts.gov.
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Instructions for Completing the SASPA Intake Form (Form A)

1. Part I of the SASPA Intake form is for the Plaintiff/Victim information. If you are the victim, enter your
own information or if you are a parent or guardian enter the minor child’s information for the following

fields:
a.

mETITEE e a0 o

Name

Social security number

Date of birth

Address

Telephone number

Cell phone number

Email Address

Employer name

Employer address

Employer telephone number
Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact telephone number

2. Ifyou are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter complete the following fields on the second portion of
the intake form under Parent/Guardian section.

a.

Name

b. Relation to the child

AT @ e a0

Social security number

Date of birth

Address

Telephone number

Cell phone number

Email Address

Employer name

Employer address
Employer telephone number

NOTE: The Intake Form (FORM A) will be kept confidential and will not be given to the other
party/defendant.
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Instructions for Completing a Verified Complaint (Form B)
A. Leave the Docket Number blank. The court will provide this number for you.
B. On the right side of the form, enter the County where you are filing the application.

C. Enter your name or the minor’s name, if you are filing a complaint on the behalf of a minor child, in the
space marked “Plaintiff/Victim”.

D. If you are filing on behalf of a minor child, enter your name in the space marked
“Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian”.

E. Enter your date of birth or the minor’s date of birth in the space marked “Plaintiff/Victim’s Date of Birth”.

F. Enter your date of birth if you are filing on behalf of a minor child in the space marked
“Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian Date of Birth”.

G. On the right side of the form, enter the defendant’s description if known in the following fields:
a. Defendant’s sex
b. Defendant’s race
c. Defendant’s date of birth
d. Defendant’s height
e. Defendant’s weight
f. Defendant’s eye color
g. Defendant’s hair color
h. Any distinguishing features that the defendant may have such as scars, tattoos, facial hair etc.
1. Defendant’s driver’s license number and the state it was issued if known.
H. Enter the Defendant’s name in the space marked “Defendant Information: Name:”.

I NT

I.  Enter the Defendant’s “home and cell phone number”, “work phone number”, “social security number” “e-
mail address” and “home and work address” in the appropriately marked spaces on the form.

J. Enter the date the defendant committed the act in the space marked “ON (Date)”.
K. Enter the time the defendant committed the act in the space marked “AT (Time) .

L. Enter the details of the act(s) the defendant committed in the space marked “BY (Details)”. You can
continue to use as many lines as necessary to state the exact details of the act(s) the defendant committed
against you or minor child.

M. Check off the act or acts the defendant committed: “Sexual Contact, Sexual Penetration, Lewdness”. See
definitions of each act in the definitions section of this packet.

N. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 1 regarding prior or pending court proceedings involving yourself, if

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 6 of 10



you are the plaintiff/victim, or the minor plaintiff/victim, and the defendant in this complaint. If you select
“Yes”, enter the title of the case, the docket number and the county and state where the case is being heard.

O. Answer “Yes” or “No” on Question 2 regarding whether a criminal complaint has been filed in this matter.
If you select “Yes”, enter the date, docket number and the county and state where the case in being.

The form must have the signature of the party filing the complaint. If you cannot scan a signed copy of this
document, please type your name in the signature line.

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 7 of 10



Print Clear

Save

New Jersey Judiciary

Sexual Assault Survivors Protection Act (SASPA)

Intake Form

To assure accuracy of court records — To be filled out by the Plaintiff or Attorney
Confidentiality of this information must be maintained

Please complete the entire form, leaving no blank spaces. If something does not apply to you, enter
“N/A”. This form is confidential and will not be shared with the other party.

! I. Victim Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial

Social Security Number Date of Birth |

Address: Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number Cell Phone Number I |

Email Address

Employer Name

Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code

Employer Telephone Number | | |

Emergency Contact Name Emergency Contact Telephone Number
! Il. Parent/Guardian Information

Name: Last First Middle Initial

Relation to the Child Social Security Number Date of Birth |

Address: Street City State Zip Code

Telephone Number Cell Phone Number | |

Email Address

Employer Name

Employer Address: Street City State Zip Code

Employer Telephone Number

Emergency Contact Name

Emergency Contact Telephone Number

. Ill. Hearing Information

Will an interpreter be required? O Yes 0 No
If yes, indicate language:
Will an accommodation for a disability be required? O Yes U No
If yes, indicate requested accommodation:
Published: 03/2020, CN: 12591 page 8 of 10

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)
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New Jersey Sexual Assault Survivor Protection Act Complaint County, Superior Court,
Docket Number Chancery Division, Family Part
FV - Defendant's Sex Defendant's Race
Plaintiff/Victim Plaintiff/Victim’s Date of Birth

Date of Birth Height Weight

Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian of Minor Plaintiff/Victim

Eye Color Hair Color

Plaintiff/Parent/Guardian of Minor Plaintiff/Victim Date of Birth

Distinguishing Features (Scars, Facial Hair, Etc.)

Defendant Information: Name

Driver's License Number

Home Phone Number Work Phone Number Defendant's Social Security Number

State Driver's License Expiration Date

Cell Phone Number: Email Address:

Home Address

Work Address

The undersigned complains that said defendant did commit the following act(s):
ON (Date) AT (Time) BY (Details)

The above constitute(s) the following criminal offenses(s): (Check all applicable boxes — see page 3 of instructions ):

[] Sexual Contact [] Sexual Penetration [ Lewdness
[ Attempted Sexual Contact ] Attempted Sexual Penetration [] Attempted Lewdness
1. Any prior or pending court proceedings involving this plaintiff/victim and defendant? (If Yes, enter docket [ Yes 1 No

number, court, county, state)

2. Has a criminal complaint been filed in this matter? (If Yes, enter date, docket number, court, county, state) [ Yes [ No

If yes, was a Restraining Order granted? [ Yes I No

Certification by Parent/Guardian

I, am the parent or legal guardian of minor victim, and am filing
this complaint on their behalf. The minor victim is not present for the following reason(s):

Certification by Plaintiff/Victim
| certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing responses made by
me are willfully false, | am subject to punishment.

