PROPOSALS

[(®)] (a) The following concern the calibration check[,infrared
analysis and electrochemical analysis] of approved instruments:

1. All approved instruments [which] that employ the infrared analysis
and electrochemical analysis approved method of chemical breath
testing, as set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:51-3.5(a)l or 2, when used in this
State in connection with taking of breath samples under the provisions of
NJ.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b), 39:3-[10.24b]10.24.b or 12:7-[55b]55.b, or in
connection with the prosecution of a person pursuant to the provisions of
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 et seq., 39:3-10.13, 39:3-10.20, 39:3-10.24, 12:7-46,
12:7-55, or 2A:4A-23 shall be subject to a calibration check.

2. (No change.)

3. A calibration check shall be performed when an approved
instrument:

i.-ii. (No change.)

iii. Within 182 days after a calibration check conducted pursuant to
[(b)3i] (a)3i or ii above; and

iv. Thereafter, within 182 days after any calibration check conducted
pursuant to [(b)3i] (a)3i, ii, or iii above or after a discretionary
calibration check conducted pursuant to [(b)4] (a)4 below.

4. (No change.)

5. The results of each calibration check shall be recorded on forms
and in the manner specified by the Superintendent of the Division of
State Police.

i. (No change.)

ii. An original, duplicate original, photocopy, or electronic copy of
each calibration check, performed under this subsection, of an approved
instrument under the custody and control of an organized police
department, other than approved instruments under the custody and
control of the Division of State Police, shall be maintained by the
organized police department having custody and control of the approved
instrument.

(a)
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Firearms and Weapons
Restrictions for Sale and Possession of Stun Guns

Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:54-1.2 and 1.3
Proposed New Rule: N.J.A.C. 13:54-5.8

Authorized By: Colonel Joseph Fuentes, Superintendent, Division of
State Police, with the approval of Christopher S. Porrino,
Attorney General.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 2C:39-1 and 2C:58-1 et seq.

Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of
exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2017-198.

Submit comments by October 20, 2017, to:

Colonel Joseph R. Fuentes, Superintendent
Attn: Firearms Investigation Unit

New Jersey State Police

PO Box 7068

West Trenton, New Jersey 08638

or electronically to: LPPNJSPFIU@gw.njsp.org.

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

The Division of State Police is proposing to amend and supplement
NJ.A.C. 13:54 to address regulatory issues related to the sale and
possession of stun guns. In Caetano v. Massachusetts, 136 S. Ct. 1027
(2016), the United States Supreme Court struck down a Massachusetts
state law prohibiting possession of a stun gun, finding that the absolute
ban on possession of a stun gun violated the Second Amendment’s
protection of an individual right to keep and bear arms for self-
protection. Since 1985, New Jersey law, N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3.h, similarly
has established a strict prohibition on possession of a stun gun,
regardless of the circumstances or location of the possession. In a
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Consent Order entered in New Jersey Second Amendment Society v.
Porrino, No. 16-4906 (USDC) (April 25, 2017), the United States
District Court declared that “N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:39-3(h), to the extent
this statute outright prohibits, under criminal penalty, individuals from
possessing electronic arms, is declared unconstitutional in that it violates
the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution and shall not
be enforced.” The Consent Order further provided that N.J.S.A. 2C:39-
9.d “shall not be enforced to the extent this statute prohibits, under
criminal penalty, the sale or shipment of Tasers® or other electronic
arms.” The Consent Order stayed proceedings to allow the
implementation of any necessary revisions to controlling legal
authorities and to establish limitations consistent with the public safety
and the Second Amendment.

Accordingly, this notice of proposal is intended to address issues
raised by the court invalidating the blanket prohibition on possession and
sale of stun guns in New Jersey by maintaining the prohibition on sale
and possession of stun guns to minors. Nothing in this rulemaking is
intended to supplant or affect any time, place, and manner limitations on
the possession, use, and ownership of stun guns established by New
Jersey law, other than those set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3.h and 2C:39-
9.d.

Recognizing that the outright statutory prohibition on sale and
possession of stun guns has been declared unconstitutional and can no
longer be enforced, the proposed amendments would in operative effect
permit the sale to and possession of stun guns by persons age 18 and
over, codifying in rule the continuing prohibition on the sale to and
possession of stun guns by persons under the age of 18. The proposed
amendments and new rule would also authorize law enforcement
officers to confiscate from minors unlawfully possessed stun guns.

This notice of proposal is excepted from the rulemaking calendar
requirement because the Division is providing a 60-day comment period
pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact
The proposed amendments and new rule will provide guidance to law
enforcement, weapons dealers, and members of the public in
understanding the lawful acquisition and possession and remaining
restriction on the sale and possession of stun guns by minors in New
Jersey, establishing limitations consistent with public safety and the
Second Amendment.

Economic Impact
The proposed amendments and new rule will likely have a positive
economic impact by authorizing the sale of stun guns to adults in New
Jersey.

Federal Standards Statement
A Federal standards analysis is not required because the proposed
amendments and new rule do not exceed Federal standards, and are not
proposed under the authority of or in order to implement, comply with,
or participate in any program established under Federal law or under
State statutes that incorporates or refers to Federal law, Federal
standards, or Federal requirements.

Jobs Impact
The proposed amendments and new rule are not expected to result in
the generation or loss of jobs in New Jersey, although allowing the sale
or transfer of stun guns to adults in New Jersey could have a positive
impact on the job market.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The proposed amendments and new rule will not have any impact on
the agriculture industry in New Jersey.

