# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-1 (Rev. 2023) <u>General Provisions</u>

### 13:82-1.1 Scope

The rules in this chapter shall govern the operation of vessels on tidal and nontidal waters of the State of New Jersey.

### 13:82–1.2 Construction

(a) These rules shall be liberally construed to permit the Department and its various agencies to discharge statutory functions.

(b) As used in these rules, "Department" means the Department of Law and Public Safety, "Commission" means the Boat Regulation Commission, and "State Police" means the Division of State Police.

(c) These rules are to be construed consistent with Federal law and all regulations adopted by the United States Coast Guard, as amended and as may be amended, and other applicable laws or regulations relating to vessels.

# 13:82–1.3 Equipment

(a) No person shall operate or allow any person to operate any vessel in or on the waters of this State unless the vessel is carrying on board the minimum equipment required by Title 33 and Title 46 of the Code of Federal Regulations, amendments thereto and as may be amended, for the size and type of vessel.

(b) Whenever the vessel is in operation, this equipment shall be produced by the owner or operator upon the request of a law enforcement officer of this State.

(c)Failure to produce such equipment shall be a violation of this section.

# 13:82–1.4 Personal flotation devices

(a) No person shall operate or allow any person to operate any vessel in or on the waters of this State unless such vessel has a serviceable United States Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (PFD) readily accessible for each person on board. Such PFD shall be of the type(s) and number(s) required by the United States Coast Guard for a vessel of that class operating on navigable waters. This section applies to all vessels except surfboards, racing shells, rowing sculls and racing kayaks.

(b) In accordance with N.J.S.A. 12:7-47.1, every person who operates a vessel on the waters of this State with a child 12 years of age or younger on board shall have the child wear a properly fitted United States Coast Guard approved PFD whenever the vessel is underway. The PFD shall be fully secured by all means provided in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

(c) Subsection (b) above shall not apply when the child is inside a fully enclosed cabin that is a permanent, non-removable part of the vessel that is intended by the vessel's manufacturer to carry passengers.

(d) The following classes of vessels shall be exempt from the requirements at (b) above and (f) below:

1. Vessels owned and operated by the United States;

**2.** Vessels owned or operated by the State of New Jersey or an agency thereof, a county, a municipality, a volunteer first aid, rescue or emergency squad, a search and rescue unit established within a fire district created pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:14-70 or a volunteer fire company created pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:14-70.1 when a child is on board as a direct result of being rescued from an emergency situation;

3. Commercial vessels; and

4. Ferries.

(e) For the purposes of this section, "commercial vessel" means any vessel longer than 65 feet operated for a purpose that requires a United States Coast Guard Operator's or Master's License. "Ferry" means any vessel longer than 65 feet operating on a short run on a frequent schedule between two points offering a public service of a type normally attributed to a bridge or tunnel.

(f) No owner or operator of a recreational vessel less than 26 feet, including rowboats, canoes, kayaks, and stand-up paddleboards shall permit its operation between November 1st and May 1st, unless each person on board such vessel is wearing a securely fastened United States Coast Guard-approved wearable personal flotation device of an appropriate size while such vessel is underway. A person inside the cabin of a cabin vessel shall be exempt from this requirement.

# 13:82–1.5 Rotating lights

(a) No vessel shall display a rotating or sequential flashing light except as provided in this section.

(b) Any law enforcement or emergency vessel may display a rotating blue light beacon.

(c) Any vessel engaged in activity recognized by the Coast Guard as being eligible for its use may display a rotating red and yellow light.

### 13:82–1.6 Siren

No vessel shall be equipped with, nor shall any person use upon a vessel, any siren except as otherwise permitted in this section. It is permissible that any vessel be equipped with a theft alarm signal device which is so arranged that it cannot be used by the operator as an ordinary warning signal. This section shall not apply to any vessel operated by or for the Department, a first aid squad, or a police or fire department.

# 13:82–1.7 Speed

(a) No person shall operate a vessel in a manner where the speed and/or wake of the vessel may cause danger or injury to life or limb or damage to property.

(b) All vessels shall reduce speed to slow speed/no wake when passing:

1. Any marina, pier, dock, wharf or abutment at a distance of 200 feet or less, except on Lake Hopatcong, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:82–3.11;

2. Work barges, platforms or floats while actually engaged in work related activity;

3. Through bridge openings of 400 feet or less;

4. Through lagoons, canals and confined areas of less than 200 feet in width;

5. Vessels not under command;

6. Emergency vessels displaying sequential flashing or rotating blue lights; or

7. Vessels engaged in activities recognized by the Coast Guard displaying rotating or sequential flashing red and yellow lights.

(c) "Slow speed/No wake" as used in this section means the speed at which a vessel moves through the water and is able to maintain minimum headway in relation to the vessel or structure being passed and producing the minimum wake possible.

(d) State Police, on the recommendation of the Commission or on its own initiative, may designate a specific area not included at (b)1 through 6 above as a temporary slow speed/no wake area based on congestion, visibility, safety, or other good cause. All vessels moving through these areas shall reduce their speed to slow speed/no wake within a 200-foot radius of the sign or buoy, in addition to any restriction pursuant to (b) above.

(e) No person shall place, anchor, or construct any buoy that states or implies that an area is a "Slow Speed/No Wake" area except as provided at (a), (b), (c), or (d) above. The State Police may remove or have removed any such unauthorized buoy.

# 13:82–1.8 Navigation rules

All vessels navigating the waters of this State shall comply with the Inland Navigation Rules Act of 1980, 33 U.S.C. §§ 2071- 2073, and applicable regulations, 33 CFR Parts 83 through 90, except where the International Navigation Rules Act of 1977, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1601-1608 are applicable. Both acts, and any regulation issued thereunder, are incorporated herein by reference, as amended or supplemented.

# 13:82–1.9 Anchoring near aid to navigation

No person shall anchor or cause to be anchored, tie or cause to be tied any power vessel, rowboat, sailboat, canoe, or any other vessel to or within a radius of 50 feet of any light, beacon, buoy, or any

other aid to navigation, except in an emergency. This section shall not apply to vessels operated by the State or Federal Government for the maintenance, replacement or survey of navigation aids.

### 13:82–1.10 Interference with other vessels

(a) No person shall operate any vessel in a manner which shall unreasonably interfere with other vessels or with free and proper navigation of the waterways.

(b) Anchoring in heavily traveled channels or main thoroughfares shall constitute such interference if unreasonable in the prevailing circumstances.

(c) No person shall tie up or anchor vessels or other craft in navigable channels in such a manner as to prevent or obstruct the passage of other vessels or craft, or carelessly sink or permit or cause to be sunk, or except in an emergency, voluntarily sink or permit or cause to be sunk a vessel or other craft in a navigable channel.

### 13:82–1.11 Interference with marine events

No vessel shall move across the course or around the course of any marine event as defined at N.J.A.C. 13:82–1.20, so as to create a water condition, which shall unnecessarily endanger the life, limb or craft of those competing in the marine event.

### 13:82–1.12 Obeying orders

A person operating a vessel on the waters of this State shall stop or lay to when ordered to do so by a law enforcement officer.

### 13:82-1.13 Riders

(a) The operator of a vessel shall not allow any person to ride in any position that would endanger life or limb nor allow passengers or cargo in excess of the maximum capacity stated on the manufacturer's or U.S. Coast Guard capacity label.

- 1. This prohibition includes, but is not limited to, any position where the person may be in danger of falling overboard.
- 2. This prohibition excludes all positions which may be necessary for the operation or safety of the vessel.

3. For purposes of this section, waterskiers as defined at N.J.A.C. 13:82–3.1 shall be included in the number of persons in the vessel.

(b) The owner or certified operator of a personal watercraft (PWC) shall not allow any person or persons to ride between the certified operator and the steering controls of the personal watercraft (PWC).

### 13:82–1.14 Altered motor numbers

Any person who shall have in his or her possession any motor, whether inboard or outboard, the motor number of which has been altered or mutilated, or who shall come into possession of such a motor, shall at once file in writing with the State Police a statement setting forth all circumstances in connection with his or her possession of such motor.

### 13:82-1.15 Lanyard cut-off switch

The operator of a vessel equipped with a lanyard cut-off switch shall wear the safety switch lanyard at all times when the vessel is in operation.

### 13:82-1.16 Exclusion of marine events

The provisions of this subchapter shall not apply to any vessel or to any operator while actually competing in a marine event for which a permit has been issued pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:82–1.20, except as may be otherwise provided in the permit.

