

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

THE BASICS OF HANDLING AN ADMINISTRATIVE CASE

June 16-17, 2016 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This two-day administrative law advocacy program will provide an overview of how to handle an administrative case from entering an appearance through filing exceptions. The presentations will cover topics such as: the introduction to administrative practice, propounding and answering discovery, preparing a witness for hearing, case theory and opening statements, direct examination and use of exhibits, cross examination and impeachment, and post hearing briefs/closing arguments.

Who Should Attend?

This program is open to all DAsG within the Division of Law, Administrative Practice Group, **only**. If you are not a DAG in the Administrative Practice Group, please do not attempt to register for this course.

Who Is the Faculty?

Experienced attorneys from the Division of Law's Administrative Practice Group will be faculty for this program.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 10.2 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 10.2 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law and 10.2 qualify as hours of credit toward newly admitted requirements, civil trial preparation.

NY CLE Credit: 10.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 8.5 substantive credits (\$13.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course going http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

AGENDA

THURSDAY, JUNE 16, 2016

9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Introduction to Administrative Practice AAG Daniel F. Dryzga
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Step by Step Guide to Litigating an Administrative Case DAG Christopher Hamner
11:00 a.m 11:15 a.m.	Break
11:15 a.m 12:15 p.m.	Propounding and Responding to Discovery DAG Susan Scott
12:15 p.m 1:15 p.m.	Lunch
1:15 p.m 2:15 p.m.	Preparing a Witness for a Hearing DAG Jacqueline Augustine
2:15 p.m 2:30 p.m.	Break
2:30 p.m 3:30 p.m.	Case Theory and Opening Statements AAG Daniel F. Dryzga
3:30 p.m 4:00 p.m.	Wrap Up and Q&A
FRIDAY, JUNE 17, 2016	
9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Direct Examination and Exhibits AAG Daniel F. Dryzga
11:00 a.m 11:15 a.m.	Break
11:15 a.m 12:15 p.m.	Post Hearing Briefs and Exceptions DAG Donna Arons
12:15 p.m 1:15 p.m.	Lunch
1:15 p.m 2:45 p.m.	Cross Examination and Impeachment AAG Daniel F. Dryzga
2:45 p.m 3:30 p.m.	Wrap Up and Q&A