Date Signature

New Jersey Sexual Assault TPO Revised: 03/2020, CN: 11925

Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint) page 9 of 10
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New Jersey Judiciary
Family Practice Division

Additional Information Sheet

Full Name: Date:

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. | am aware that if any of the foregoing
statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment

Date Signature Plaintiff/Counterclaimant

Published 09/2011, CN: 11532 (Family Additional Information Sheet) page 10 of 10
Revised: 08/2020, CN: 12590 (How to File a SASPA Complaint)



New Jersey Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place ¢ 5th Floor * Newark, NJ 07102
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effective.8.1.20

We help put the pieces back together

our mission

The New Jersey Victims of Cri
(VCCO) reimburses certain vi
the expenses they suffer as a re
is mindful of the special need
to be treated with fairness, ¢

eligible crimes

This is a list of the types of crimes
that may qualify. Certain conditions
may apply. For more information,
please contact the VCCO:

® Assault

M Arson

M Bias crime

® Burglary*

® Disorderly conduct offenses
® Domestic violence

® Human trafficking

¥ Indecent acts with children
® Kidnapping

M Lewd, indecent or obscene acts
¥ Manslaughter

¥ Motor vehicle offenses

" Murder

¥ Robbery

® Sexual assault

® Stalking

W Threats to do bodily harm

*Must be in structure during burglary.

apply online at...

conditions

M The crime must have occurred in
New Jersey or to a New Jersey resident

M The victim must have reported
the crime to police

M The victim should cooperate with
the investigation and prosecution
of the crime, if reasonable

B The claim must be filed within
5 years of the date of the crime
in most cases

www.njvictims.org

VICTIMS OF CRIME
COMPENSATION OFFICE
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N& o)
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Toll Free 877-658-2221

effective.8.1.20



Expenses that may be eligible
for reimbursement include:

Hospital, physician and medical
expenses

Mental health counseling expenses
up to $20,000

Loss of earnings up to $600 per week

Temporary disability, not to exceed
24 months

Permanent disability, maximum

60 months

Loss of earning for dependants
or family members

Bereavement, maximum two weeks

Loss of wages due to court
attendance

Loss of financial support up to
$600 per week, maximum 48 months

Funeral expenses maximum $7,500
Attorney fees:

Victims’ rights attorney fees up to
$275 per hour, maximum $10,000

Representation with the VCCO claim
up to 15% of award at $275 per hour

Relocation expenses up to $3,000
Crime scene clean up to $4,000

Child care/day care/domestic
help services up to $6,500

The VCCO is a payer of last resort

Victims must first utilize and exhaust
other resources including State
benefits and insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Crime Victims’
Compensation?

The Victims of Crime Compensation
Office (VCCO) reimburses victims
of a crime for some of the expenses
they incur as a result of a crime.

Do all crime

victims get paid?

Not always. The law sets forth the
types of crimes that can be covered

by the VCCO. Further, if victims
participated in the crime or contributed
to their injuries, they may be denied
compensation.

Who is eligible to file?

Victims may file their own applications.

Family members, and dependents
of victims or the estate of the victims

A person who paid for some
of the services for the victim

The guardian, guardian ad litem,
estate representative, authorized

agent of the victim or the victim’s

dependents

Can the VCCO reimburse
me directly for expenses?

Yes. Victims or claimants can be
reimbursed for some expenses.

Can | still file a claim

if the suspect has not been
arrested or if the accused
is acquitted at trial?

Yes. Compensation may be made

whether or not a person is prosecuted
or found guilty.

Can the VCCO
pay providers directly?
Yes. Once a claim is approved,

payment can be made directly
to providers.

| have received additional
bills that were not considered
in my initial award.

Can | still submit them?

Yes. Crime related bills can

be considered for additional
reimbursement after the initial
payment award has been made.

How do I apply?

Complete the online VCCO claim

form at www.njvictims.org. Include
police reports and any documentation
showing financial loss or need if possible.
Once an application is received, a claims
specialist will contact you.

Applications are also available from
any of the 21 County Prosecutors’
Offices through their Victim Witness
Coordinators.

For more information or for a claim
application, please contact us by phone,
mail, fax, or visit our web site.

NJ Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place, 5th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Walk-in Clients: Please visit our
web site, or call our toll free number
for details.

Toll Free: 877-658-2221
Phone: 973-648-2107
Fax: 973-648-3937

Web site: www.njvictims.org

VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE



50 Park Place ¢ 5th Floor * Newark, NJ 07102
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Los ayudamos a normalizar su vida

()
7]
o
N B

jvceo

Crimenes elegibles

Esta es una lista de los fipos de crimenes
que pueden calificar. Pueden aplicar ciertas
condiciones. Para mayor informacién, favor
contactar a la VCCO:

W Agresion

¥ Incendio provocado

& Discriminacion

m Allanamiento*

m Ofensas de comportamiento escandaloso
M Violencia Domestica

M Trata de personas

B Actos indecentes con menores

M Secuestro

1 Actos lascivos, obscenos o indecentes
® Homicidio Culposo

m Ofensas de vehiculos motorizados

B Asesinato

M Robo con violencia

m Agresion Sexual

B Acecho

® Amenazas de lesién corporal

*Debe encontrarse en el edificio durante
la comisién del crimen

aplique en linea en:

de Nueva Jersey (VCCO) ree
del crimen por algunos de los
de un crimen. La VCCO reco
de las victimas y el derecho
justicia, compasion y respe

“rew\ huestra misio
Q% La Oficina de Compensacién g

requisitos
M El crimen tiene que haber ocurrido

en Nueva Jersey o a un residente
de Nueva Jersey

¥ La victima debe haber reportado
el crimen a la policia

M La victima debe cooperar con la
investigacién y el procesamiento
del crimen, si es factible

