

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

## PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

# SUPERVISOR RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES UNDER THE STATE POLICY PROHIBITING DISCRIMINATION IN THE WORKPLACE

March 20, 2012
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
6<sup>th</sup> Floor Point Meeting Area - Attorney General's Library
25 Market Street
Trenton, NJ

## **Program Summary**

This program discusses the basis of the State Policy Prohibiting Discrimination in the Workplace in federal and state statutes and regulations as well as the pertinent case law, with an emphasis on supervisors' rights and responsibilities under the Policy as set forth in *N.J.S.A.* 11A:7-1 *et seq.*, *N.J.A.C.* 4A:7-1 *et seq.*, and 13:13-1.1 *et seq.* The importance of the FMLA, FLA, ADA, e-mail use policies, consensual personal relationship policies, retaliation, confidentiality and preventive strategies are discussed in relation to a supervisor's role in maintaining a workplace free of unlawful discrimination. Participants will satisfy their requirement to attend mandatory training presented by the training coordinator of the Office of Equal Employment Opportunity during 2012.

#### Who Should Attend?

This program is designed to address issues and concerns common to all Department of Law & Public Safety attorneys. Other governmental attorneys may also find this program of interest. **Prior training on the State Anti-Discrimination Policy is recommended for this presentation.** 

## Who Is the Faculty?

**DAG Karen A. Du Mars** served in the Division of Law for 20 years representing various clients, and currently serves in the Office of the Attorney General's Office of Equal Employment Opportunity.

# How Do I Register?

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <a href="https://www.state.nj.us">AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</a> for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us">http://www.state.nj.us</a>.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

**NY CLE Credit:** 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy)

**PA CLE Credit:** 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required)