### 13:82-1.17 Finding

(a) Any person finding, recovering or coming into possession of any vessel other than through normal purchase, loan, rental, charter or gift shall notify the State Police within 24 hours. Any person finding an unoccupied vessel on the waters of the State or under circumstances that indicate an emergency shall notify the State Police without delay by the quickest means available.

(b) The notification shall include a description of the vessel and the specific location where it was found or recovered.

### 13:82-1.18 Floats and swim platforms

No person shall place, anchor, or construct or cause to be placed, anchored, or constructed, any float or diving platform more than 25 feet from shore on any waters where power vessels are permitted without the written approval of the State Police. Permitted floats or platforms that remain in the water between sunset and sunrise shall be marked by warning lights as required by the United States Coast Guard Inland Navigation Rule 33 CFR 83.30, which is incorporated herein by reference, as may be amended or supplemented.

### 13:82–1.19 Nonlicensed operator

Any person owning a power vessel shall not knowingly allow it to be operated by a nonlicensed operator in waters where a license is required.

# 13:82-1.20 Marine events

(a) For the purposes of this section, "marine event" means an organized water event of limited duration that takes place on a predetermined schedule. A marine event shall include, but is not limited to, vessel parades, regattas, contests that use speed, acceleration, distance, time and/or destination, retrieval of any object(s), obstacle courses or maneuvering as a measure of competition involving more than five vessels (sail and/or power) underway at any time, and swimming events. A marine event shall not include events of public entertainment on wholly owned private lakes.

(b) Marine events shall not be held unless a permit has been issued in accordance with this section, unless the United States Coast Guard has notified the State Police that the Coast Guard is assuming primary responsibility for the event. A copy of the permit shall be available for inspection by a member of the State Police upon request during the marine event. Failure to possess or produce the permit upon request of a member of the State Police shall be cause for termination of the event.

(c) The organizer or sponsor of the marine event shall submit a request in writing to the Station Commander of the State Police marine station responsible for patrolling the area in which the event is intended to take place. The request shall state the nature of the intended activity and shall include the name, address and telephone number of the person or organization sponsoring the event, the date, start and anticipated finish time, route of travel, number of vessels and estimated number of persons, and any other information requested by the Station Commander. This request shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the event. If the event encompasses more than one State Police marine station area, the Station Commander of the area in which the event starts shall process the request, after consultation with the Station Commanders of any other State Police stations affected by the event, and determine whether or not to issue the permit. The Station Commander shall notify the United States Coast Guard district of any request for a permit affecting waters subject to the jurisdiction of the United States. The Station Commander may consult with other law enforcement agencies or governmental bodies with jurisdiction in the affected area.

- (d) The Station Commander shall consider the following factors to determine whether or not to issue a permit for the event:
  - 1. Inherent hazards of the event;
  - 2. Customary presence of commercial or pleasure craft in the area;
  - 3. Any obstruction of a navigable channel that may reasonably be expected to result;
  - 4. The expected accumulation of spectator craft;
  - 5. Previous history of the event or sponsor;
  - 6. Other events for which a permit has been issued that may be affected; and
  - 7. The need for conditions or restrictions.

(e) The Station Commander shall issue the permit, with or without restrictions, or shall deny the request and advise the sponsor of the reasons. At the discretion of the Station Commander, a single permit may be requested and issued for recurring events by the same sponsor or organizer for a period not to exceed six months. (f) The Station Commander or Shift Supervisor may terminate any event due to circumstances that were unforeseen at the time of issuance of the permit that may present a safety hazard, including weather conditions, or if the event is being conducted in a manner that is inconsistent with the laws of this State, or restrictions of the permit.

# 13:82-1.21 Waiver of the Boat Regulation Commission rules

(a) Any person or entity desiring a waiver from the provisions of a rule or rules at N.J.A.C. 13:82-1 through 7 shall submit a formal written request to the Commission, in accordance with this section. Any such request shall set forth in detail all facts that support the necessity of the requested relief and identify all persons or entities who might be affected if the relief were granted. Any waiver granted pursuant to this section shall only be valid for one year.

(b) The Commission may, within its discretion, grant a waiver from specific provisions of N.J.A.C. 13:82-1 through 7 if it determines:

- 1. That such a waiver is consistent with the interests of boating safety;
- 2. That such a waiver is consistent with the intent of, if not the letter of, N.J.A.C. 13:82-1 through 7; and/or

3. Where strict application of the rule would create an unnecessary hardship that is contrary to the legislative intent of the underlying statutes or the public interest.

(c) The Commission may waive application of any rule in an individual circumstance on its own motion upon finding that such relief is warranted by the factors set forth at (b) above.

(d) All waiver requests shall be submitted to the Commission on a form designated by the Superintendent, at least 60 days prior to a regularly scheduled public meeting of the Commission.

(e) Any person requesting a waiver, and/or any interested party, may be required to attend a regularly scheduled public Commission meeting to provide testimony and/or documentation in support of the request.

(f) All decisions on requests for waiver shall be made at a public meeting of the Commission. If the Commission grants a waiver, the Commission will notify the Superintendent and the Superintendent or his or her designee will issue a letter to the applicant, detailing the terms of the waiver. This letter shall be carried, at all times, by all participants or a designated supervisor, while engaging in the activity subject to waiver.

(g) The Commission shall not grant a waiver of its rules where doing so would be contrary to or inconsistent with an applicable statute.

(h) Any person, group, or organization found to be in violation of this chapter, including the failure to produce the issued letter approving a waiver at the request of law enforcement personnel, shall be subject to the penalties contained within this chapter.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-2 (Rev. 2020) <u>Reporting Boating Accidents</u>

### 13:82-2.1 Reporting of boating accidents

(a) Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7-34.46 and 33 CFR Part 173, when, as a result of an occurrence that involves a vessel or its equipment, a person dies or disappears from a vessel the operator shall, without delay, by the quickest means available, notify the nearest State Police station of the following:

1. The date, time and exact location of the occurrence;

2. The name of each person who died or disappeared;

3. The number and name of the vessel; and

4. The name and addresses of the owner and operator.

(b) When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice or file the report required by (a) above, each person on board the vessel shall notify the State Police station or determine that the notice has been given.

(c) If as a result of an occurrence that involves a vessel or its equipment, a person dies; a person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid; damage to the vessel and other property totals more than the Federal standard for filing an accident report as established pursuant to 33 CFR 173.55, or there is the complete loss of any vessel; or a person disappears from a vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury, the operator or operators shall file a written report on forms furnished by the State Police within:

1. Forty-eight hours of the occurrence if a person dies within 24 hours of the occurrence, or if a person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid or disappears from a vessel; or

2. Within 10 days of the occurrence or death if an earlier report is not required pursuant to (c)1

above. (d)The written report required at (c) above shall include the following information:

1. The numbers and names of each vessel involved;

2. The name and address of each owner of each vessel involved;

3. The name of the nearest city or town, the county, the State and the body of water;

4. The time and the date the casualty or accident occurred;

5. The location on the water;

6. The visibility, weather and water conditions;

7. The estimated air and water temperatures;

8. The name, address, age or date of birth, telephone number, vessel operating experience, and boating safety training of the operator making the report;

9. The name and address of each operator of each vessel involved;

10. The number of persons on board or towed on skis by each vessel;

11. The name, address, and date of birth of each person injured or killed;

12. The cause of each death;

13. Weather forecasts available to, and weather reports used by, the operator before and during the use of the vessel;

14. The name and address of each owner of property involved;

15. The availability and use of personal flotation devices;

16. The type and number of each fire extinguisher used;

17. The nature and extent of each injury;

18. A description of all property damage with an estimate of the cost of all repairs;

19. A description of each equipment failure that caused or contributed to the cause of the casualty;

20. A description of the vessel casualty or accident;

21. The type of vessel operation (cruising, drifting, fishing, hunting, skiing, racing, or other), and the type of accident (capsizing, sinking, fire or explosion or other);

22. The opinion of the person making the report as to the cause of the casualty, including whether or not alcohol or drugs, or both, was a cause of or contributed to causing the casualty;

23. Characteristics of the reporting operator's vessel, including:

i. Make;

ii. Model;

iii. Type: authorized terms are "air boat," "auxiliary sail," "cabin motorboat," "houseboat," "inflatable boat," "open motorboat," "paddlecraft," "personal watercraft," "pontoon boat," "rowboat," "sail only," or "other";

iv. Beam width at widest point;

v. Overall length of vessel;

vi. Depth from transom to keel;

vii.Horsepower;

viii.Propulsion: authorized terms are "air thrust," "manual," "propeller," "sail," "water jet," or "other";

ix. Fuel: authorized terms are "electric," "diesel," "gas," or "other";

x. Engine drive type: authorized terms are "inboard," "outboard," "pod drive," "sterndrive," or "other";

xi. Hull material: authorized terms are "aluminum," "fiberglass," "plastic," "rubber/vinyl/canvas," "steel," "wood," or "other"; and

xii. Model year;

24. The name, address, and telephone number of each witness;

25. The manufacturer's hull identification number, if any of the reporting operator's vessel; and

26. The name, address, and telephone number of the person submitting the report.

(e)When the operator of a vessel cannot submit the casualty or accident report required at (d) above, the owner of the vessel shall submit the casualty or accident report.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-3 (Rev. 2023) <u>Operational Regulations</u>

### 13:82-3.1 Waterskiing and wake surfing

(a) "Waterskiing" or "skiing" means a person being towed by a power vessel by means of a tow rope, tow line, or training boom. "Wake surfing" means a person being temporarily towed by a power vessel by means of a tow rope or tow line and releasing the tow line after using the vessel's wake as means of forward propulsion. For the purposes of this section, a wake surfer is considered being towed by the tow vessel after releasing the tow line or tow rope.

