

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

#### PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

#### DIVISION OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES OVERVIEW FOR NON-DCF DEPUTIES

February 3, 2015
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
6th Floor-Point Meeting Area-Attorney General's Library
25 Market Street
Trenton, New Jersey

### **Program Summary**

Reading about child abuse cases in the newspaper can be very misleading. Did you know that 85% of DIVISION OF Children and Family (DCF) client families are helped without the children having to leave home? This class will explain the mission of the Department of Child Protection and Families and the ways in which DCF Deputy Attorneys General help them succeed. DCF DAsG do not sit behind their desks. So you won't find them to ask about their assignment. Come to this class and you will hear about the Deputies' experiences in court, and about the lives of the children and families whose stories create these cases. Those in related fields will have the opportunity to ask questions about the intersection of DCF with education, health and juvenile justice matters, although that will not be the focus of the presentation.

## Who Should Attend?

This program is intended for all government attorneys, space allowing.

### Who Is the Faculty?

AAG Lauren Carlton joined the Division of Law in 1981 after graduating from Duke Law School. First hired as a Law Assistant, Lauren was a Division of Children and Families deputy for many years before being promoted to Assistant Section Chief for Consumer Protection and Securities, and then to Chief for a combined Securities and DCF Section. Lauren has created and taught many courses for DCF staff and for Deputies in lawyering skills and substantive DCF law, created the DCF Deputy Attorney General Manual and enhanced the DCF brief bank. She is presently AAG in Charge for the Division of Children and Families Practice Group and loves her work.

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

**NY CLE Credit:** 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

**PA CLE Credit:** 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

# How Do I Register?

### **State Employees**

Most State employees able to register for this course are by going http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

## Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Most State employees are able to register for this course by http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

## Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.