

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

AN OVERVIEW OF THE NEW JERSEY SEXUAL PREDATORS ACT

March 25, 2015 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Trenton Psychiatric Hospital: Auditorium Stratton Building; 1st Floor 100 Sullivan Way Trenton, NJ 08628

Program Summary

This presentation will discuss the Sexually Violent Predator Act (SVPA) and how Sexually Violent Predator cases are handled in New Jersey with an emphasis on issues in common to DCF sexual abuse cases. This presentation will also go through the various steps of Sexually Violent Predator litigation as well as some criminal law regarding sexual offenses, with an emphasis on the psychology involving the various diagnoses used in Sexually Violent Predator litigation that are in common with dispositional hearings in sexual abuse cases. Finally, this presentation will discuss published appellate decisions involving the Sexually Violent Predator cases.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for Department of Human Services personnel and those attorneys within the Department of Law and Public Safety whose sections represent the Department of Human Services, and selected invitees **only**. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not a Department of Human Services employee, an attorney assigned to one of the designated Department of Law and Public Safety sections or selected invitee.

Who Is the Faculty?

SDAG Mark H. Singer is currently Lead attorney with the Division of Law's Health and Human Services, Sexually Violent Predator (SVP) unit, wherein he supervises three attorneys and three paralegals which represent the Attorney General in all phases of litigation regarding the commitment of sexually violent predators. His litigation responsibilities include; the review of files of prisoners convicted of sexual crimes and the selection of those prisoners who are most likely to sexually reoffend for civil commitment to treatment units. He is a Member of the Governor's Advisory Council Against Sexual Violence. Prior to being the lead attorney in the SVP Unit, he worked in the

Tort Litigation Section as well as the Department of Youth and Family Services Section. Prior to joining the Division of Law, he worked with the Burlington County Prosecutor's office. He received his Juris Doctorate from Rutgers School of Law, Camden and a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Montclair State College.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credits. Of these, up to 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

course Most State employees able to register for this are bv going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the

AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.