

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

BASIC PROSECUTORS' COURSE (PHASE III-A) TRIAL ADVOCACY SKILLS PROGRAM

March 9-12, 2015 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.¹ Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This intensive 4-day trial advocacy program combines presentations and learn-by-doing workshops, culminating in a mock trial on the last day. The presentations, which will be by experienced assistant prosecutors and deputy attorneys general, will cover direct examination, cross-examination, persuasive use of exhibits, case theory, opening statements and closing arguments. The participants, in turn, will perform in a series of learn-by-doing workshops, in which they will incorporate what they learned from the presentations and others in dealing with discrete phases of the trial process. All participants then will "try" their case in a mock trial on the last day of the program.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for new assistant prosecutors and Division of Criminal Justice deputies, attendance for which has been determined by each office.

Who Is the Faculty?

The faculty consists of experienced assistant prosecutors, Division of Criminal Justice deputy and assistant attorneys general and other experienced litigators who have extensive expertise in the subject matter on which they are presenting.

¹ End times will vary during the week, but, in no instance, will go beyond 5:00 p.m.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 23.4 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualifies as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 23.4 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law and criminal trial law. Moreover, certain of these presentations may qualify to satisfy the attendees' newly admitted attorney obligations.

NY CLE Credit: 23 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 19.5 substantive credits (\$30.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

employees to register for Most State are able this course by going http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.