

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

# PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

## HOW TO FILE YOUR FNs

August 30, 2011 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 124 Halsey Street 5th Floor Conference Room Newark, New Jersey

#### **Program Summary**

This presentation will cover the basics of filing protective services litigation from conferencing with your client to presenting your initial case to the court. Techniques from several different counties will be addressed. A discussion of protective services case law and methods to address evidentiary objections will also be included.

#### Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for deputies within the DYFS Practice Group who have been designated to attend this training, and those attorneys with DYFS who have been invited to attend **only**.

#### Who Is the Faculty?

**Lea C. DeGuilo** is a *summa cum laude* graduate of Hartwick College, and a 1997 graduate of Rutgers Law School-Newark. After a clerkship with the Honorable Bette E. Uhrmacher, she joined the Division of Law in 1998.

#### How Do I Register?

Registration is limited to those attorneys noted above. Those noted should follow the following registration instructions: Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal.

Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at. <u>http://www.state.nj.us</u>.

### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).