Regulatory Flexibility Statement
A regulatory flexibility analysis is not required because the proposed
amendments and new rule do not impose any reporting, recordkeeping,
or other compliance requirements on small businesses as that term is
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis
The proposed amendments and new rule will not have any impact on
the affordability of housing in New Jersey and there is an extreme

(CITE 49 N.J.R. 2765)
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unlikelihood that the proposed amendments or new rule would evoke a
change in the average costs associated with housing because the
proposed amendments and new rule concern the regulation of weapons.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis
The proposed amendments and new rule will have an insignificant
impact upon smart growth and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the
proposed amendments or new rule would evoke a change in housing
production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under
the State Development and Redevelopment Plan because the proposed
amendments and new rule concern the regulation of weapons.

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface
thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

SUBCHAPTER 1. FIREARMS PURCHASER IDENTIFICATION
CARD AND PERMIT TO PURCHASE A

HANDGUN

13:54-1.2  Definitions
The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the following
meanings:

“Stun gun” means any weapon or other device that emits an
electrical charge or current intended to temporarily or permanently
disable a person.

13:54-1.3  State of New Jersey [Firearms] firearms identification card
or permit to purchase a handgun and form of register
required; prohibition on sale of certain weapons

(a) No person, other than a licensed or registered retail or wholesale
dealer, shall receive, purchase, or otherwise acquire a rifle, shotgun, or
antique cannon, other than an antique rifle or shotgun, unless that person
possesses and exhibits a valid firearms purchaser identification card. No
person shall sell, give, transfer, assign, or otherwise dispose of a rifle,
shotgun, or antique cannon, other than an antique rifle or shotgun, to a
person other than a licensed or registered retail or wholesale dealer,
unless the buyer or receiver possesses and exhibits a valid firearms
purchaser identification card. No person shall sell, acquire, or possess a
sawed-off shotgun. No person shall sell, give, transfer, assign, or
otherwise dispose of a stun gun to a person under 18 years of age,
and no person under 18 years of age shall receive, purchase, or
otherwise acquire a stun gun.

(b)-(d) (No change.)
SUBCHAPTER 5.  MACHINE GUNS, ASSAULT FIREARMS,
[AND] LARGE CAPACITY AMMUNITION
MAGAZINES, AND STUN GUNS

13:54-5.8 Possession of a stun gun by a minor

No person under 18 years of age shall possess a stun gun. Any
stun gun possessed by a person under the age of 18 shall be subject
to confiscation by law enforcement.

(a)
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
Proposed Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:60-1.2 and 2.1
Proposed Repeal: N.J.A.C. 13:60 Appendix
Authorized By: Colonel Joseph R. Fuentes, Superintendent, Division
of State Police.
Authority: N.J.S.A. 39:5B-32.
Calendar Reference: See Summary below for explanation of

exception to calendar requirement.
Proposal Number: PRN 2017-188.
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Submit comments in writing to:
Colonel Joseph R. Fuentes, Superintendent
Division of State Police
Attn: Transportation Safety Bureau
3925 U.S. Route 1
Princeton, N.J. 08540
or electronically at: NJADOPTION@gw.njsp.org.

The agency proposal follows:

Summary

The Superintendent of the Division of State Police (Superintendent),
under the authority of N.J.S.A. 39:5B-32, is proposing amendments to
N.J.A.C. 13:60. At the direction of the Superintendent, the rules at
NJ.A.C. 13:60 were reviewed and were found to be in need of minor
amendments to ensure compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations. In accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:5B-32, appropriate
representatives of the Motor Vehicle Commission and Department of
Transportation have been consulted on the proposed amendments.

N.J.A.C. 13:60 incorporates by reference Federal regulations adopted
pursuant to the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982 (49
US.C. §§ 31101, 31102, 31103, and 31104), as amended and
supplemented. The Federal rules are collectively known as the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. The rules in the chapter apply to all
motor carrier operators and vehicles engaged in interstate and intrastate
commerce or used or operated wholly within a municipality. N.J.A.C.
13:60-1.2 explains the application of the chapter in further detail. The
Superintendent proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 13:60-1.2 to update citations
to applicable Federal regulations.

N.J.A.C. 13:60-2.1 incorporates by reference the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations. The Superintendent proposes to amend this
section by adding a new subsection (d) to incorporate parts of the
Federal regulations, including 49 CFR Part 390 (Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Regulations: General) to conform with State intrastate commerce
rules. Accordingly, the Superintendent proposes to repeal the Appendix
to the Regulations Regarding Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and all
references to this appendix in Chapter 60. The State of New Jersey
enforces Federal regulations governing both motor carrier safety and the
transportation of hazardous materials. The proposed amendments will
permit New Jersey to continue these public safety programs, whose
continuation has been directed by the Legislature pursuant to N.J.S.A.
39:5B-26 and 39:5B-32.

Because a 60-day comment period has been provided on this notice of
proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar
requirement pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The proposed amendments and repeal impact motor carriers, motor
carrier operators, and persons operating commercial motor vehicles in
intrastate commerce, in that they will be required to comply with, and be
knowledgeable of, current Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations as
found at 49 CFR 350.341(e) and the Appendices to those Federal
regulations as found in the Code of Federal Regulations (currently
revised as of February 1, 2017). Adoption of these Federal regulations
does not impose any new burden on those operating in intrastate
commerce since they are required to comply with most Federal Motor
Carrier Regulations.

Economic Impact

It is anticipated that the proposed amendments and repeal will have
no additional economic impact on motor carriers, motor carrier
operators, or persons operating commercial motor vehicles in intrastate
commerce. Pursuant to P.L. 1991, c. 491, section 1 (amending N.J.S.A.
39:5B-32) this group of commercial motor carrier operators was
required to comply substantially with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations. Although Federal law does not mandate that this group
comply absolutely with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, it
does condition New Jersey’s participation in the Federal safety
enforcement programs and receipt of Federal aid upon the State
requiring substantial compliance.
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