(b) All power vessels (including vessel, towline, and skier) conducting waterskiing operations, including wake surfing, shall, while underway, keep at least 200 feet distant from any wharf, marina, dock, pier, bridge structure, abutment, persons in the water, other vessels, any shore, approved aid to navigation, or mooring, except specifically provided otherwise in this chapter.

(c) All power vessels conducting waterskiing operations shall have a crew of at least two persons, one of whom shall be a competent observer, and shall have adequate space on the vessel for the waterskiing participant.

(d)Waterskiing tow lines shall be not less than 35 feet nor more than 85 feet in length, except as specifically provided otherwise in this chapter. Wake surfing tow lines shall be not less than eight feet in length.

(e) Waterskiing and wake surfing are permitted only between sunrise and sunset, except as specifically provided otherwise in this chapter.

(f) Waterskiers and wake surfers shall wear a United States Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device, except that a barefoot wetsuit may be worn during sanctioned competitions or shows and while training for such events, as long as there is a United States Coast Guard approved wearable personal flotation device on board the vessel for each skier.

(g) All ski boats shall display a signal pennant, which shall be orange in color and triangular in shape and not less than 12 inches on any dimension.

1. Said pennant shall be displayed at least four feet above the highest structure on the boat during each of the following activities:

i. While pulling or retrieving a skier or wake surfer;

ii. While a skier or wake surfer is in the water; or

iii. While a tow line is in the water.

2. A person shall not display the pennant at any time other than while conducting any of the activities described in this subsection.

(h) The Commission shall, upon application, waive any one or more of the above requirements for events of public entertainment on any wholly-owned private lake, provided that it finds the event to be

consistent with the interests of boating safety.

(i) Vessels utilized for the purposes of wake surfing shall be direct drive or v-drive type propulsion vessels, where the propeller does not extend aft of the transom of the tow vessel. Any vessel in which the means of propulsion extends rearward of the transom of the tow vessel, including, but not limited to, outboard, inboard outboard, and jet drive, shall not be utilized for wake surfing.

# 13:82-3.2 Beaver Dam Creek, Point Pleasant and Brick Town, Ocean County

No skiing shall be permitted in the north and south branches of Beaver Dam Creek west of Beaver Dam Road bridge.

# 13:82–3.3 Deal Lake, Monmouth County

(a) Water-skiing is permitted east of the Main Street bridge only.

(b) Skiing under Norwood Avenue bridge is prohibited.

(c) Tow lines shall not exceed 65 feet in length.

(d) Barefoot skiing, kite flying, parasailing and ski jumping are prohibited, except for specific exhibitions requiring a permit from the State of New Jersey.

# 13:82–3.4 Lake Grinnell, Sussex County

- (a) A maximum of two power vessels each towing a single skier shall be allowed on the ski course simultaneously.
- (b) The skiing course is established as follows:
  - 1. Commencing at a point approximately 100 feet south of Risse's point running in a counterclockwise direction.

2. Commencing at a point approximately 100 feet north of the northern shore of the island and continuing in a circle in a counterclockwise direction.

- 3. The course shall be identified by white styrofoam markers placed at approximately 200 foot intervals.
- 4. An orange flag will designate the starting point which will also be the finishing point.

(c)The tow line shall not exceed 65 feet in length.

(d) Vessels towing skiers shall proceed in counterclockwise pattern around the lake and the island, and in the narrow area behind the island the skier shall remain directly behind the vessel.

(e) Under no circumstances will skiing be permitted between the "island" and the Lehigh and Hudson

Railroad embankment.

(f)Skiing hours are as follows:

- 1. Weekdays—11:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M.;
- 2. Saturday, Sunday, and holidays-10:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M.; 2:00 P.M. to 5:00 P.M.

(g) Barefoot skiing, kite flying, para-sailing and ski-jumping are prohibited, except for specific exhibitions requiring a permit from the State of New Jersey as required by law.

(h) Vessels on the lake shall not exceed 15 feet in length and shall not exceed 40 total horsepower.

# 13:82–3.5 Indian Lake, Morris County

(a) Water-skiing is prohibited before 8:00 A.M. and after sunset.

(b) All water-ski riders shall start all operations and terminate all operations at a single designated point.

1. The designated point is to be within wading distance of shore in the area known as "Monkey Island."

2. This requirement is not to be interpreted as to prohibit normal pickup of a spilled water-skier.

(c) Seven red marker buoys are to be placed and maintained in a central location on the waters of Indian Lake, around which all vessels will proceed counterclockwise, keeping said buoys on the left.

(d) Barefoot skiing, kite flying, parasailing, and ski jumping are prohibited, except for specific exhibitions requiring a permit from the State of New Jersey, as required by law.

# 13:82–3.6 Paulinskill Lake, Sussex County

(a) Waterskiing shall be permitted on Paulinskill Lake only within the designated ski course as described below.

1. The skiing course shall have designated start and stop areas at both the eastern end of the lake and at the western end of the lake. Skiers shall have the option of starting and stopping in either of those areas. The western start and stop area shall be approximately 1,200 feet east of the most easterly corner of Beach No. 2. The eastern start and stop area shall be approximately 1,000 feet west of the County Road 622 bridge. There shall be two designated turning areas. The western end turning area shall be approximately 2,000 feet east of the most easterly corner of Beach No. 2. The eastern end turning area shall be approximately 2,000 feet east of the most easterly corner of Beach No. 2. The eastern end turning area shall be approximately 1,700 feet west of the County Road 622 bridge.

- 2. The ski course described at (a)1 above, including the start, stop, and turning areas, shall be identified by marker buoys.
- (b) Skiing hours are designated as follows:
  - 1. Weekdays—10:00 A.M. to sunset;
  - 2. Saturday, Sunday and holidays—12:00 Noon to sunset.

(c) A skier shall begin the course at the designated start area and continue on the right hand side of the center line in a counterclockwise direction. When a skier has completed the course, he or she shall finish in the designated stop area.

- (d) Turning shall be permitted only in the designated areas except when retrieving a fallen skier.
- (e) A boat with a skier just starting the course shall yield the right of way to a boat and skier turning to repeat the course.
- (f) A boat with a skier may continue around the ski course as many times as desired, turning in the designated areas.

(g) When more than one boat is on the ski course at the same time, each boat shall maintain a distance of at least 1,000 feet between itself and the boat in front of it.

(h) No boat shall pass a boat with a fallen skier unless signaled to do so by an occupant of that boat.

(i) The luminous painted barrel designating the starting and/or finishing point at the eastern or western boundary of the course and the luminous painted barrel designating the turning point at the western boundary of the course will be removed from the lake during the hours between sunset and sunrise. This requirement may be eliminated if a blinking amber light is mounted on the barrels.

(j)Barefoot skiing, kite flying, parasailing, and ski jumping are prohibited, except for specific practices, shows, and exhibitions.

(k) The use of the most easterly beach will be allowed as a take-off point and return point between the hours of 9:30 A.M. and 10:30 A.M. for a ski school or training class, as a practice area.

(1) The Commission shall, upon application, waive any one or more of the above requirements for specific shows, practices, and exhibitions, provided it finds the event to be consistent with the interest of boating safety.