B El reclamo debe ser presentado
dentro de un plazo de 5 afios de
la fecha del crimen en la mayoria
de los casos

www.njvictims.org
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PARA ViCTIMAS DEL CRIMEN

Numero de llamada gratuita

877-658-2221

vigente.1.8.20



Gastos que pueden ser elegibles
para reembolso incluyen:

Gastos de Hospital, de médicos
y gastos médicos

Asesoria de Salud Mental gastos
de hasta $20,000

Pérdida de ingresos de hasta
$600 a la semana

Discapacidad Temporal,
a no exceder 24 meses

Discapacidad Permanente,
méximo 60 meses

Perdida de ingresos de dependientes
o miembros de familia

Duelo, méximo dos semanas
Perdida de ingresos por asistir al tribunal

Perdida de apoyo econémico
de $600 semanales, maximo 48 meses

Gastos de funeral hasta $7,500
Honorarios de Abogados:

Honorarios de abogados de derechos
de las victimas hasta $275 por hora,

maximo $10,000

Representacion con el reclamo VCCO
de hasta el 15% de la compensacion
en $275 por hora

Gastos de Reubicacién de hasta $3,000
Limpieza lugar del crimen hasta $4,000

Cuidado Infantil/Guarderia servicios
domésticos hasta $6,500

La VCCO es pagador de tultimo recurso

Las victimas primero deberdn utilizar
y agotar ofros recursos incluyendo
el seguro y los beneficios del estado.

Preguntas frecuentes

2Qué es la Compensacion
para victimas del crimen?

La Oficina para compensacién para
victimas del crimen (VCCO) reembolsa
a las victimas de un crimen por algunos
de los gastos que tuvieron como
resultado de un crimen.

¢Se le paga a todas
las victimas del crimen?

No siempre. La ley establece los tipos
de crimenes que cubre la VCCO.
Ademds, si las victimas participaron en
el crimen o contribuyeron a sus lesiones,
se le puede negar la compensacion.

2Quién es elegible
para solicitar?

Las victimas pueden presentar
sus propias solicitudes.

Miembros de familia y dependientes
de las victimas o el caudal hereditario
de la victima

Una persona que haya pagado
por algunos de los servicios que
recibié la victima

El tutor, tutor legal, representante
del caudal hereditario, agente
autorizado de la victima o de los
dependientes de la victima

¢Puede la VCCO reembolsarme
directamente por gastos?

Si. Alas victimas o reclamantes de les
puede reembolsar por algunos gastos.

¢Puedo presentar un reclamo
si el sospechoso aln no ha sido
arrestado o si queda absuelto
luego de un juicio?

Si. La compensacién puede otorgarse

ya sea que la persona sea enjuiciada
o determinada culpable o no.

¢La VCCO puede Pagarles
directamente a los proveedores
de servicios?

Si. Una vez sea aprobado el reclamo,
el pago puede hacerse directamente
a los proveedores de servicios.

He recibido facturas adicionales
que no se consideraron en mi
oforgamiento inicial.

2AUn puedo presentarlas?

Si. Se pueden considerar cuentas relacionadas
con el crimen para reembolso adicional
luego del otorgamiento inicial

;Como presento
la solicitud?

Llene el formulario VCCO en linea en
www.njvictims.org. Incluya informes de
la policia y cualquier prueba que muestre
pérdidas econdémicas o necesidad si es
posible. Una vez recibamos su solicitud,
un especialista en reclamos le atenderd.

También hay solicitudes disponibles en cada
una de las 21 Oficinas del Procurador del
Condado a través de su Coordinador
Victima/Testigo.

Para mds informacién o para pedir una
solicitud de reclamo, favor contactarnos por
teléfono, correo, fax, o visite nuestro sitio web.

NJ Office of the Attorney General
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
50 Park Place, 5th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Horario: 8:00 a.m. a 5:00 p.m.

Atencién sin cita: Por favor visite nuestro
sitio web, o llame a nuestro nGmero sin
cobros para mas detalles.

Sin cobros: 877-658-2221
Teléfono: 973-648-2107
Fax: 973-648-3937

Sitio Web: www.njvictims.org

OFICINA DE COMPENSACION A VicTIMAS DEL CRIMEN



The Cumberland County Office of Victim-Witness
Advocacy has compiled the following brief list of service
agencies and organizations which may be of assistance

to crime victims and witnesses:

STATE AGENCIES
Victims of Crime Compensation Office 1-877-658-2221
Newark, NJ www.njoag.gov/resources/victim-witness-services

NJ V.I.N.E System www.vinelink.com 1-877-846-3465

NJ State Parole Board www.state.nj.us/parole

Victim Services Unit 609-292-4582

NJ Department of Corrections ~ www.state.nj.us/corrections
Victim Services Unit 1-800-996-2029 or 609-292-4036, x5299

NJ State Police Sex Offender Registry ~ www.nj.gov/njsp/info/reg_sexoffend.html

COUNSELING
Cumberland Co. Guidance Center www.ccgenj.org
Millville 856-825-6810

856-455-5555
1-877-922-2377
www.centerffs.org

Emergency Crisis Hotline
Center for Family Services

Sexual and Domestic Violence Services
SERV Hotline #

3600 E. Landis Ave., Unit 24, Vineland 856-696-2032

241 Laurel Heights Dr., Bridgeton 856-378-4328
Peaceful Tomorrows 27 S. East Blvd., Vineland 856-212-3308
CGS Family Support Organization WWW.CgSCmO.org

3739 N. Delsea Dr. Vineland 856-507-9400
Monarch Family Success Center of Vineland 856-507-7840

1038 E. Chestnut Ave., Suite 235 Vineland ~ www.nj.gov/dcf/families/support/success
Daniel’s Den Community Center 856-457-7360

