

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

DEP'S NEW WAIVER RULE

October 19, 2012 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

On April 2, 2012, the Department of Environmental Protection's new rule providing for waivers of strict compliance with certain DEP regulations was published in the *New Jersey Register* with an operative date of August 1, 2012. This insightful presentation will address the purpose of the rule, lay out the requirements for all waiver applications, discuss the four different bases for a waiver application and detail the DEP review criteria built into the rule. The presenter will also provide an update on waiver rule implementation since the August 1, 2012 operative date, including the number and type of applications received, with commentary on some of the applications to date.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for members of the Division of Law's Environmental Protection Group and those DEP attorneys selected to attend. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not a member of the Division of Law's Environmental Protection Group or have been invited to register for this program.

Who Is the Faculty?¹

Catherine A. Tormey, Esq. presently serves as Deputy Advisor to the Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection, a position she has held since January 2010. In this position, Ms. Tormey is the legal policy advisor to the Commissioner on all matters within the Department's jurisdiction. Ms. Tormey began her career with the Department in May 1986. She has held numerous staff and supervisory positions, including as Regulatory Officer, Assistant

¹ In addition to Ms. Tormey, other members of the Division of Law and the Department of Environmental Protection may assist in facilitating the presentation.

Director, Assistant Commissioner and Counselor to the Commissioner. From 1990 through 1999, Ms. Tormey represented the Department as a Deputy Attorney General, during which time, she was a member of the Division of Law's Environmental Permitting and Counseling Section. While a Deputy Attorney General, Ms. Tormey appeared before State and federal courts, primarily in appellate matters, with emphasis on Clean Air Act, New Jersey Air Pollution Control Act, Administrative Procedure Act, solid and hazardous waste, water and constitutional issues. Ms. Tormey graduated *cum laude* from St. Peters's College with a B.A. in English, and earned her J.D. from Seton Hall University School of Law. She is a member of the New Jersey Bar, and is admitted to practice before the federal District Court of New Jersey, the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeals, and the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.0 substantive credit (\$1.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees able to register for this are course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System

account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.