

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

STARK LAW

December 5, 2011 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. NJ Transit Headquarters Board Room -9th Floor 1 Penn Plaza East Newark, New Jersey

Program Summary

This presentation will discuss the Stark Law and its significant provisions, including strict liability and its relationship to the False Claims Act. Among the topics covered will be settlement agreements that have been entered with doctors here in New Jersey, as well as litigation issues arising in several Stark Law cases, including those from a recent trial, one of only a handful nationwide.

Who Should Attend?

While this program is intended as an overview of the Stark Law for those handling cases in which such issues arise, others may find this program of interest.

Who Is the Faculty?

Alex Kriegsman is an assistant United States attorney for the District of New Jersey, where he has worked in both the civil and criminal divisions and served as the office's health care fraud coordinator. He previously served as a trial attorney with the Department of Justice, and was in private practice with Skadden, Arps LLP. Mr. Kriegsman was a law clerk to federal and state court judges, and teaches legal writing at Cardozo Law School.

How Do I Register?

Most State and some county employees will be able to register for this course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an account. (Your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code

to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then will be able to register through the portal at http://www.state.nj.us/.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law and criminal trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 Substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).