The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

LEGAL ASPECTS OF COMPENSATING VICTIMS OF CRIME: VICTIMS OF
CRIMES COMPENSATION OFFICE

October 22, 2014
2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
New Jersey State House
125 West State Street
3rd Floor, Authorities Conference Room
Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This 2.0 hour presentation will examine the laws and regulations governing eligibility and
compensation of claim applications before the VCCO. This presentation will focus on the
structure of the VCCO, how to file an application, eligibility requirements, compensable crimes,
compensable damages, catastrophic claims, subrogation, common reasons for denials and
appeals before the VCC Review Board.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended solely for those selected to participate in the State House Series
programs, notice of which such persons have already received. Please do not attempt to
register if you have not been so selected.

Who Is the Faculty?

AAG John G. Holl is the Deputy Director of the Victims of Crimes Compensation Office, a
position he has held since October 2008. In this capacity AAG Holl's duties include supervising
VCCO investigative staff; approving orders of payment to claimants; providing legal advice to
VCCO staff; handling subrogation, restitution and compromise lien cases; supervising the
appellate caseload; and educating and training staff; supervision of summer intern program. Mr.
Holl entered private practice upon graduating from Fordham College and Fordham University
School of Law. Since joining the Department of Law and Public Safety in 1983, AAG Holl has
held a variety of staff and supervisory positions, and served as Acting Bergen County Prosecutor
in1989 and 1990. During his tenure with the Attorney General's Office, AAG Holl successfully



argued Hilton v. Braunskill before United States Supreme Court, and State v. Gantt and State v.
Whitehead in the New Jersey Supreme Court. Throughout his career, Mr. Holl also has been
involved with various professional and civic organizations.

DAG Megan J. Harris has served with the Department of Law & Public Safety since November
2004. Since January 2010, she has provided representation and counseling to the Victims of
Crime Compensation Office, focusing on claim hearings before the Victims of Crime
Compensation Review Board and criminal restitution proceedings in New Jersey Superior Court.
Her primary assignment is with the Civil Rights Section of the Division of Law, providing
representation and counseling to the Division on Civil Rights, and litigating cases of unlawful
discrimination in housing, employment, and places of public accommodation. Megan’s past
assignments with the Department of Law & Public Safety include Securities Fraud Prosecution
and Juvenile Delinquency Prevention. Megan graduated from Cornell Law School in 2001 and
practiced in the private sector as a litigation associate for three years. She graduated from Emory
University in 1997 with a B.A. in Political Science and English & Creative Writing.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).
PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required).
How Do | Register?
State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to
http://reg.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration
account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI
Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for
future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your
records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at:
Advocacylnstitute@Ips.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI
Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account
through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two
paragraphs.




Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created
you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need
only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to
request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on
our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System
account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to
register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.



http://www.state.nj.us/