27 S. East Blvd., Vineland www.danielsdencc.org
NJ Mental Healthcares Helpline 1-866-202-4357 njmentalhealthcares.org
Oaks Integrated Care

Urgent Care Mental Health
Gateway Wellness Center
CompleteCare Health Network

Counseling & Psychiatric Services

1-800-225-0196

856-537-2310
856-451-6330

856-451-4700

AGENCIES
Cumberland Co. Division of Social Services

275 N. Delsea Dr., #1A, Vineland 856-691-4600
Division of Child Protection and Permanency 1-877-652-2873
Parents Anonymous of NJ 1-800-843-5437
Cumberland Co. Office on Aging and Disabled ~ 856-453-2220
Cumberland Co. Family Shelter 856-825-3144 or 856-825-2399

www.hud.gov/states/new_jersey/homeless/shelters/cumberland

South Jersey Legal Services 1-800-496-4570

415 W. Landis Ave., 2nd Floor, Vineland 856-691-0494
CasaP.RA.C, Inc.

800 East Chestnut Ave., Vineland 856-692-2331

CHILD / ADOLESCENT SERVICES
Perform Care
NJ CARES INSTITUTE

42 E. Laurel Road, Stratford, NJ

1-877-652-7624
www.caresinstitute.org
856-566-7036

POLICE DEPARTMENTS
Bridgeton Police Department
Millville Police Department
Vineland Police Department
New Jersey State Police
Bridgeton Barracks

Port Norris Barracks

856-451-0033
856-825-7010
856-691-4111

856-451-0101
856-785-0036

The Criminal Case Process

| Investigation and/or Arrest |

—— Initial Case Screening |
[ | | |

Refer to Direct Charges Authorized Charges
Municipal Court| | Presentation (Complaint Issued) Declined
I
| 1
First Pre-Trial
Appearance Intervention
Pre-Indictment Detention
Conference Hearing
Grand Jury
| |
Remand to True Bill
Municipal Court (Indictment)

| Post Indictment Arraignment |
| Initial CaseIDisposition |
| Final Case Dispo;ition Conference |
| |
| |

I
Discretionary Case Disposition Conference
|
Pre-Trial Conference
1

[ Sentencing |
|  Appeal | |  Appeal |
LOCATION:

The Cumberland County Prosecutor's Office of Victim Witness Advocacy is
located at 115 Vine Street, Bridgeton. The Superior Courts and Grand Jury are
located in the Cumberland County Court House, comer of Broad & Fayette
Streets, in the City of Bridgeton. Parking is available in the immediate area.

Millville

08/2021

A GUIDE FOR
VICTIMS AND WITNESSES
INVOLVED IN THE
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM

CUMBERLAND COUNTY
OFFICE OF
VICTIM-WITNESS
ADVOCACY

115 VINE STREET
BRIDGETON, NJ 08302

856-453-0486

JENNIFER WEBB-McRAE
PROSECUTOR

LORENA DIAZ
VICTIM-WITNESS COORDINATOR

njccpo.org
https://vwportalnj.com


http://www.njvictims.org/
http://www.victimwitness.nj.gov/vine
http://www.state.nj.us/parole
http://www.state.nj.us/corrections
http://www.nj.gov/njsp/info/reg_sexoffend.html
http://www.ccgcnj.org/
http://www.centerffs.org/
http://www.cgsfso.com/
http://www.hud.gov/local/nj/homeless/shelters/cumberland.cfm

NEW JERSEY’S CRIME VICTIM’S BILL OF
RIGHTS, EFFECTIVE JULY 31, 1985
MANDATES THE FOLLOWING TO VICTIMS
AND WITNESSES OF CRIMES.

1. To be treated with dignity and compassion by
the criminal justice system;

2. To be informed about the Criminal Justice
process;

3. To be free from intimidation;

4. To have inconveniences associated with
participation in the criminal justice process
minimized:;

5. To make at least one telephone call which is
reasonable in both length and location called;

6. To medical assistance, if it appears necessary;
7. To be notified if presence in court is not needed;

8. To be informed about available remedies,
financial assistance and social services;

9. To be compensated for losses, when possible;

10. To be provided a secure waiting area during
court proceedings;

11. To be advised of case’s progress and final
disposition;

12. To the prompt return of property when no longer
needed as evidence;

13. To submit a written statement about the crime to
a representative of the prosecutor’s office prior
to the prosecutor’s final decision regarding the
filing of formal criminal charges; and

14. To make, prior to sentencing, an in-person
statement directly to the sentencing court
concerning the impact of the crime.

VICTIM-WITNESS SERVICES

* Provide Criminal Justice orientation and
information

» Assistance in completing victim information
and impact form

* Provide referrals for counseling and support
services to meet needs resulting from
the crime

* Case status notification
» Courtroom accompaniment

* Information about transportation, parking,
courthouse location

» Child care when attending court proceedings

* Provide information and assistance in filing
claims with the Victims of Crime
Compensation Office

» Assistance with return of property when it is
no longer needed as evidence

» Assistance in applying for restitution
» Employer and Creditor intercession

* Provide a separate and secure waiting area
while waiting to appear in court

* Provide information and assistance regarding
NJ VINE System

» Cases involving sexual assault, provide
assistance in obtaining HIV/AIDS test
results of the defendant

The goal of these services is to assure that a
victim of or witness to a crime is treated with
dignity and compassion, is informed about their
case, is free from intimidation or threat, is
personally inconvenienced to the least extent
possible and whose personal and financial
needs are redressed whenever possible.

FREQUENT TERMS AND DEFINITIONS

Assistant Prosecutor: A lawyer employed by the county prosecutor’s office
to prosecute criminal cases for the State of New Jersey.

Public Defender: A lawyer employed by the State of New Jersey to
represent indigent defendants accused of a crime.

Complaint; Initial formal document charging defendant with a crime.

