

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

# PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

# ARREST, SEARCH & SEIZURE UPDATE

May 3, 2012 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. New Jersey Department of Transportation David J. Goldberg Transportation Complex Multi-purpose Room 1035 Parkway Avenue West Trenton, New Jersey

### **Program Summary**

This seminar will present a "whirlwind tour" of New Jersey search and seizure law, featuring an easy-to-use analytical template that prosecutors can use to quickly determine whether a stop, frisk, arrest, or search is lawful under both the Fourth Amendment and Article 1, paragraph 7 of the New Jersey Constitution. This fast-paced and interactive presentation will cover recent developments and trends as well as long-settled principles of search and seizure law.

#### Who Should Attend?

While this program is intended for county assistant prosecutors and deputy and assistant attorneys general handling criminal matters, others may find it of interest.

## Who Is the Faculty?

**AAG Ron Susswein** has served for a combined 29 years as a DAG/AAG in the Division of Criminal Justice and the Union County Prosecutor's Office. During his career, AAG Susswein helped to draft many of the Attorney General directives and guidelines that are designed to channel a prosecutor's plea bargaining discretion, including the policies concerning "Brimage," "Graves Act," "NERA," and public corruption cases.

## How Do I Register?

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link

kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us</u>.

## CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 3.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 3.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in criminal trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 3.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

**PA CLE Credit:** 2.5 substantive credits (\$4.50 mandatory registration fee required).