

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

MOTION PRACTICE SKILLS TRAINING

September 11, 2015 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Point Meeting Area-Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This intensive advocacy program is intended to enhance the participants' oral advocacy skills when arguing motions in court in a constructive and positive learning environment facilitated by experienced attorneys serving as faculty. While the program will challenge participants to perform at their best, the program's primary goal is to afford participants the opportunity to build upon the skills they have, take what they learn and apply it during their subsequent performances, and to finish the program with a better understanding of how to persuasively and professionally further their clients' interests at oral argument. Attendees must attend the day in full and there is preparation work to do prior to attending the program.

The program will contain a mix of topical presentations on various aspects of motions practice and "learn-by-doing" workshops. The emphasis in the workshops will be on participant performance of various advocacy skills followed by constructive faculty critique. Each participant's performance will be critiqued by two faculty members during each workshop. Unless otherwise noted, the workshops will be video recorded. In these instances, each participant will also participate in a one-on-one review of his/her performance with a third faculty member.

Who Should Attend?

This program is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

Who Is the Faculty?

Experienced members of the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's faculty will be teaching this course.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 6.3 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 6.3 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law qualify as hours of credit towards newly admitted/civil trial preparation.

NY CLE Credit: 6.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy)

PA CLE Credit: 5.0 Substantive Credits (\$7.50mandatory registration fee required)

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System

account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

PROGRAM SCHEDULE

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Participant Registration

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. **Faculty Meeting**

9:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. Welcome

9:15 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Presentation: Skills for Effective Motion Oral Advocacy

10:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. **Break**

10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. Performance Workshop: Case Theory & Strategy Discussion (This session will **not** be video recorded)

> For the purposes of this workshop, the A's will meet as a group with their faculty facilitator, and B's will meet separately as a group with their faculty facilitator. Each participant should be prepared to discuss and develop a unified case theory for your side, and discuss the role the motions he/she will be arguing enhance his/her side's case theory.

12:45 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.Performance Workshop: Plaintiff's Motion to Compel Discovery (This session will be recorded)

Lunch (On your own)

Each A should argue in support of the motion to compel discovery as if he/she were doing so in court. Each B, in turn, will argue in opposition to the motion. Arguments will be limited to those in the briefs submitted, asking the court for what you want and why, amplification of the issues raised in the briefs, and to responding to the court's

request for additional argument.

2:15 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.Break

11:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.

2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.Performance Workshop: Defendants' Motion for Partial Summary Judgment Dismissing Claim IV of the Complaint

> Each B should argue in support of the motion as if he/she were doing so in court. Each A, in turn, will argue in opposition to the motion. Arguments will be limited to those in the briefs submitted, amplification of the issues raised in the briefs, and to responding to the court's request for additional argument.

4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.Wrap-up Session