

The Advocacy Institute, in Conjunction with the Judiciary and the New Jersey Public Defender's Office, Is Pleased to Announce

### PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

# PROFESSIONALISM AND ETHICS IN THE PRESENTATION OF AN APPEAL

October 19, 2011
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Supreme Court Courtroom
8<sup>th</sup> Floor, North Wing
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street
Trenton, NJ

**Program Summary** 

See Attached Announcement.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for all attorneys who appear in our appellate courts.

Who Is the Faculty?

See Attached Announcement.

# How Do I Register?

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <a href="https://www.state.nj.us">AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</a> for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at. <a href="http://www.state.nj.us">http://www.state.nj.us</a>.

# CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 1.2 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law, criminal trial law, workers compensation law and/or matrimonial law.

**NY CLE Credit:** 1.0 ethics credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.0 ethics credit (\$1.50 mandatory registration fee required).

# Professionalism and Ethics in the Presentation of an Appeal

In observance of Professionalism Day, the New Jersey Superior Court - Appellate Division, the Office of the Attorney General/Department of Law & Public Safety and the Public Defender's Office will present a panel discussion on professionalism and ethics in appellate practice. The panel discussion will focus on the application of the Rules of Professional Conduct to appellate practice. There will also be discussion of professional obligations and courtesy to opposing counsel and to the court as well as a review of the Pro Bono programs.

# Wednesday, October 19

3 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Supreme Court Courtroom
8<sup>th</sup> Floor, North Wing
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street
Trenton, NJ

# **Introductory Remarks**

Administrative Director Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D

# **Panelists**

Appellate Division Presiding Judge Philip S. Carchman Matthew Astore, Esq., Deputy Public Defender, Appellate Section Marie C. Hanley, Esq., Deputy Counsel, Appellate Division Clerk's Office Michael Williams, Esq., Deputy Chief, Division of Criminal Justice, Appellate Bureau

### How Do I Register?

Please register in advance, seating is limited. Please be advised, no food or water is permitted in the Supreme Court Courtroom.

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> and creating an account. Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.

If you are unable to access the above link or if you are not a state or county employee, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <a href="Matter:AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us">AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</a> for an authorization code to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at. <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for **up to** 1.0 hour of total CLE credit for ethics/professionalism.