

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

FN COURT OVERVIEW AND FACT FINDING TRAINING

November 20, 2018 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Two Gateway Center 283-299 Market Street 8th Floor, Meeting Room A Newark, New Jersey 07102

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately three weeks prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This presentation will provide an overview of FN court proceedings from the initial filing to dismissal of litigation, with a concentration on fact finding trial training.

Who Should Attend?

This program is mandatory for Deputy Attorneys General in Department of Law and Public Safety's Department of Children and Families Practice Group who were hired in 2018 or who have not attended a formal FN fact finding training. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not a DAG in the DCF Practice Group who meets the above criteria.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Sara Gregory is assigned to the DCF-North Section of the Division of Law. She handles protective services and guardianship litigation for multiple offices in the northern region of the State. She has argued two cases before the New Jersey Supreme Court, N.J. Div. of Child Protection & Permanency v. J.L.G. and N.J. Div. of Child Protection & Permanency v. A.B. DAG Gregory was a law clerk for the Honorable Joseph L. Yannotti, PJAD. She earned her BA from Rutgers University in New Brunswick and her JD from Rutgers School of Law in Newark.

DAG Jessica Steinglass is an Assistant Section Chief in the DCF-North Section of the Division of Law. She has argued two cases before the Supreme Court of New Jersey, including New Jersey Division of Youth and Family Services v. P.P. and S.P. DAG Steinglass received a BA cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania and a JD with honors from the George Washington University Law School.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 5.4 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 5.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 4.5 Substantive Credits (\$7.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

employees able to register are for this course by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.