### 13:82–3.7 Grover's Mill Pond, Mercer County

- (a)No power vessel powered by a motor in excess of 7 ½ horsepower, shall be operated on Grover's Mill Pond, Mercer County.
- (b) No power vessel shall be operated upon Grover's Mill Pond between the hours of 11:00 P.M. and 7:00 A.M.
- (c) No waterskiing shall be permitted on Grover's Mill Pond at any time.

### 13:82–3.8 Lake Mohawk, Sussex County

(a) No waterskiing shall be permitted in Tamarack Cove, Turtle Cove, Three Finger Cove or the South End Cove of the lake.

(b)No waterskiing shall be permitted to the west of Manitou Island north and south of Manitou Bridge, between Manitou Island and Echo Island, or in any other indicated slow speed/no wake area as defined

at N.J.A.C. 13:82-1.7(c).

(c) Power vessels shall not exceed slow speed/no wake from sunset to 7:30 A.M. anywhere on the lake.

(d) Power vessels shall not exceed slow speed/no wake in Tamarack Cove, Turtle Cove, Three Finger Cove, the west side of Manitou Island, or the South End Cove of the lake.

(e) Power vessels shall not exceed slow speed/no wake within 200 feet of any shore, wharf, pier, bridge structure, or abutment, dock, floating float of any kind, or floating swimming or diving platform, except for waterski practices, shows, and exhibitions with a waiver granted by the Boat Regulation Commission.

(f) Power boats shall not exceed a speed of 35 miles per hour between 7:30 A.M. and sunset, except for waterski practices, shows, and exhibitions with a waiver granted by the Boat Regulation Commission.

(g) All power vessels starting, landing, or towing ski or aquaplane riders shall keep at least 200 feet distance from any other craft, shore, wharf, pier, bridge structure or abutment, dock, floating or swimming platform, or person in or under the water, except for waterski practices, shows, and exhibitions with a waiver granted by the Boat Regulation Commission.

(h) Waterskiing or aquaplane or towing of skiers or aquaplanes shall be permitted only during the hours between 7:30 A.M. and sunset.

(i) Barefoot skiing, wake surfing, balloon skiing, kite skiing, the use of motor-operated or motor-towed skis, parachute skiing and para-sailing, and ski jumping are prohibited, except for waterski practices, shows, and exhibitions with a waiver granted by the Boat Regulation Commission.

### 13:82–3.9 South Branch of Kettle Creek, Ocean County

(a) No waterskiing shall be permitted in the south branch of Kettle Creek.

(b) Waterskiing is prohibited west of a line, if extended, from the easterly end of Queen Ann Road (Bay Harbor Estates), Brick Township, to 224 Kettle Creek Road (Lot 30, Block 254) in Dover Township.

### 13:82-3.10 Shrewsbury and Navesink Rivers and adjacent areas; tidal waters

(a) No waterskiing shall be permitted in the following waterway areas of Shrewsbury and Navesink Rivers and adjacent areas:

1. Between northern limit Buoys No. 10 and No. 11 at Highlands to Buoys No. 28 at Rumson; thence to Buoys No. 5 off Barley Point;

2. From Buoys No. 10 southerly through Monmouth Beach Channel and Cove;

3. From Buoys No. 28 through area between Gunning Island and Rumson including entire area of Oyster Bay of Pollys Pond.

# 13:82-3.11 Lake Hopatcong, Sussex and Morris Counties

(a) From May 15 through September 15 of each calendar year, no person shall waterski on Saturdays, Sundays or holidays between the hours of 11:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. in the following areas:

1. Byram Cove;

- 2. Between Raccoon Island and Prospect Point;
- 3. Between Prospect Point and Halsey Island;
- 4. Woodport Cove;
- 5. Between Halsey Island and Raccoon Island; and
- 6. Henderson Cove.

(b) No vessel shall pull more than two skiers at any one time on Saturdays, Sundays or holidays from May 15 through September 15 of any year except when participating in an exhibition or race sanctioned by the State Police or the Division of Parks and Forestry.

(c) The towing vessel shall not be loaded beyond the manufacturer's recommended capacity. For purposes of this subsection, the skier, or skiers, shall be included when determining the number of passengers in the vessel.

(d) While towing a skier, the operator of the vessel shall maintain a distance from any shore, structure, buoy, person in the water, vessel or other object, of not less than the length of the tow line plus 100 feet.

(e) The ski boat operator shall, when a skier has fallen, or has otherwise become disconnected from the tow line, reduce speed and return to the skier in a safe and reasonable manner.

(f) The dropping of skis for the purpose of barefoot or slalom skiing is prohibited, unless the ski is immediately retrieved by a following vessel.

(g)No vessel shall be operated upon Lake Hopatcong between the hours of sunset and sunrise at a speed in excess of 10 miles per hour.

(h)No vessel shall be operated upon Lake Hopatcong on Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays between May 15 and September 15 at a speed in excess of 30 miles per hour.

(i)No vessel shall be operated at a speed in excess of five miles per hour within 100 feet of shore, any wharf, pier, bridge, dock structure, buoy or person in the water or designated bathing area which is marked by buoys.

(j) No vessel shall be operated at such a speed that shall cause 100 percent of the hull to come out of the water. Operation of the vessel in such a manner shall constitute, without further proof, careless operation. An exception to this requirement shall be allowed for operation during authorized marine events for which a permit has been issued by the State Police pursuant to

N.J.A.C. 13:82–1.20 or the Division of Parks and Forestry, or with a valid race test permit issued by the State Police pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:82–4.6.

(k) When the water level reaches the Extreme High Water Level (Elevation 924.20 feet) or when the United States Geologic Survey gauge #01455400 in Hopatcong State Park reads 9.5, a "Slow Speed-No Wake" condition shall exist.

# 13:82-3.12 Budd Lake, Morris County

(a) The ski boat operator shall, when a skier has fallen or has otherwise become disconnected from the tow line, reduce speed and return to the skier in a safe and reasonable manner.

(b) The dropping of skis for the purpose of barefoot or slalom skiing is prohibited, unless the ski is immediately retrieved by a following vessel.

(c) No vessel shall be operated on Budd Lake on Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays between May 15 and September 15, at a speed in excess of 35 miles per hour, from sunrise to sunset.

(d)No vessel shall be operated on Budd Lake between the hours of sunset and sunrise at a speed in excess of 15 miles per hour.

(e) Any applicant for a permit from the State Police for a race or regatta shall submit an application to the Township Clerk, who shall then submit such application to the State Police with any comments or recommendations from the Township.

(f) No vessel shall be operated at such a speed that shall cause 100 percent of the hull to come out of the water, except in the case of a race or regatta, where permitted by the rules of such race or regatta.

(g) No vessel shall be operated at a speed in excess of five miles per hour within 50 feet of any shore, wharf, pier, bridge, dock structure, buoy, or person in the water or designated bathing areas which are marked by buoys.

(h) A distance of at least 30 feet shall be maintained between all vessels operating at speeds in excess of five miles per hour.

(i) No person shall operate a personal watercraft on Budd Lake on Saturdays, Sundays or legal holidays between May 15 and September 15.

# 13:82-3.13 Operation on Greenwood Lake

(a) A person shall not operate a vessel on Greenwood Lake, Passaic County, in such a way as to unreasonably interfere with or endanger any other vessel or person. Every vessel operated on Greenwood Lake shall be operated in a careful and prudent manner.

(b) A vessel shall not be operated upon Greenwood Lake at a speed exceeding 45 miles per hour.

(c) A vessel shall not be operated upon Greenwood Lake at a speed exceeding 15 miles per hour between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise.

(d) A vessel shall not be operated upon Greenwood Lake within 200 feet of shore, a dock, pier, raft or float, or an anchored or moored vessel at a speed exceeding five miles per hour.

(e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any vessel or to any person operating a vessel while actually competing in an authorized race or regatta.

# 13:82-3.14 Operation on Cranberry Lake

(a) Subject to the restrictions imposed at (b) below, vessels operating on Cranberry Lake shall not exceed a speed of 25 miles per hour.

(b) No person shall operate a vessel at a speed in excess of five miles per hour between sunset and sunrise or at any time in the following areas:

1. In front of the clubhouse and extending north of the bridge into Laurel Cove;

2. Between Rose's Beach and Rock Island;

3. In Weaver House Cove;

4. Within 100 feet of any shore, any wharf, pier, bridge, dock structure, buoy or person in the water or designated bathing area which is marked by buoys.

(c) Any person swimming or using a raft, tube or other floatation device shall be accompanied by a boat escort unless such person is not more than 75 feet from the shore or is in an area in which vessel speed is limited to five miles per hour.

