

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

# PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

## PROSECUTOR ALCOTEST TRAINING

September 18, 2014 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Middlesex County Prosecutor's Office Police Training Center 11 Patrol Road Edison, New Jersey

### **Program Summary**

This program will provide an overview of the basics of a DWI prosecution and will include instruction, by a certified breath test coordinator, on how the Alcotest 7110 MK-IIIC works, a demonstration of a re-calibration of an Alcotest instrument, and a demonstration of how a breath test is conducted. This program will also review current hot topics being raised by defense attorneys in DWI prosecutions.

#### Who Should Attend?

This program is open to municipal and county assistant prosecutors as well as deputy and assistant attorneys general within the Division of Criminal Justice only.

#### Who Is the Faculty?

**Robyn Mitchell** is a Deputy Attorney General with the New Jersey Division of Criminal Justice. DAG Mitchell joined the Division in January 2000, where she worked in the Legislation Section until 2003, and in the Appellate Bureau between 2003 and 2011. Assigned to the Prosecutors Supervision & Training Bureau since March 2011, DAG Mitchell handles matters involving DWI and Alcotest-related issues, and provides legal guidance and support to assistant and municipal prosecutors in the prosecution of DWI cases. She started her career in 1991 as a Staff Attorney in the Criminal Defense Division of The Legal Aid Society in Manhattan. She received her B.A. degree in 1988 from Rutgers College and her J.D. in 1991 from The University of Maryland School of Law in Baltimore, Maryland.

**Trooper I Michael P. Gibson** is currently assigned to the Alcohol/Drug Testing Unit based out of Hamilton Headquarters. He is the Breath Test Coordinator for several municipalities in

Camden, Burlington, and Gloucester counties. He has been a Trooper since September 24th 2004 after graduating from the N.J.S.P. Academy as part of the 135<sup>th</sup> class. As a Coordinator his duties include inspecting and re-calibrating Alcotest instruments assigned to NJSP stations and local Police Departments. He also provides expert testimony in DWI cases in municipal court. He assists with training officers throughout the State of NJ in the fields of Driving While Intoxicated and Drug Recognition Expert (DRE). He has attended the DRE Instructor Train-the-Trainer Course and has been an instructor for several DRE classes as well as the Lead Instructor for the 34<sup>th</sup> DRE class. He received a Associates of Science degree in Criminal Justice from Community College of Philadelphia in 1997 and a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice from West Chester University.

### **CLE Credit**

**NJ CLE Credit**: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 6.1 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 6.1 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in criminal trial law.

**NY CLE Credit**: 6.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 5.0 substantive credits (\$7.50 mandatory registration fee required).

## How Do I Register?

#### **State Employees**

Most employees able to register for State are this course bv going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

#### Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.** 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need

only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.