The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

BASIC PROSECUTORS' COURSE (PHASE I11-A)
December 19 to 22, 2011
8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.*
Middlesex County Prosecutor's Office Police Training Center
11 Patrol Road
Edison, New Jersey

Program Summary

This intensive 4-day trial advocacy program combines presentations and learn-by-doing workshops,
culminating in a mock trial on the last day. The presentations, which will be by experienced
assistant prosecutors and deputy attorneys general, will cover direct and cross-examination,
advanced cross-examination and impeachment, persuasive use of exhibits, case theory, opening
statements and closing arguments, the ethics of witness preparation, and pre-trial motions and
making objections. The participants, in turn, will perform in a series of learn-by-doing workshops,
in which they will incorporate what they learned from the presentations and others in dealing with
discrete phases of the trial process. All participants then will “try" their case in a mock trial on the
last day of the program.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for new assistant prosecutors and Division of Criminal Justice deputies,
attendance for which has been determined by each office. Please do not attempt to register for
this program if you have not been selected by your office to attend this program, selections for
which have already been made.

Who Is the Faculty?
The faculty consists of experienced assistant prosecutors, Division of Criminal Justice deputy

and assistant attorneys general and other experienced litigators who have extensive expertise in the
subject matter on which they are presenting.

! End times will vary during the week, but, in no instance, will go beyond 5:30 p.m.



How Do | Register?

For those selected to attend this program, please follow these directions. Most State and some
county employees will be able to register for this course by going to
http://reg.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an account. (Y our computer must be
attached to the government's Garden State Network.). If you are unable to access the above link
kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: Advocacylnstitute@Ips.state.nj.us for an authorization code
to allow you access to the registration system through the My New Jersey portal. Once you receive
the authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at
http://www.state.nj.us/ and create an account, if you do not already have one. Once you do, you then
will be able to register through the portal at http://www.state.nj.us.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 28.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 1.8 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 28.5 qualify as hours of credit toward certification
in civil and criminal trial law.?

NY CLE Credit: 27.0 substantive credits and 2.0 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved
jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 22 substantive credits and 1.5 ethics credits ($36.00 mandatory registration fee
required).

2 These calculations are tentative. The final CLE hours to be awarded may change
slightly prior to the beginning of the program, which changes, if any, you will know of before
beginning.



