

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

FN COURT OVERVIEW AND FACT FINDING TRAINING

November 20, 2018 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey, 08625

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately three weeks prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This presentation will provide an overview of FN court proceedings from the initial filing to dismissal of litigation, with a concentration on fact finding trial training.

Who Should Attend?

This program is mandatory for Deputy Attorneys General in Department of Law and Public Safety's Department of Children and Families Practice Group who were hired in 2018 or who have not attended a formal FN fact finding training. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not a DAG in the DCF Practice Group who meets the above criteria.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Deirdre Carver is assigned to the DCF-Central Section of the Division of Law. She handles termination of parental rights and abuse or neglect cases. Prior to joining the Division of Law, she worked as a public defender in Virginia and in private practice, focusing on medical malpractice cases. DAG Carver clerked in the Appellate Division for the late Hon. Arnold M. Stein, J.A.D. She graduated from Fairfield University and Seton Hall University School of Law, where she was Editor-in-Chief of the Seton Hall Legislative Journal.

DAG Eliezer Sanchez-Silver is assigned to the Division of Child Protection and Permanency Southern Monmouth County Local Office where he handles an FN docket, protective services litigation and guardianship litigation. DAG Sanchez-Silver graduated from Brooklyn Law School, where he was an Edward V. Sparer Public Interest Fellow.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 5.4 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 5.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 4.5 Substantive Credits (\$7.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.