

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

### PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

# STANDING AND EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY UNDER NEW JERSEY SEARCH AND SEIZURE LAW

February 9, 2016 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

### **Program Summary**

This presentation will address crucial concepts in litigating a motion to suppress evidence in New Jersey. Specifically, it will focus on the interplay between the procedural question of standing and the substantive question of whether a defendant has a reasonable expectation of privacy in the place searched or the item seized.

### Who Should Attend?

This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

#### Who Is the Faculty?

**Emily Anderson** has been a Deputy Attorney General in the Appellate Bureau since August 2011. Previously, she served in the Appellate Bureau as a Volunteer Associate. She received her B.A. from University of Pennsylvania and her law degree from Rutgers School of Law - Newark. Following law school, she clerked in the Appellate Division for the Honorable Carmen H. Alvarez, J.A.D. She was nominated for an Attorney General Award for Excellence in 2013 for her trial assistance in State v. Anna Taliaferro, an official-misconduct case.

**Jennifer Kmieciak** has been a Deputy Attorney General in the Appellate Bureau since September 2011. She received her B.A. from The College of New Jersey and her law degree from the Rutgers School of Law - Camden. Following law school, she clerked in the Appellate Division for the Honorable Victor Ashrafi, J.A.D. She received an Attorney General Award for Excellence in 2012 for her trial assistance in State v. Abdur-Raheem, a murder case.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.00 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 2.0 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in criminal trial law.

**NY CLE Credit:** 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

**PA CLE Credit:** 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

## How Do I Register?

## **State Employees**

State employees register for this Most are able to course by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

# Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you

selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.