The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

WORKING WITH THE NEW JERSEY REGIONAL COMPUTER FORENSIC
LABORATORY (NJRCFL)

September 9, 2015 and October 13, 2015
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
NJ Forensic Science & Technology Center
1200 Negron Drive
Hamilton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This presentation is directed towards investigators, prosecutors, and law enforcement personnel
who interact with digital evidence. The New Jersey Regional Computer Forensic Laboratory is a
one stop, full service forensics laboratory and training center devoted entirely to the examination
of digital evidence in support of criminal investigations. This presentation will provide the
attendee information and advice concerning the seizure of digital evidence, submission to the
laboratory, explanation of the forensic process, and understanding of forensic results. This
presentation will focus on providing information that will take the mystery out of the forensic
process in order to foster a strong working relationship between the NJRCFL and the submitting
agency.

Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for DAsG, AAsG within the Division of Criminal Justice, County
Assistant Prosecutor’s and investigative law enforcement personnel, only. If you are not
one of the aforementioned, please do not attempt to register for this program.

Who Is the Faculty?

Lt. Michael Tansey is currently the Deputy Director of the New Jersey Regional Computer
Forensic Laboratory. He is a Certified Computer Forensic Examiner (CFCE) through the
International Association of Computer Investigative Specialists. He has conducted computer
forensic examinations since his assignment to the New Jersey State Police High Tech Crimes
Unit in 2001. He continued his experience in computer forensics through his assignments to the



NJSP Digital Technology Investigations Unit and the Internet Crimes Against Children Task
Force, NJSP Cyber-Crimes Unit and NJ Cyber-Crimes Task Force/NJ Cyber-Terrorism Task
Force. He is the unit head of the NJSP RCFL Unit.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).
PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required).
How Do | Register?
State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to
http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAIl Course
Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the
Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include
you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at:
Advocacylnstitute@Ips.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI
Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account
through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two
paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which
you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System
account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.
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