# 13:82–3.15 Seven Presidents Park, Long Branch, Monmouth County

(a) Between Memorial Day weekend and Labor Day, no person shall operate a personal watercraft, power vessel or any other type of vessel (hereinafter referred to as watercraft) on waters within the boundaries of Seven Presidents Oceanfront Park designated as bathing, surfing, or boogie board use areas. Those watercraft entering and exiting the ocean shall utilize the boat launch area and watercraft access lane as designated on site, and shall maintain a speed no faster than that which is necessary to safely navigate the surf until clear of the watercraft access area. The riding of waves by personal watercraft within the watercraft access lane is prohibited.

(b) After Labor Day and before Memorial Day weekend, personal watercraft may utilize the boat launch area to ride waves, except as provided at N.J.S.A. 12:7–63. Power vessels shall give right of way to sailboats when required by the International Steering and Navigation Rules, Rule 18. A copy of the rule may be obtained from the State Police.

(c) The boat launch area is defined by two jetties: the northern jetty is 900 feet south of the park's northern boundary and contains a storm drain outfall; the southern jetty is located approximately 1,300 feet south of the park's northern boundary.

# 13:82–3.16 Upper Greenwood Lake

(a) No waterskiing is permitted around Blueberry Island, Carters Island and Snake Island at the northeast end of the lake or in the Mount Laurel section cove in the southeast section of the lake.

(b) Personal watercraft are prohibited from the Mount Laurel section cove in the southeast section of the lake.

(c) All vessels shall maintain slow speed no wake around Blueberry Island, Carters Island and Snake Island at the northeast end of the lake, and in the Mount Laurel section cove in the southeast section of

the lake.

(d) No vessel shall be operated on Upper Greenwood Lake on Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays at a speed in excess of 30 miles per hour. Between sunset and sunrise, no vessel shall be operated at a speed in excess of 10 miles per hour.

## 13:82-3.17 Diving and swimming

(a) General provisions with respect to diving and swimming are as follows:

1. Underwater diving with or without an underwater apparatus is permitted in all navigable waters in New Jersey unless otherwise prohibited in this section;

2. Any person while diving shall mark his or her position with a buoyed flag:

i. Such flag shall be displayed so that it is visible all around the horizon from a buoy, float, boat or other floating object; and

ii. Such flag shall be a minimum of 14 inches by 16 inches, shall be rigid to enhance visibility and shall be a red background with a white diagonal stripe running from one corner to the other;

3. No person shall operate a vessel within 50 feet of the buoyed flag;

4. No person shall display a flag at times other than when diving is in progress;

5. No person shall swim or dive in a narrow, confined or improved channel or in a marked fairway, under a bridge, or impede, obstruct or interfere with passage of watercraft therein; and

6. No diver shall surface more than 25 feet from the buoyed flag except in an emergency.

(b)Provisions for Manasquan Inlet are as follows:

1. Underwater diving shall be permitted in the Manasquan Inlet only within 50 feet from the stone jetties and bulkheads; and

2. Underwater diving is permitted only in the area east of an imaginary line drawn from Ocean Avenue, Point Pleasant Beach, extended to a point across the inlet at First Avenue, Manasquan.

(c) Provisions for Barnegat Inlet are as follows:

1. Except as provided in this subsection, no person or persons shall, while engaged in gogglefishing, spearfishing or skin diving, enter into any navigable channel or approach within 200 feet of any boat anchored or underway within the water adjacent to the land areas of the Borough of Barnegat Light;

2. No person shall dive in any of the waters of the Barnegat Inlet channel;

3. Skin and Scuba diving is permitted from the north and south jetties, but no person shall dive further than 25 feet from the rock jetty or bulkhead within the in-let;

4. No person shall dive within Barnegat Inlet between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. on Saturdays and Sundays from June 1 to September 30;

5. A diver shall mark his or her position with a float and skin diver's flag as provided at (a) above;

6. Only "buddy diving" shall be permitted in the Barnegat Inlet;

7. Recreational diving is prohibited within 100 feet of the north monument; and

8. Recreational diving is prohibited within the inlet when the current is at flood.

(d)Provisions for Shark River Inlet are as follows:

1. Underwater diving is permitted in the Shark River Inlet in that area which lies east of a line extending from the northwest end of A Street in Belmar to the southeast end of First Avenue in Avon;

2. Divers shall stay within 25 feet of the jetties and bulkheads in the area described;

3. A diver shall mark his or her position with a float and skin diver's flag as provided at (a) above;

4. No diver shall surface more than 15 feet from the buoyed flag except in an emergency; and

5. No underwater diving shall be permitted in Shark River Inlet between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 5:30 P.M. during the period each year commencing May 1 terminating October 1.

# 13:82-3.18 Mandatory wearing of personal flotation device (PFD) on Round

### Valley Reservoir

All persons on board vessels under 14 feet in length or a canoe, kayak, inflatable, or windsurfer, regardless of power, while on Round Valley Reservoir shall wear a serviceable United States Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device (PFD).

# 13:82–3.19 Patcong Creek, Atlantic County

Waterskiing is prohibited on Patcong Creek along its entire length north of the Somers Point—Mays Landing (County Route 559) Bridge.

# 13:82–3.20 Mullica River, Atlantic and Burlington Counties

Waterskiing is prohibited on the upper section of the Mullica River west of the Lower Bank (County Route 652) Bridge.

# 13:82-3.21 Point Pleasant Canal, Ocean County

No person shall operate a canoe, kayak, rowboat or other non-motorized vessel in the confines of the Point Pleasant Canal, except in an emergency.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-4 (Rev. 2020) Power Vessel Noise Control

### 13:82-4.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Person" means any corporation, company, association, society, firm, partnership and joint stock company, as well as individuals, and shall include the State and all its political subdivisions and any agencies and instrumentalities thereof.

"Vessel" means a boat or watercraft other than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on the water.

### 13:82-4.2 Noise limitation provisions

(a) No person shall operate or give permission for the operation of any vessel or watercraft capable of emitting noise totaling in excess of 90 dba in or upon the waters of this State.

(b) Measurements shall be made by a sound level meter which satisfies ANSI-S 1.4, type 2, or equivalent, and is certified by the Department of Environmental Protection, Office of Noise Control, with reference, as applicable, to standards of the New Jersey Office of Weights and Measures or the National Institute of Science and Technology or both, or by other competent authority designated by the Office of Noise Control.

(c) The noise emission test measurement shall be made with the sound level meter at a distance of not less than four feet above the water at a point where the transom gunwale and port or starboard gunwale intersects. The vessel being tested shall operate its engine at the lowest throttle setting in neutral gear. In the case of a vessel with multiple engines, said engines shall operate together at the lowest throttle setting in neutral gear shall operate at the lowest throttle setting in neutral gear shall operate at the lowest throttle setting with minimum or no headway motion.

(d) Any member of the State Police or other law enforcement officer certified by the Office of Noise Control with a reason to suspect that a vessel is exceeding the noise limitation may require the operator to submit to a noise emissions test as described at (b) and (c) above.

(e) Any person who fails to comply with the directive to submit to a noise emissions test shall be ordered to immediately return the vessel to its mooring and cease operations and shall be subject to the penalty for violation of those regulations.

(f) The noise limitation provisions of this section shall not apply to vessels registered and actually participating in racing events or tune-up periods for such racing events, when authorized by the State Police or by any other public authority with the approval of the State Police. Tune-up periods approved pursuant to this section shall be limited as follows:

1. Before any race boat is tested, the driver shall secure a Race Test Permit from the State Police.

2. Before the permit is issued, the applicant shall submit a statement which shall include the following:

i. The name and address of the driver;

ii. The type and a description of the boat;

iii. The area of the test;

iv. The name and address of the boat's owner;

v. The date and location of the next race in which the operator will compete; and

vi. Any other information deemed necessary by the State Police.

3. From May 15 through October 1, there shall be no race tests permitted on Saturday, Sunday or holiday.

4. All race tests shall be conducted between the hours of 10:00 A.M. and sunset.

5. All race tests shall be limited to a total test period of 20 minutes on the water.

6. There shall be a maximum five race tests in any seven day period.

7. No driver shall be permitted more than five race tests in any seven day period.

8. No boat shall be tested more than five times in any seven day period.

9. The provisions at (f)3, 6, 7, and 8 above shall not apply on a body of water in the three-day period immediately preceding a race on that body of water. Subject to such restrictions as may be imposed by the U.S. Coast Guard or the State Police, testing on days of sanctioned races may begin two hours before the start of the first race.