First Appearance Hearing: Once a complaint is issued, defendants are
either arrested or issued a summons or notice to appear in Superior Court on
a first appearance. At the First Appearance incarcerated defendants can be
released subject to conditions set by the court or held without bail because
the state is seeking to detain the defendant without bail until trial. First
Appearance hearings are held within 24 - 48 hours of arrest or issuance of a
warrant complaint for incarcerated defendants.

Pre-Indictment Conference: Court hearing date provided at First
Appearance. The hearing is an opportunity for the assistant prosecutor to
discuss with the defense attorney potential pre-indictment case resolutions
(quilty plea).

Grand Jury: A 23-person jury that hears evidence presented by an assistant
prosecutor to determine whether or not there is a sufficient basis for a formal
charge to be issued.

Indictment; a formal written charge made by a grand jury. An indictment is
NOT proof of guilt.

Post-Indictment Arraignment: This is the first appearance made by the
defendant before Superior Court Judge after indictment. The assistant
prosecutor will advise the defendant of the indictment. The defendant,
through histher attorney will enter a guilty or not guilty plea. This hearing wil
be held 14 days after indictment.

Status Conferences: There are two status conferences hearings, with the
possible exception of a third conference at the judge’s discretion. The first
status conference is called the Initial Case Disposition Conference;
the second conference is called the Final Case Disposition Conference;
and the third, the Discretionary Case Disposition Conference. These hearings
are public hearings where the defendant and his/her lawyer and an assistant
prosecutor appear before a Superior Court Judge.

Plea Negotiation: a process in which the assistant prosecutor and the
defendant, through his/her attorney, attempt to reach a plea agreement in
which the defendant agrees to plead guilty to some or all of the charges.

Pre-Trial Conferences; the court will schedule this after discovery is
complete, motions have been decided and all reasonable efforts to dispose of
the case without trial have been made. This is the phase where a date for
trial will be set.

Jury: a group of twelve citizens selected to hear evidence relating to the
charges stated in the indictment.

Sentencing: the disposition/punishment phase of the criminal matter before
a Superior Court Judge. A sentence can include prison, probation,
restitution, community service, mental health counseling, fines & penalties, or
any combination of these. This is the phase where a victim has the
opportunity to address the court with a Victim Impact Statement.

Victim Impact Statement: a statement, either written or oral, made by the
victim describing how the crime has affected his/her life.



The Cumberland County Office of Victim-Witness
Advocacy has compiled the following brief list of service
agencies and organizations which may be of assistance

to crime victims and witnesses:

STATE AGENCIES
Victims of Crime Compensation Office 1-877-658-2221
Newark, NJ www.njoag.gov/resources/victim-witness-services

NJ V.I.N.E System www.vinelink.com 1-877-846-3465

NJ State Parole Board www.state.nj.us/parole

Victim Services Unit 609-292-4582

NJ Department of Corrections ~ www.state.nj.us/corrections
Victim Services Unit 1-800-996-2029 or 609-292-4036, x5299

NJ State Police Sex Offender Registry ~ www.nj.gov/njsp/info/reg_sexoffend.html

COUNSELING
Cumberland Co. Guidance Center www.ccgenj.org
Millville 856-825-6810
Emergency Crisis Hotline 856-455-5555
Center for Family Services 1-877-922-2377
www.centerffs.org

Sexual and Domestic Violence Services
SERV Hotline #

3600 E. Landis Ave., Unit 24, Vineland 856-696-2032

241 Laurel Heights Dr., Bridgeton 856-378-4328
Peaceful Tomorrows 27 S. East Blvd., Vineland 856-212-3308
CGS Family Support Organization WWW.CgSCmO.org

3739 N. Delsea Dr. Vineland 856-507-9400
Monarch Family Success Center of Vineland 856-507-7840

1038 E. Chestnut Ave., Suite 235 Vineland ~ www.nj.gov/dcf/families/support/success
Daniel’s Den Community Center 856-457-7360

27 S. East Blvd., Vineland www.danielsdencc.org
NJ Mental Healthcares Helpline 1-866-202-4357 njmentalhealthcares.org
Oaks Integrated Care

Urgent Care Mental Health
Gateway Wellness Center
CompleteCare Health Network

Counseling & Psychiatric Services

1-800-225-0196

856-537-2310
856-451-6330

856-451-4700

AGENCIES
Cumberland Co. Division of Social Services

275 N. Delsea Dr., #1A, Vineland 856-691-4600
Division of Child Protection and Permanency 1-877-652-2873
Parents Anonymous of NJ 1-800-843-5437
Cumberland Co. Office on Aging and Disabled ~ 856-453-2220
Cumberland Co. Family Shelter 856-825-3144 or 856-825-2399

www.hud.gov/states/new_jersey/homeless/shelters/cumberland

South Jersey Legal Services 1-800-496-4570

415 W. Landis Ave., 2nd Floor, Vineland 856-691-0494
CasaP.RA.C, Inc.

800 East Chestnut Ave., Vineland 856-692-2331

CHILD / ADOLESCENT SERVICES
Perform Care
NJ CARES INSTITUTE

42 E. Laurel Road, Stratford, NJ

1-877-652-7624
www.caresinstitute.org
856-566-7036

POLICE DEPARTMENTS

Bridgeton Police Department 856-451-0033
Millville Police Department 856-825-7010
Vineland Police Department 856-691-4111
New Jersey State Police

Bridgeton Barracks 856-451-0101
Port Norris Barracks 856-785-0036

Juvenile
Delinquency Process

Police Department

Investigation
Station House
Adjustment
Prosecutor Case
Screening
1
1 1
Charges Charges
Declined Authorized
|
1 1
Plea Hearing Court
(Initial Appearance) Diversion
Juvenile
Conference|
Committee
1 1
Preliminary > Guilty
Hearing Plea
Adjudicatory
Hearing (Trial)
1
| 1
Adjudicated Adjudicated
Not Delinquent (Not Guilty) Delinquent (Guilty)
LOCATION:

The Cumberland County Prosecutor's Office of Victim Witness Advocacy is
located at 115 Vine Street, Bridgeton. The Superior Courts and Grand Jury are
located in the Cumberland County Court House, comer of Broad & Fayette
Streets, in the City of Bridgeton. Parking is available in the immediate area.

