

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

PENNSYLVANIA BRIDGE THE GAP: ETHICS FOR NEW PENNSYLVANIA ATTORNEYS

April 26, 2013 10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex Division of Criminal Justice Training Room 5th Floor, West Wing 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania has added a Bridge the Gap requirement for newly admitted lawyers. The program is designed to provide the type of information necessary to smooth the transition from law student to attorney. It is intended to give recent law school graduates the "know-how" which is otherwise learned through trial and error. The Bridge the Gap requirement must be fulfilled prior to a newly admitted lawyer's first CLE requirement deadline. This basic program will provide practical insight into key areas that new lawyers need to know in order to comply with the Rules of Professional Conduct and avoid potential malpractice claims. This seminar will fulfill the Bridge the Gap requirement for newly admitted Pennsylvania attorneys. A moderator will lead the discussion and answer participants' questions.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for newly admitted attorneys who must fulfill their mandatory Pennsylvania Bridge the Gap requirements.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Dianne Moratti is the Section Chief of the Corrections and State Police section in the Division of Law. DAG Moratti is a graduate of Rutgers Law School - Camden. Following a federal clerkship with the Hon. Jerome B. Simandle, U.S.D.J., she worked in private practice for several years before joining the Division of Law in the former FedCor section. DAG Moratti was promoted to Section Chief in 1999. She primarily represents the Department of Corrections in federal civil rights lawsuits filed in both federal and state court.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 4.8 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 4.8 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. These credits will **not** satisfy New Jersey's *Bridge the Gap* obligations.

NY CLE Credit: 4.5 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 4.0 ethics credits (\$6:00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.