

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

# PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

### **DCF BASIC FACT-FINDING**

December 2, 2014 9:45 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Newark, Two Gateway Center 283-299-Market St., 8th fl. Conference Room A (a/k/a Hearing Room #5)

# **Program Summary**

This informative and interactive program is designed to enhance a DCF DAG's presentation of proofs at fact-finding hearings. Direct examination, witness preparation, document and evidence production and strategy will be discussed. Participants will perform a short summation and a direct examination, requiring participants to review materials before the day of the program.

#### Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for those members of the Division of Law's DCF Practice Group who have been selected to attend, notice of which already has been sent to those selected. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you have not been selected to attend.

### Who Is the Faculty?

Monique D'Errico has been a DCF DAG since September, 2003. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from New York Law School in 2002 and then clerked for the Hon. George W. Parsons, J.S.C. in the Family Part in Bergen County. She has represented DCPP (originally DYFS) in Bergen County for over ten years and has tried virtually hundreds of fact-findings in protective services cases, as well as handling a substantial number of appellate division matters.

**DAG Sharon A. Walli** graduated from Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey with a B.A. in Political Science in 2001, and attended Touro Law School where she graduated with a J.D. in 2004. DAG Walli was a Judicial Law Clerk to the Honorable Raymond A. Reddin, J.S.C. in Passaic County from 2004-2005, and joined the New Jersey Office of the Attorney General in

2005. As a DAG, she has been assigned to Union County where she handled both Protective Service and Guardianship cases.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 5.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these 0.0, qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 5.5 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

**NY CLE Credit:** 5.5 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

**PA CLE Credit:** 4.5 substantive credits (\$7.50 mandatory registration fee required).

# How Do I Register?

# **State Employees**

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

# Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the

AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

# PROGRAM AGENDA

9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Registration

10:00 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Program Overview

10:45 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Discussion of Sample Case

11:30 a.m. - 11:40 a.m. Break

11:40 a.m. - 12:10 p.m. Evidence Review

12:10 p.m. - 1:10 p.m. Summation Practice Session

1:10 p.m. - 2:10 p.m. Lunch (On your own)

2:10 p.m. - 3:50 p.m. Direct Examination Session<sup>1</sup>

3:50 p.m. - 3:55 p.m. Review of the possible uses for the remaining program materials

3:55 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Wrap-up

This session will include a 10-minute break, which will be given at the faculty's discretion.