

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce Another in its State House Series

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

Effective Openings and Summations in Criminal Trial
August 23, 2011
1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
New Jersey State House
Rm. L-209, 2nd Fl. State House
125 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey 08625

Program Summary

This seminar will focus on crafting and delivering effective opening statements and summations in criminal trials, including techniques for enhancing the persuasive power of the presentations, strategic issues that should be considered, as well as the legal and ethical pitfalls that should be avoided.

Who Should Attend?

This program is designed for attorneys handling criminal matters. It may, however, be of interest to those attorneys handling civil litigation as well..

Who Is the Faculty?

Assistant Prosecutor Lewis Korngut is the Chief of Homicide at the Mercer County Prosecutor's Office. He previously served as the Chief of Corruption at the Division of Criminal Justice where he held various positions since 1998. Before joining the Division, he served as an Assistant Prosecutor in the Mercer County Prosecutor's Office where he prosecuted capital cases, including *State v. Timmendequas*, and he supervised the Rape and Child Abuse Unit.

How Do I Register?

This program is intended for those persons invited to participate in the *State House Series* presentations. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you have not been invited to participate.

For those who are invited to attend these programs, please follow these instructions for registering. Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to

http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at. http://www.state.nj.us.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law and criminal trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).