

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

GUARDIANSHIP TRAINING

March 11, 2015 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 2nd Floor Point Conference Room 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This class is designed to assist Deputies who have been assigned to prepare a respondent brief in an appeal of a Judgment of Guardianship. There will be a review of the types of arguments generally made on appeal by appellants in those cases where the trial court found that the Division had satisfied the four prongs of <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 30:4C-15.1. This review will be followed by an in-depth analysis and discussion of the statute and case law related to those arguments. A lengthy exercise will follow wherein Deputies will be encouraged to critically analyze a fact pattern, assess the strengths and potential weaknesses of the Division's case, and formulate appropriate reply arguments citing case law.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for those within the DCF Practice Group who have been selected to attend. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not one of those selected to attend.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Melissa Medoway graduated from Georgetown University Law Center in 2011. She clerked for the Honorable Jack Sabatino during the 2011-2012 court year, and in the fall of 2012, joined the Division of Law in the DCF North Section. DAG Medoway is currently assigned to Passaic County and represents the Division in guardianship matters.

DAG Cynthia Schappell has an undergraduate degree from Temple University in 1984. She graduated Seton Hall Law School in 1989 and then clerked for the Honorable David Schroth (deceased) and the Honorable Charles Delehey, J.S.C., Criminal Division, Mercer County. From 1990 to 1995, she worked as a Deputy Attorney General in the Division of Criminal Justice,

Casino Prosecutions Section. She was an assistant prosecutor in Cumberland County from 2000 until 2004, when she came to the Division of Law as a Deputy Attorney General in the DCF practice group. DAG Schappell has been with the Division of Law for 10 years as of December. She was initially assigned to Camden County and from there went to Cumberland County. She started in Mercer County in October of 2014 and handles both abuse/neglect proceedings as well as termination of parental rights cases.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 5.2 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism and 5.2 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 5.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 4.0 substantive credits (\$6.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees able to register for this course by are going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney

General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.