PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present
INMATE LITIGATION

May 1, 2018
10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
6th Floor Point Meeting Area — Attorney General’s Library
25 Market Street
Trenton, New Jersey

PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of
the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary
This presentation will provide an overview of prisoner civil rights litigation, with an emphasis on
federal practice. A general overview of Section 1983 practice will be supplemented with the
nuances and benefits of the PLRA. The particular challenges of handling cases with incarcerated
plaintiffs will also be discussed.

Who Should Attend?

This course is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Dianne Moratti is the Section Chief of the Corrections and State Police Section in the
Division of Law. DAG Moratti is a graduate of Rutgers Law School - Camden. Following a
federal clerkship with the Hon. Jerome B. Simandle, U.S.D.J., she worked in private practice for



several years before joining the Division of Law in the former FedCor section. DAG Moratti was
promoted to Section Chief in 1999. She represents the State Police and the Department of
Corrections in a variety of federal claims and provides them with agency advice.

DAG Joseph M. Micheletti is an Assistant Section Chief in the Litigation Practice Group, where
he manages a group of trial attorneys. DAG Micheletti has over twenty-two years of public
service and a wealth of experience in all aspects of litigation. During his time with the Attorney
General’s Office, Joe has served in various staff and supervisory positions. He currently
handles the defense of complex civil rights litigations brought against law enforcement agencies
and their employees. DAG Micheletti previously served as a trial attorney in the Employment
Litigation Section, where he provided representation to State agencies and employees in complex
employment matters. He also served in the Tort Litigation Section; where he litigated a high
volume of personal injury cases. DAG Micheletti has tried multiple matters before the New
Jersey Superior and United States District Courts and has also represented State agencies in front
of administrative bodies including the Division of Civil Rights and the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission. Additionally, DAG Micheletti briefed and argued multiple appeals
before the New Jersey Superior Court, Appellate Division and the United States Third Circuit
Court of Appeals. DAG Micheletti serves as a faculty member for New Jersey Attorney
General’s Advocacy Institute and the National Attorneys General Training and Research
Institute. He teaches courses in trial advocacy, depositions, and Section 183 law.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.8 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. Of these, 1.8 qualify as hours of credit toward
certification in criminal trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credit ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do | Register?
State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to
http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course
Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the
Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include
you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and



http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

password for your records.
Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at:
njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course
Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the
portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created
you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need
only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to
request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on
our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System
account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/lIpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.
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