10. The State Police may deny or cancel any permit issued by the State Police for the reasons of boat traffic, poor weather, confined area, or other valid reason.

# 13:82–4.3 Muffling device

Every outboard motor, inboard motor or inboard/outboard motor in use or attached to a vessel operating on the waters of this State shall be equipped with a muffling system as supplied by the manufacturer or installed by the owner. The muffling system shall be maintained in good working order at all times. An exception to this requirement will be allowed for operation during authorized races sanctioned by the United States Coast Guard, the State Police, or operation with a race test permit.

# 13:82-4.4 Use of cutouts

(a) The use of cutouts, removal of mufflers, or cutting or punching holes in mufflers is prohibited.

(b) Mufflers may be removed and cutouts opened only where such boats are actually engaged in a lawfully conducted race or during such tuning-up period as the permitting authority may assign thereto.

# 13:82-4.5 Owner's permission

No person shall operate or tamper with any vessel or its motor without the owner's permission.

### 13:82-4.6 Racing events

(a) Every incorporated yacht club or racing association, before holding or conducting races or regattas, whether for inboard or outboard motors, or both, shall first secure a permit to hold such races from the State Police.

(b) Application for such permit shall be made in writing to the State Police at least 45 days prior to the race or regatta, and no such race or regatta shall be conducted unless a permit has been received.

(c) Any such permit shall include such requirements as will tend to ensure the safety of those competing and the safety of other craft, during such regatta or race, including the tuning-up period before, as shall be prescribed by the State Police. All boats not competing, except official boats, shall remain anchored during the running of the events of the race or regatta.

> NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-5 (Rev. 2023) <u>Personal Watercrafts</u>

### 13:82-5.1 Scope

Operations of personal watercraft on the waters of the State shall be in accordance with the provisions of P.L. 1993, c.299 (N.J.S.A. 12:7–62 et seq.), section 18 of P.L. 1995, c.401 (N.J.S.A. 12:7–86) and rules promulgated thereunder by the Superintendent of State Police at N.J.A.C. 13:64.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-6 (Rev. 2020) <u>Parasailing</u>

### 13:82-6.1 Scope

Parasailing, as defined at N.J.A.C. 13:82–6.2, is permitted on the waters of the State, except where prohibited by this chapter or by local ordinance.

# 13:82-6.2 Definition of parasailing

"Parasailing" means a person towed by a power vessel by means of a tow rope where the rider ascends into the air by the towline extended from the vessel and remains suspended in the air as the vessel runs its course.

# 13:82-6.3 Operation and equipment

(a) Vessels and equipment engaged in parasailing operations must be designed by the manufacturer for parasailing. Vessels shall be equipped with a rear launch platform and hydraulic winch used to release the towline.

(b) All commercial parasail operators shall possess the appropriate license for carrying passengers for hire issued by the United States Coast Guard.

(c) All parasailing operations shall include an observer 18 years of age or older at all times to monitor the progress of the airborne parasail rider and parachute.

(d) All parasail riders shall wear a United States Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device of the proper size and must be connected to the towline and secured in a seat harness attached to an ascending type of parachute.

(e) Parasailing conducted in the Atlantic Ocean shall be restricted to not less than three-eighths nautical mile from the shore. This restriction applies to the entire parasailing apparatus, including vessel, tow line and rider.

(f) Parasailing operations are prohibited within 600 feet of a bridge span, bridge supports, barriers, or persons in the water.

1. Parasail operators shall not intentionally conduct operations within 600 feet of other vessels. Vessels not engaged in parasailing operations shall not approach within 600 feet of vessels conducting parasail operations.

(g) Parasailing shall be prohibited on bodies of water less than 1200 feet in width from shore to shore.

(h)All parasail towing vessels shall be equipped with a marine VHF radio and equipment capable of monitoring local weather channels and channel 16 simultaneously.

(i) Parasailing shall only be conducted from one-half hour after sunrise to one-half hour before sunset, and at no time during restricted visibility.

(j) Parasailing is prohibited when any of the following conditions are present in the area of operation:

- 1. Sustained winds of 20 miles per hour (17.5 knots);
- 2. Seas five feet or higher;
- 3. Excessive or dangerous wind gusts;
- 4. The vessel is not capable of making forward way with forward winch engagement and passenger(s) in tow; or
- 5. Passenger(s) in tow will not begin to sufficiently descend when forward way has been paused.

(k) Tow lines shall not exceed 800 feet in length. The tow line deployed while conducting parasail flight operations shall not exceed 500 feet from the vessel to the canopy yoke.

(l) Parasail operators shall inspect the tow line, winch, and other parasail equipment daily and shall trim two feet from the end of the towline that connects the parasail rider to the parasail vessel as needed, but at least every seven days or 400 flights, whichever is sooner.

(m) Parasail operators shall maintain a parasail log on the vessel to document inspections and maintenance of the tow line, including trimming, as required at (l) above, winch, and other parasail equipment.

(n) The maximum passenger payload shall not exceed the manufacturer's specifications for the canopy and equipment. At no time shall more than three participants be allowed in any canopy. All parasail vessels shall be equipped with a means of extracting passengers and crew from the water.

(o) Parasail operators shall:

1. Yield right of way to all aircraft;

- 2. Maintain a safe distance from all aircraft and/or banners of no less than 500 feet; and
- 3. Not assume that any aircraft is aware of the parasail vessel's position.

(p) Individuals intending to engage in parasailing shall notify the State Police station nearest the area of operation 24 hours in advance. Commercial operators shall notify the State Police at least 10 days in advance of the commencement of annual operations.

(q) Parasail operators shall only launch and land riders from the flight deck of the vessels.

(r)Advertisement banner flying during parasailing operations is prohibited.

(s) The Commission shall, upon application, waive any one or more of the above requirements for events of public entertainment on any wholly-owned private lake, provided that it finds the event to be consistent with the interests of boating safety.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-7 (Rev. 2020) Motor Vehicles on Ice-Covered Waters

### 13:82-7.1 Scope

The following rules in this subchapter shall govern the operation of motor vehicles on ice-covered waters of New Jersey.

### 13:82–7.2 Definitions

The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"All-terrain vehicle" means a motor vehicle, designed to travel over all terrain, of a type possessing between three and six rubber tires and powered by a gasoline engine not exceeding 400 cubic centimeters, but shall not include golfcarts.

"Snowmobile" means any motor vehicle designed primarily to travel over ice or snow, of a type which uses sled-type runners, skis, and endless belt, tread, cleats, or any combination of those or other similar means of contact with the surface upon which is operated, but does not include any farm tractor, highway or other construction equipment or any military vehicle.

# 13:82-7.3 Prohibited operation

No person shall operate a motor vehicle, other than a snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle, upon the icecovered waters of this State at any time. Operators and passengers on a snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle shall wear a Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device while on ice-covered waters.

### 13:82–7.4 Violations

Violations of this subchapter shall be subject to penalties as provided by N.J.S.A. 12:7–51.

# NJ Administrative Code Title 13:82-8 (Rev. 2020) Registration and Licensing

### 13:82-8.1 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Chief Administrator" means Chief Administrator of the Motor

Vehicle Commission.

"Commission" means the Motor Vehicle Commission.

"Register," "registration" and "registration certificate" as used in this subchapter are the equivalent of the terms "number," "numbering" and "certificate of number" which are used in the amended "New Jersey Boat Act of 1962" which is found at N.J.S.A. 12:7–34.36 et seq.

### 13:82-8.2 Numbering pattern

- (a) The following numbering pattern for boats pursuant to the New Jersey numbering pattern is hereby established:
  - 1. The identification numbers awarded under the State system shall consist of three parts:

i. The first part shall consist of the letters NJ indicating this State;

ii. The second part shall consist of not more than four Arabic numerals;

iii. The third part shall consist of not more than two letters.

2. The parts shall be separated by a hyphen or an equivalent space (as examples: NJ–1234–AA, NJ 9999 ZZ.

3. Since the letters "I," "O," and "Q" may be mistaken for numerals, they shall not be used in the suffix.

### 13:82-8.3 Display of numbers on vessels

(a) The identification number awarded to any vessel pursuant to the New Jersey numbering system shall be displayed thereon by being:

1. Painted on, or attached to, each side of the bow (that is, the forward half) of the vessel; reading from left to right; and in such position as to provide maximum visibility;

2. In block characters of good proportion not less than three inches in height; and

3. Of a color which will contrast with the color of the background (that is, dark numbers on a light background, or light numbers on a dark background) and so maintained as to be clearly visible and legible.

