

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

ETHICS REQUIREMENTS FOR STATE EXECUTIVE BRANCH EMPLOYEES

August 28, 2013 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This course will examine ethics requirements for employees of the executive branch of State government, which includes State departments, agencies, authorities, boards, commissions, colleges and universities. The course will cover the Conflicts of Interest Law, N.J.S.A. 52:13D-12 et seq., ethics rules, N.J.A.C.19:6.1 et seq., the Uniform Ethics Code and ethics-related ethics executive orders. The presentation will address the most recent changes to the State executive branch ethics law and focus on specific subject areas most likely to affect executive branch attorneys, including how to comply with the ethics rules regarding gifts, attendance at events, outside activities, secondary employment, conflicts of interest and post-employment restrictions. Ethics requirements will be illustrated with case studies from the files of the New Jersey State Ethics Commission as well as recent court cases of special interest. This session will satisfy the mandatory ethics training requirement for State executive branch employees.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for those attorneys in the Executive Branch of State government. Others, however, may find the program of interest.

Who Is the Faculty?

Margaret A. Cotoia, Esq. is the Ethics Training Officer for the New Jersey State Ethics Commission. Since she joined the Commission in 2005, Margaret has designed and provided ethics training for State employees and Special State Officers at 26 State departments and over 75 authorities, boards, and commissions. Margaret provides ethics advice to a state-wide network of agency ethics liaison officers and co-designs and conducts quarterly meetings for their continuing education. Margaret is also an ethics instructor for the New Jersey Attorney General's Advocacy Institute and the National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute. Prior to

joining the Commission, Margaret worked for the New Jersey Department of Labor and the Public Employment Relations Commission as a staff attorney, hearing officer, labor mediator, and trainer. Margaret holds a B.S. from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. and a J.D. from the Penn State University Dickinson School of Law in Carlisle, PA, where she was an editor of the law review.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 2.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). **PA CLE Credit:** 1.5 ethics credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

employees able to register for this Most State are course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.