To
Salem

Victim
Witness

I 08/2021

A GUIDE FOR
VICTIMS AND WITNESSES
INVOLVED IN THE
JUVENILE JUSTICE SYSTEM

CUMBERLAND COUNTY
OFFICE OF
VICTIM-WITNESS ADVOCACY

115 VINE STREET
BRIDGETON, NJ 08302
(856) 453-0486

JUVENILE DIVISION
(856) 878-5050

JENNIFER WEBB-McRAE
PROSECUTOR

LORENA DIAZ
VICTIM-WITNESS COORDINATOR

njccpo.org
https://vwportalnj.com


http://www.njvictims.org/
http://www.victimwitness.nj.gov/vine
http://www.state.nj.us/parole
http://www.state.nj.us/corrections
http://www.nj.gov/njsp/info/reg_sexoffend.html
http://www.ccgcnj.org/
http://www.centerffs.org/
http://www.cgsfso.com/
http://www.hud.gov/local/nj/homeless/shelters/cumberland.cfm

NEW JERSEY’S CRIME VICTIM’S BILL OF RIGHTS, EFFECTIVE
Jury 31, 1985 MANDATES THE FOLLOWING TO VICTIMS
AND WITNESSES OF CRIMES.

1. To be treated with dignity and compassion by the criminal justice
system;

2. Tobe informed about the Criminal Justice process;

3. To be free from intimidation;

4. To have inconveniences associated with participation in the
criminal justice process minimized;

5. Tomake at least one telephone call which is reasonable in both
length and location called;

6. To medical assistance, if it appears necessary;

7. To be notified if presence in court is not needed;

8. To be informed about available remedies, financial assistance
and social services;

9. To be compensated for losses, when possible;

10. To be provided a secure waiting area during court proceedings;

11.  To be advised of case’s progress and final disposition;

12.  To the prompt return of property when no longer needed as
evidence;

13.  To submit a written statement about the crime to a
representative of the prosecutor’s office prior to the prosecutor's
final decision regarding the filing of formal criminal charges; and

14.  To make, prior to sentencing, an in-person statement directly to
the sentencing court conceming the impact of the crime.

VICTIM-WITNESS SERVICES

« Provide Criminal Justice orientation and information

« Assistance in completing victim information and impact form

« Provide referrals for counseling and support services to meet needs
resulting from the crime

« Case status notification

« Courtroom accompaniment

« Information about transportation, parking, courthouse location

« Child care when attending court proceedings

« Provide information and assistance in filing claims with the Victims of Crime
Compensation Office

« Assistance with return of property when it is no longer needed as
evidence

« Assistance in applying for restitution

« Employer and Creditor intercession

* Provide a separate and secure waiting area while waiting to
appear in court

« Provide information and assistance regarding NJ VINE System

« Cases involving sexual assault, provide assistance in obtaining HIV/AIDS
test results of the defendant

The goal of these services is to assure that a victim of or witness
to a crime is treated with dignity and compassion, is informed
about their case, is free from intimidation or threat, is personally
inconvenienced to the least extent possible and whose personal
and financial needs are redressed whenever possible.

The Cumberland County Prosecutor's Office is responsible for the
prosecution of juvenile offenses. In coordination with the Family
Division of the Superior Court of New Jersey, all juvenile delinquen-
cy complaints are screened and prosecuted in the county where the
juvenile resides.

Juvenile matters are confidential and move rather quickly
through the justice system. To ensure your victim rights are
protected, it is important to communicate with the Office of
Victim-Witness Advocacy.

Juvenile Delinquency: an act committed by someone under the
age of 18, that would be a crime, a disorderly persons offense, a
petty disorderly persons offense or a violation of a regulation or a
municipal ordinance, if committed by an adult.
GOALS OF THE JUVENILE JUSTICE SYSTEM

To ensure public safety

To rehabilitate the juvenile

To hold the juvenile accountable for his/her actions

STEPS IN THE JUVENILE JUSTICE PROCESS

Detention: Juveniles who are charged with serious offenses, or who
cannot be relied on to voluntarily appear at future court dates may
be held in detention while awaiting adjudication. Admission to the
detention facility must be approved by family court intake. Juveniles
do not have a right to a bail.

Detention Review Hearing: If a juvenile is incarcerated, his/her
situation is reviewed within 24 hours to determine if he/she should
be released or held. If the juvenile is remanded back to detention,
the matter is heard again within 48 hours with an attorney.

Plea Hearing: The juvenile will enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. If
the juvenile chooses to plead quilty, the judge may proceed immedi-
ately to the disposition (sentencing) phase of the case.

Disposition: Once a juvenile has pled guilty or is found guilty, the
court must determine the appropriate disposition for the juvenile.
This can be done immediately or, if the judge feels there are extenu-
ating circumstances, disposition can be deferred until a pre-
disposition report has been completed.

Pre-Disposition Report (PDR): A confidential report prepared by
the Probation Department for the judge to use in deciding upon an
appropriate disposition for a juvenile. A PDR can include the juve-
nile’s background, offense information, a Victim Impact Statement,
and other material required to determine disposition.

Preliminary Hearing: If, at the plea hearing, the juvenile pled “not
quilty”, a preliminary hearing will be scheduled. At this time, the
juvenile has an opportunity to plead guilty to the offense. If the
juvenile chooses not to plead guilty, the case will go forward to
adjudication (trial) or the judge may schedule additional hearings if
necessary. If the juvenile chooses to plead guilty at this stage, the
judge may immediately proceed to the disposition phase of the
case.