(b)No other number shall be carried on the bow of the vessel.

(c) This section does not apply to the following:

1. A vessel for which a valid temporary certificate has been issued to its owner by the issuing authority in the state in which the vessel is principally used; and

2. A vessel documented in accordance with Part 67 of Title 46, Code of Federal Regulations.

### 13:82–8.4 Application for number

(a) The application for a number shall include the following information:

- 1. The legal name and address of the owner including zip code;
- 2. The driver license number or corpcode;
- 3. The citizenship of owner;
- 4. The date of birth of owner;

5. The type of application (new number, initial number, renewal of number, transfer of ownership, duplicate registration, duplicate decal and so forth);

- 6. The owner's eye color, height and weight;
- 7. The previous number, if any;
- 8. The hull material (wood, steel, aluminum, fiberglass, other);
- 9. The hull identification number, if any;
- 10. The type of boat (open, cabin, houseboat, sail, auxiliary, canoe, other);
- 11. The type of propulsion (outboard, inboard, sail, inboard/outboard, electric, other);
- 12. The type of fuel (gas, diesel, other);
- 13. The make, model and year;
- 14. The length, measured from end to end over the deck excluding sheer;
- 15. The state of principal use;
- 16. The type of use (livery, commercial or pleasure);
- 17. A statement of ownership by applicant; and
- 18. The signature of the owner or owners.

#### 13:82–8.5 Registration certificate

(a) The registration certificate shall include the following:

- 1. The legal name and address of owner;
- 2. The number issued;
- 3. The driver license number or corpcode;
- 4. The expiration date;

5. The state of principal use;
6. The type of use;
7. The hull identification number;
8. The make and year of vessel;
9. The model or type of vessel;
10. The hull material (wood, steel, aluminum, fiberglass, other);
11. The length of vessel;
12. The propulsion (inboard, outboard, sail, inboard/outboard, electric, other); and
13. The fuel (diesel, gasoline or other).

# 13:82-8.6 Duplicate registration certificates

- (a) The fee for the issuance of a duplicate registration certificate for a vessel shall be \$ 5.00.
- (b) The fee for new registration certificates in transfer of ownership shall be in accordance with the annual fees established by N.J.S.A. 12:7–34.47.

# 13:82-8.7 Transfer of registration certificates

All requests for transfer of ownership shall be accompanied by a registration application form, the original registration certificate issued by the Coast Guard or the State of New Jersey and the certificate of title for those vessels which are required to be titled. If the original registration certificate does not accompany the request, a statement as to the disposition of the original registration certificate shall be written on the reverse side of the registration application form.

# 13:82-8.8 Registration certificate; livery vessels

The registration certificate for vessels less than 26 feet in length and leased or rented to another for the latter's noncommercial use of less than 24 hours may be retained on shore by the vessel's owner or his or her representative at the place from which the vessel departs or returns to the possession of the owner or his representative.

# 13:82-8.9 Operation of vessel; certificate

(a) Except for vessels that are not required to be numbered pursuant to the New Jersey Boat Act of 1962 as amended, no person shall operate or use a vessel upon the waters of the State unless such vessel has on board:

1. A valid registration certificate or temporary registration certificate for that vessel; or

2. A copy of the lease or rental agreement, signed by the owner or his or her authorized representative and by the person leasing or renting the vessel, which agreement contains at least:

i. The vessel number that appears on the registration certificate; and

ii. The period of time for which the vessel is leased or rented.

(b) In addition to any other requirement, whenever a vessel is in operation, the registration certificate, lease or rental agreement shall be presented to any Federal, State or local law enforcement officer at his or her request.

(c) No person shall use or operate a vessel to which this section applies unless the required registration certificate or rental agreement is carried on board in such a manner that it can be handed to the inspecting person.

# 13:82-8.10 Registration certificate; validity

(a) In addition to any other provision, specifically N.J.A.C. 13:82–8.9, a registration certificate is invalid after the date upon which:

1. The person whose name appears on the registration certificate as owner of the vessel sells or transfers all of his or her ownership in the vessel, involuntarily loses his or her interest in the registered vessel by legal process or in any way disposes of the vessel;

2. The vessel is lost, destroyed or abandoned; or

3. The fees for the issuance or renewal of the certificate of number are notpaid.

(b) A registration certificate is invalid 60 days after the day on which the vessel is no longer principally used in the State where the registration certificate was issued as required by Title 33 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

# 13:82-8.11 Notification required

(a) In addition to any other requirement, a person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel on a registration certificate shall within seven days notify the Commission in writing of:

1. Any change in address from that shown on his registration certificate;

2. The theft or recovery of the vessel;

3. The loss or destruction of a valid registration certificate; or

4. Any condition which would invalidate the registration certificate.

(b) A person whose name appears as the owner of a vessel on a registration certificate shall within two weeks notify the Commission of a change in name due to marriage, divorce or by order of court.

# 13:82-8.12 Removal of numbers; removal of validation sticker

(a) The person whose name appears on a registration certificate as the owner of a vessel shall remove the registration number and validation sticker from the vessel when:

1. The vessel is no longer principally used in the State where the registration certificate was issued; or

2. The registration certificate becomes invalid because the application for the registration certificate contains a false or fraudulent statement.

- (b) The validation sticker shall be removed upon completion of a sale or transfer transaction whichever is sooner.
- (c) Expired validation stickers shall be removed.
- (d) When a vessel is documented pursuant to Part 67 of Title 46, Code of Federal Regulations, the owner shall:
  - 1. Remove the registration number and validation sticker from each side of the bow or the forward half of the vessel; and

2. Conform to the provisions of N.J.A.C. 13:82–8.13, Display of validation sticker and fee for duplicate, where the vessel is subject to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 12:7–34.44a, Documented Vessels under 500 gross tons based in this State.

### 13:82-8.13 Display of validation sticker and fee for duplicate

(a) Every vessel on the waters of this State required to be registered shall display validation stickers to indicate the year of expiration of its registration. The validation stickers shall be displayed on each side of the vessel, three inches behind the State registration number assigned to the vessel, except for documented vessels.

(b) Those vessels documented pursuant to Part 67 of Title 46, Code of Federal Regulations and required to register with this State pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7–34.44a shall display a validation sticker on each side of the vessel in an area adjacent to the main steering station affixed to a vertical surface plainly visible at all times from both the port and starboard sides.

(c) The fee for the issuance of a duplicate validation sticker shall be \$ 5.00.

# 13:82–8.14 Registration of manufacturers' and dealers' boats

(a) Registration requirements of this section shall apply to boats operated by manufacturers and dealers.

(b) The description of the boat will be omitted from the registration certificate since the numbers and the registration certificate awarded may be transferred from one boat to another. In lieu of the description, the word "manufacturer" or "dealer," as appropriate will be plainly marked on each registration certificate.

(c) The manufacturer or dealer may have the registration number awarded printed upon or attached to a removable sign or signs to be temporarily but firmly mounted upon or attached to the boat being demonstrated or tested so long as the display meets the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:82–8.3.

### 13:82–8.15 Registration of livery boats

(a) Registration requirements of this section shall apply to boats operated by livery and other rental agents.

(b)The word "livery" shall be plainly marked on each registration certificate.

(c) The livery or rental agent may have the number awarded printed upon or attached to a removable sign or signs to be temporarily but firmly mounted upon or attached to the boat being rented so long as the display meets the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:82-8.3.

### 13:82–8.16 Misstatements

(a) No person shall make any misstatement of fact in an application for a registration number or an operator's license, or give a fictitious name or address.

(b) The Commission shall, upon presentation of evidence of any such misstatement, or the giving of a fictitious name or address, or of the conviction therefor, revoke the registration of the power vessel, or the operator's license as the case may be.

### 13:82–8.17 Change in address; name

Every licensed operator of a power vessel or motor shall notify the Commission within two weeks of a change in name due to marriage, divorce or court order.

# 13:82-8.18 Renewal of registration

(a) Any person, corporation or firm, applying for the renewal of a registration after six months have elapsed beyond the renewal date, may be assigned a new expiration date, 12 months from the current date.

(b) Failure to receive a renewal notice does not excuse the owner from the requirement of renewing the number on or before the expiration date shown on the registration certificate.

# 13:82-8.19 Fee for duplicate operator license

The fee for issuance of a duplicate digitized boat operator license shall be \$ 11.00.

