
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce 
 

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 
 

2012 – 2013 BASIC CIVIL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PRACTICE COURSE (PHASE I) 
 

September 20 and 21, 2012 
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on September 20, 2012 
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on September 21, 2012 

Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office Police Training Center 
11 Patrol Road 

Edison, New Jersey 
 

Program Summary 
 

This intensive two-day presentation series is the first phase of an integrated five-phase course 
designed for newly hired deputy attorneys general and volunteer attorneys within the Division of 
Law.  Among the topics addressed during Day One of this session will be appellate practice, the 
Open Public Records Act, ethical and professional obligations to the client; civil motion practice 
and legal writing and the Tort Claims Act.  Day Two will consist of three modules, which will 
run simultaneously.  The Litigation Practice module will address the preparation of affirmative 
and responsive pleadings, propounding and responding to written discovery, and deposition 
skills.  The Administrative Law module will address the basics of administrative law, practice in 
the Office of Administrative Law, drafting agency advice, and appearing before the regulator and 
multi-member boards.  The Transactional Matters module will cover contracting basics, agency 
agreements, procurement issues, condemnation, and the False Claims and Contractual Liability 
Acts.  Please see the attached schedule. 

 
Who Should Attend? 

 
This program is intended for newly hired deputy attorneys general and volunteer attorneys within 
the Division of Law.  The Division of Law has selected those attorneys who should attend this 
program.  Also, attorneys within the DYFS Practice Group are not required to attend Day Two of 
this program.  Please do not attempt to register for this program if you have not already been 
notified that the Division of Law has selected you to participate. 
 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 
The faculty consists of experienced attorneys within the Division of Law, other governmental 
agencies, and the private sector.   
 



CLE Credit 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for up to 15.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these 1.5, 
qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.  Moreover, participants may be able to 
apply the credits awarded for certain of these presentations toward their New Jersey Bridge the 
Gap obligations.   
 
NY CLE Credit:  13.5 substantive credits and 1.5 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved 
jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit:  11.0 substantive credits and 1.0 ethics credit ($16.50 mandatory registration 
fee required). 
 

How Do I Register? 
 
Those selected to attend this program may register for one of four options, each of which will 
appear on the Institute’s Course Registration System.  Option 1 is for those attorneys selected to 
attend Day One and the Day Two Litigation Practice Module.  Option 2 is for those attorneys 
selected to attend Day One and the Day Two Administrative Law Module.  Option 3 is for those 
attorneys selected to attend Day One and the Day Two Transactional Module.  Option 4 is for 
attorneys within the DYFS Practice Group only. 
 

State Employees 
 
Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 
http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration 
account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. 
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI 
Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for 
future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and password for your 
records.   

 
Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 
If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 
AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI 
Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account 
through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two 
paragraphs.  
 
Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  This is Step 1 of the process, which 
you need only do once.   



 
Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 
account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.  
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to 
register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 
password for your records.  
 
 



 

 
 
 
 

2012 – 2013 BASIC CIVIL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PRACTICE COURSE 
 

PHASE I SCHEDULE 
   
 

Day One (Plenary Session) 
September 20, 2102 

 
8:30 a.m.  – 9:00 a.m.   Registration 

9:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.  Welcome 

9:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Appellate Practice  

10:30 a.m. – 10:40 a.m. Break 

10:40 a.m. – 11:55 a.m. OPRA Overview  

11:55 a.m. – 12:55 p.m. Lunch (On your own) 

12:55 p.m. – 2:10 p.m. Client Services 

2:10 p.m. – 2:20 p.m.  Break 

2:20 p.m.– 3:35 p.m.  Motion Practice and Legal Writing  

3:35 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.  Break 

3:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.  Tort Claims Act 
 

 
Day Two (Litigation Practice Module)1 

September 21, 2012 
 

9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Preparing Affirmative Pleadings  

10:15 a.m. – 10:25 a.m. Break 

                                                 
1  Attendees may be able to apply the credits awarded for these presentations toward their New 
Jersey Bridge the Gap obligations.  Attendees are responsible for ensuring which, if any, of these credits 
may be used to satisfy their Bridge the Gap obligations 



10:25 a.m.  – 11:40 a.m. Propounding Written Discovery  

11:40 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. Lunch (On your own) 

12:40 p.m. – 1:55 p.m. Deposition Practice  

1:55 p.m. – 2:05 p.m.  Break 

2:05 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.  Preparing Responsive Pleadings  

3:20 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.  Break 

3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.  Responding to Written Discovery 
 
4:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.  Wrap-up  

 
Day Two (Administrative Law Module) 

September 21, 2012 
 
9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Administrative Law Overview  

10:15 a.m. – 10:25 a.m. Break 

10:25 a.m. – 11:40 a.m. OAL Practice  

11:40 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. Lunch (On your own) 

12:40 p.m. – 1:55 p.m. Appearing Before the Regulator  

1:55 p.m. – 2:05 p.m.  Break 

2:05 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.  Representing Multi-member Boards    

3:20 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.  Break 

3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.  Drafting Agency Advice  
 
4:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.  Wrap-up  

 
  



Day Two (Transactional Matters Modules) 
September 21, 2012 

 
9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. Contracting Basics  

10:15 a.m.  – 10:25 a.m. Break 

10:25 a.m.  – 11:40 a.m. Agency Agreements, MOUs and MOAs  

11:40 a.m.  – 12:40 p.m. Lunch (On your own) 

12:40 p.m. – 1:55 p.m. False Claims Act & Contractual Liability Act  

1:55 p.m. – 2:05 p.m.  Break 

2:05 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.  Procurement Issues 

3:20 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.  Break 

3:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.  Condemnation – Takings 

4:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.  Wrap-up  