Adjudication Hearing: This is the presentation of the case to the
judge for a determination of guilty or innocence. At the conclusion
of the hearing, or as soon thereafter as the judge can reach a deci-
sion, the verdict will be announced. If there is a “not guilty” verdict,
the juvenile will be free to leave without any disposition. If there is a
“guilty” verdict, the judge may proceed immediately to disposition or
request a PDR be prepared.

No Contact Provision: This may be ordered to keep the juvenile
from having harassing or unwanted contact with the victim.
Restitution: Requires that the juvenile offender compensate the
victim for stolen or damaged property, medical bills or other expens-
es due to the offense.

JUVENILE DISPOSITIONS

There is a varied range of dispositions in the juvenile
justice system. A list and description of some possible
dispositions are as follows:

Station House Adjustment: An alternative method that
police departments may use to handle juvenile offenders
who have committed minor juvenile delinquency offenses
in their jurisdiction.

Juvenile Conference Committee/Intake Service Com-
mittee (JCC/ISC): Diversionary programs that allow a
juvenile to resolve his/her charges without a formal adju-
dication of delinquency. These diversionary programs
are only an option when a juvenile has no prior criminal
history. If the juvenile successfully complies with the
recommendations of the diversionary program, the
charges are dismissed. If the juvenile does not comply,
the case is referred to court for adjudication.

Deferred Disposition/Under the Statute: A court su-
pervised diversionary program available to adjudicated
juveniles. It includes a period of probation supervision
and court imposed conditions. If a juvenile is compliant
with conditions and there are no subsequent acts of juve-
nile delinquency, the charges will be dismissed.

Probation: A court ordered supervision program to
monitor a juvenile’s compliance with court imposed con-
ditions, such as community service, substance abuse
treatment and payment of fines/restitution.

Field Program: Long-term residential programs run by
the Juvenile Justice Commission which may be ordered
under appropriate circumstances to address mental
health or behavioral issues.

Jamesburg: The New Jersey State Prison for juvenile
offenders.

Waiver to Criminal Court: The process by which a
juvenile is transferred to the criminal court for prosecu-
tion as an adult.

Dismissal: The charges against the juvenile are dis-
missed on a motion of the assistant prosecutor or deci-
sion of a judge.



OFFICE OF THE COUNTY PROSECUTOR

OFFICE OF VICTIM-WITNESS ADVOCACY

JENNIFER WEBB-MCRAE
CUMBERLAND COUNTY PROSECUTOR

115 Vine Street

Bridgeton, New Jersey 08302
(856) 453-0486

Fax (856) 453- 5219

Lorena Diaz

Victim-Witness Director

RESOURCE LIST FOR VICTIMS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT — CUMBERLAND COUNTY

COUNTY
CHILD/ADOLESCENT- COUNSELING/MENTAL HEALTH

SERV (Services Empowering Rights of Victims)

Sexual & Domestic Violence & Human Trafficking Services
24 — Hour toll free hotline

www.centerffs.org/serv

3600 E. Landis Avenue Unit 24

Vineland, NJ 08361 (856) 696-2032

241 Laurel Heights Drive
Bridgeton, NJ 08302  (856) 378-4328

(Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy & Client Centered Play Therapy)
14-16 East Commerce (Cumberland County Child Advocacy Center)
Bridgeton, NJ 08302

Rowan Medicine

CARES Institute (Mental Health Services)
www.caresinstitute.org

42 East Laurel Road, Suite 1100

Stratford, NJ 08084

1051 W. Sherman Avenue, Bldg. 5, Unit A
Vineland, NJ 08360

Perform Care
www.performcarenj.org/

NJ Mental Health Cares
www.njmentalhealthcares.org

DCP&P East Office Vineland
275 N. Delsea Drive, Suite 2B
Vineland, NJ 08360

DCP&P West Office Bridgeton
40 E. Broad Street, Suite 400
Bridgeton, NJ 08302

1-800-225-0196

1-800-225-0196/(856) 451-3177

(856) 566-7036

1-877-652-7624

1-866-202-4357

(856) 794-5871/1-866-816-1105

(856) 575-5523/1-800-531-1228


http://www.centerffs.org/serv
http://maps.google.com/?q=241%20Laurel%20Heights%20Drive+Bridgeton+NJ+08302+us
http://www.caresinstitute.org/
http://www.performcarenj.org/
http://www.njmentalhealthcares.org/

MEDICAL

Rowan Medicine

CARES Institute (Medical Exam Services) (856) 566-7036
www.caresinstitute.org

42 East Laurel Road, Suite 1100

Stratford, NJ 08084

1051 W. Sherman Avenue, Bldg. 5, Unit A
Vineland, NJ 08360

Forensic Nurse Examiner (SANE) (856) 453-0486, ext. 13618
Sexual Assault Response Team

SANE Coordinator, Toni Lou Cataldi

Office of the Prosecutor

115 Vine Street

Bridgeton, NJ 08302

S.A.R.T Response Hospital

INSPIRA Health Network

1505 West Sherman Avenue (856) 641-8000
Vineland, NJ 08360

333 Irving Avenue (856) 575-4500
Bridgeton, NJ 08302

Cumberland County Department of Health (856) 327-7602, ext. 7144
Wellness Clinic: STD/HIV Testing & Treatment

http://www.co.cumberland.nj.us/ccdoh

1 East Vine Street (2"? & 4" Wednesday of each month)

Millville, NJ 08332

30 Magnolia Avenue (1%, 3, & 5" Wednesday of each month)
Bridgeton, NJ 08302

Complete Care Health Network (856) 452-0003, ext. 2727 & ext. 2900
https://completecarenj.org/services/hiv-services/

Population Health — HIV Testing & Treatment, PrEP counseling

Office of Care Management

SAFETY ASSESSMENT/PLANNING SERVICES

Protection from Abuse (856) 803-9494
https://protectionfromabuse.org/

Forever Your Overwatch 1-833-396-4357
https://fyofoundation.org/



http://www.caresinstitute.org/
http://www.co.cumberland.nj.us/ccdoh
https://completecarenj.org/services/hiv-services/
https://protectionfromabuse.org/
https://fyofoundation.org/