# 13:82-8.20 Operator license; proof of age and identity; expiration

(a) Each applicant for a boat operator license shall be required to furnish to the Commission, upon request, proof of identity and date of birth and proof that the applicant's presence in the United States is authorized pursuant to Federal law. Such proof may be established by submission of the original or certified (by the issuing authority) copy of the primary and/or secondary documents that are listed at (b) below as follows:

1. Each applicant must produce documents which total at least six points.

- 2. Each applicant must present at least one primary document.
- 3. Each applicant must present at least one secondary document.

4. An applicant shall not submit more than two documents with a point value of one.

5. If discrepancies exist within or between documents submitted by an applicant, the Commission may require that the applicant submit additional documentation.

6. The Commission shall refuse to grant any permit or license if the Commission has reasonable cause to believe that a document is altered, false, or otherwise invalid.

7. An applicant who is not a United States citizen must also submit proof of continued legal presence in the United States evidenced by a document listed at (b)1ii below or by a document issued by the United States Department of Homeland Security or another Federal agency that establishes the applicant's lawful presence in the United States as of the time the proof is presented.

8. For persons who, for reasons beyond their control, are unable to present all necessary documents and must rely on alternate documents to establish identity or date of birth, Commission-authorized personnel may review, approve, or accept other documentation that proves the applicant's identity and date of birth, and that the applicant's presence in the United States is authorized pursuant to Federal law.

9. The identity of the applicant shall be deemed to be the name recorded on the document(s)

submitted to the Commission pursuant to this section unless evidence of a different name is established by the submission of a civil marriage or civil union certificate, divorce decree, or order of the court.

10. The Commission reserves the right to make changes to the list of acceptable documents found at
(b) below. Such changes will be posted on the Motor Vehicle Commission's website,
<u>www.njmvc.gov</u>, and will be available at all motor vehicle agencies.

(b) The following are acceptable documents:

1. Primary documents:

i. A United States citizen must submit at least one document from the following list:

Document	Value
United States or United States Territory birth certificate or certified copy with a State Office of Vital Statistics or equivalent agency in the individual's state of birth	4
United States Department of State birth certificate (Form FS-545 or DS-1350)	4
United States Department of State Consular Report of Birth Abroad (Form FS-240)	4
United States adoption papers	4
United States passport (current or expired less than three years)	4
New Jersey digitized driver or boat operator license (current or expired less than three years)	4
Valid New Jersey non-driver digitized identification card	4
Valid United States military photo identification card	4

Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560, N-561 or N-645)	4
Probationary license with digitized image	4
ii. A person who is not a United States citizen must submit at least one documen following list to establish lawful presence in the United States:	t from the
Document	Value
Current Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) with expiration date and with United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) verification	4
Foreign passports with USCIS verification and with valid record of arrival/departure (Form I-94) or valid I-551 stamp in passport	4
Refugee Travel Document (Form I–571)	4
United States Re-entry Permit (Form I-327)	4
Valid I-94 stamped "Refugee," "Parolee," "Asylee" or "Notice of Action" (Form I-797 approved petition) by USCIS	4
Valid I-94 with attached photo stamped "Processed for I-551" by USCIS	4
Current photo employment authorization card (Form I-688B or I-766) (must be presented with a valid Social Security card)	3
Current Alien Registration Card (Form I-551) without expiration date and with USCIS verification	2
Photo Temporary Resident Card (Form I–688)	2

4

Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550, N-570 or N-578)

2. Secondary documents:

i. United States citizens and persons who are not United States citizens must submit at least one document from the list below.

Document	Value
Valid New Jersey digitized driver or boat operator license (a secondary document for non-United States citizens only)	4
Probationary license with digitized image (a secondary document for non-United States citizens only)	4
Legal name change court order signed by a judge or court clerk	3
Civil marriage or civil union certificate or divorce decree	3
Current United States military dependent card	3
United States military photo retiree card	3
New Jersey firearm purchaser card	3
Valid United States government employee driver license	2
Valid United States government employee photo identification card	2
United States military discharge papers (DD214)	2
Federal Aviation Administration pilot license	2
United States school photo identification card with transcript or school records	2
United States college photo identification card with transcript	2
Current photo driver license of any other state of the United States including the District of Columbia	1
Property tax statement, bill or receipt issued by a New Jersey municipality	1
State professional license	1

New Jersey public assistance card with photo	1
Social Security card with Social Security Administration (SSA) verification	1
High school diploma or GED (general equivalency diploma)	1
Bank statement/record (cannot be submitted in conjunction with ATM card)	1
ATM (automated teller machine) card with preprinted name and applicant's signature (cannot be submitted in conjunction with bank statement)	1
Current health insurance card or current prescription card	1
Current employee identification card accompanied by a printed pay stub	1
High school certificate (written test waiver)	1
Veteran's Administration universal access photo identification card	1

(c) Each applicant must present for inspection an acceptable proof of address document which may be, but is not limited to, the following:

1. A utility or credit card bill displaying applicant's name at current address, issued within last 90 days;

2. A property tax bill or receipt within last year;

3. Any letter or correspondence (including tax bills) received from the Federal Internal Revenue Service or any state tax office within the past year;

4. A high school or college report card or transcript within past two years (must contain address);

5. An original lease or rental agreement with the name of the applicant listed as the lessee or renter;

6. First class mail from any government agency within six months, including a Commission-issued driver or boat license renewal form;

7. A checking or savings account statement (bank or credit union) dated within the last 60 days; or

8. A certification, verifying the address of an applicant under 18 years of age who does not have his or her own proof of address verification, from a parent or guardian.

(d) Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-9b, victims of domestic violence and other specified crimes, and those the Chief Administrator determines to have good cause may show a mailing address on documents in this list

as a post office box, an address other than the applicant's address, or other contact point as acceptable proof of principal residence.

(e) In addition to the documentation at (b) above, a parent or guardian must consent to the granting of a boat operator license for any applicant who is under 17 years of age.

(f) A boat operator license that is an endorsement on a basic driver license shall have the same expiration date as the basic driver license.

(g) All boat-only operator licenses shall expire four years from the last day of the month in which the license was originally issued and, thereafter, every four years.

(h) Commission staff members are authorized to scan all applications presented or accepted toward satisfying document requirements. All scanned images will be retained electronically in accordance with N.J.S.A. 47:3-15 et seq., and N.J.A.C. 15:3-2.1 through 2.7 and 4.1 through 4.11.

# 13:82-8.21 General provisions; hull identification numbers

(a) Any vessel offered for sale in New Jersey must have a hull identification number assigned to it. The number assigned to said vessel shall be in the form approved by the United States Coast Guard.

(b)Registration numbers shall not be issued to any vessel that does not comply with the above requirement.

(c) Vessels which are homemade or for other reasons that do not have a hull identification number assigned to them by their builders shall be assigned a number by the Commission once the Commission receives satisfactory proof on a form approved by the Chief Administrator that they have been examined by the State Police. The series used by the Commission shall be composed of three parts. The first section shall be NJZ-followed by a second section composed of a five digit number commencing with 00001; the third section shall consist of the word "HULL." An example of a hull identification number is as follows: NJZ–00001 HULL.

(d) The hull identification number must be carved, burned, stamped, embossed or otherwise permanently affixed to the outboard side of the transom or, if there is no transom, to the outermost starboard side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or other steering mechanism, above the waterline of the boat in such a way that alteration, removal or replacement would be obvious and evident.

(e) The character of the hull identification number must be no less than 1/4 of an inch in height.

# 13:82–9.1 Certificate of ownership fees

(a) The fee collected by the Commission for issuing a certificate of ownership in the case of a sale not subject to a security interest pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-12a shall be \$ 60.00.

(b) The fee collected by the Commission for issuing a certificate of ownership and copy thereof in the case of a sale subject to a security interest pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-12b shall be \$ 60.00.

(c) The fee collected by the Commission for a certificate of ownership, upon the filing with the Chief Administrator of a certificate of ownership together with a financing statement, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-12c shall be \$ 60.00.

(d) The fee collected by the Commission for a notice of satisfaction of a lien or encumbrance of record or abstract, or termination of a security interest pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-12f shall be \$ 25.00.

(e) The penalty collected by the Commission from a purchaser who fails to comply with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 12:7A–12g shall be \$ 25.00.

- (f) The fee collected by the Commission for issuing a duplicate certificate of ownership pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-13 shall be \$ 60.00.
- (g) The fees collected by the Commission for providing copies of documents pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-15 shall be as follows:
  - 1. Lien search, \$ 15.00.
  - 2. Chain of title, \$ 15.00.

(h) The fee collected by the Commission for issuing a corrected certificate of ownership pursuant to N.J.S.A. 12:7A-18 shall be \$ 60.00.