

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

ISSUES, CASES AND EXAMPLES CONCERNING THE PROVISIONS OF THE NEW JERSEY CONTRACTORS' REGISTRATION ACT, N.J.S.A. 56:8-136 ET SEQ., AND RELATED STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

February 29, 2012 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. NJ Transit Headquarters 1 Penn Plaza East 9th Floor, Board Room Newark, New Jersey

Program Summary

This program will provide a basic overview of the New Jersey Contractors' Registration Act, *N.J.S.A.* 56:8-136 *et seq.*, the Regulations Governing Contractor Registration, *N.J.A.C.* 13:45A-17.1 *et seq.*, and the Regulations Governing Home Improvement Practices, *N.J.A.C.* 13:45A-16.1 *et seq.* Multiple provisions will be highlighted, with discussion and analysis of the provisions, relevant case law, and examples from a Deputy Attorney General's practice prosecuting violations and revoking contractors' registrations with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs.

Who Should Attend?

While this program is intended as a basic overview of the subject areas for those attorneys handling such matters, others may find it of interest.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Nicholas Kant is a Deputy Attorney General in the Consumer Fraud Prosecution Section within the Division of Law's Affirmative Civil Enforcement Practice Group. He has spent the last four years prosecuting a variety of cases under the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, from home improvement matters to kosher enforcement, pet protection and health club cases, among others. He recently settled an action against Wal-Mart for \$775,000 and injunctive relief, and won a \$17 million judgment against a group that had been performing substandard driveway paving throughout southern New Jersey.

How Do I Register?

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at http://www.state.nj.us.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).