STATE

New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence (NCEDV)
http://www.njcedv.org/

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault
https://njcasa.org/

Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Www.njvictims.org

New Jersey Child Abuse Hotline
www.nj.gov/dcf

Statewide Domestic Violence Hotline
Statewide Sexual Violence Hotline

NJ Human Trafficking Hotline

FEDERAL/NATIONAL

National Domestic Violence Hotline
www.thehotline.org

National Sexual Assault Hotline
https://hotline.rainn.org/online

National Human Trafficking Hotline
https://humantraffickinghotline.org

National Center for Victims of Crime
http://victimsofcrime.org

National Organization for Victim Assistance
https://www.trynova.org/help-for-crime-victims

Office for Victims of Crime
https://ovc.qov

Victim Connect Resource Center
https://victimconnect.org/

National Sexual Violence Resource Center
https://www.nsvrc.orqg/

National Teen Dating Abuse Helpline
https://www.loveisrespect.org/

(609) 584-8107

(609) 631-4450

1-877-658-2221/1-973-648-2107

1-877-652-2873

1-800-572-7233

1-800-601-7200

1-855-363-6548

1-800-799-7233

1-800-656-4673

1-888-373-7888

1-202-467-8700

1-703-535-6682

1-855-484-2846

1-877-739-3895

1-866-331-9474

Please visit us at https://vwportalnj.com for additional resources

Last updated 6/2/21


http://www.njcedv.org/
https://njcasa.org/
http://www.njvictims.org/
http://www.nj.gov/dcf
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https://hotline.rainn.org/online
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Services Empowering
Rights of Victims

SERV supports survivors and
promotes prevention of sexual
violence, domestic violence, and
human trafficking.
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centerffs.org/serv




SERV supports victims and survivors of
sexual violence, domestic violence, and
human trafficking with competence and
compassion. SERV provides a safe space for
all that encourages recovery and self-care.

All services are free of charge, strictly
confidential, culturally sensitive, and bilingual.

Services include:

+ Education and prevention
« 24-hour hotline
» Crisis intervention

« Accompaniment to hospitals, law
enforcement agencies, and court

+ Counseling and support groups

« Emergency safe housing for victims
and their children

« Community outreach

+ Legal advocacy

+ Pet advocacy

The SERV crisis intervention team is
available around the clock to help
victims of violence through our free and

confidential hotline.
1.866.295.7378

centerffs.org/serv
serv@centerffs.org

H £ ©

@cfsserv

Funded by
NJ Department of Children and Families, Division of Child Protection and Permanency; Division On Wormen;
NJ Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Criminal Justice; Department of Health and Human
Services, Administration for Children and Families; Office on Trafficking in Persons




Servicios que fortalecen los
derechos de las victimas

SERV apoya a sobrevivientes
y promueve la prevencion
de violencia sexual, la violencia
doméstica y la trata de personas.

Ak CENIER
FOR
S L% SERVICES

centerffs.org/serv




SERV apoya a las victimas y los sobrevivientes
de violencia sexual, violencia doméstica y trata
de personas con competencia y compasion.
SERV proporciona un espacio seguro para
todos que formenta la recuperacion y al cuidado
personal.

Todos los servicios son gratuitos, estrictamente
confidenciales, culturalmente sensibles y
bilinglies.

Los servicios incluyen:

+ linea directa las 24 horas
+ de educacion y prevencion;
« intervencion de crisis;

« acompafiamiento a hospitales,
organismos del orden publico y tribunales;

+ grupos de apoyo y asesoria;

+ alojamiento seqguro las 24 horas del dig,
los 7 dias de la semmana para las victimas
y sus hijos;

+ alcance comunitario;
+ Defensoria legal;

« Defensa de mascotas

El equipo de intervencién de crisis de SERV
esta disponible las 24 horas del dia para
ayudar a las victimas de violencia a través de

nuestra linea directa gratuita y confidencial.

1.866.295.7378

centerffs.org/serv
serv@centerffs.org

H & ©

@cfsserv

Financiado por

Departamento de Nifios y Familias de Nueva Jersey; Divisién de Proteccién y Permanencia Infantil; Division

de Mujeres; Departamento de Derecho y Seguridad Publica de Nueva Jersey; Divisién de Justicia Criminal;

Departamento de Salud y Servicios Sociales de los Estados Unidos; Administracién para Nifios y Familias;
Oficina de Lucha contra la Trata de Personas
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CUMBERLAND COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

WELLNESS
CLINIC

Appointments available on Wednesdays

BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
Location given upon

appointment confirmation

4 PM - 6 PM
(856) 327-7602 x 714 4

STD/HIV Testing & Treatment
Chronic Health Screenings
Vaccinations
**WITH CURRENT SOCIAL DISTANCING GUIDELINES,
TESTING IS BY APPOINTMENT ONLY***

To schedule an appointment, call:
(856) 327-7602 x 7144

Olic Health

r“ ~ ‘.J\'.\.. ﬂand County
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DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD DEL CONDADO DE
CUMBERLAND

LINICA DE
IENESTAR

Citas disponibles los miércoles

La ubicacion se da en la

confirmacion de la cita
SOLO POR CITA

4 PM - 6 PM
(856) 327-7602 x 7144

PRUEBAS Y TRATAMIENTO DE ETS/VIH
EXAMENES CRONICOS DE SALUD Y VACUNAS

***CON LAS PAUTAS ACTUALES DE DISTANCIAMIENTO

SOCIAL, LAS PRUEBAS SON SOLO CON CITA.***

Para hacer la cita, llame al:
(856) 327-7602 x 7144

T
EiYRy - Everyuhors - Evoydy
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