

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

NEGOTIATION AND DISPUTE RESOLUTION WORKSHOP

August 2, 2016 9:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

This one-day workshop is specifically designed for attorneys and other legal professionals. Topics covered include negotiation theory and practice, the differences between mediation and arbitration, and how to use mediation to settle court cases. The highly interactive format includes role-play exercises and discussion. Participants who complete this course may then choose to attend an additional two-day training program that will qualify them to apply for inclusion on the New Jersey Superior Court Civil Mediator Roster.

Who Should Attend?

This program is recommended for all attorneys who handle civil or administrative matters involving negotiation, mediation, arbitration or other alternative dispute resolution processes.

Who Is the Faculty?

Jessica M. Pyryt is a Mediator with the New Jersey Office of Dispute Settlement (ODS). ODS is one of the leading dispute resolution offices in the country, mediating over 50 cases each year for the State and federal courts. Ms. Pyryt joined ODS in 2011 as a Foreclosure Mediator, and has since expanded her mediation practice to include a wide variety of civil case types including small claims, personal injury, and employment. Ms. Pyryt also facilitates several types of training for ODS. She has trained groups including New Jersey Civil Court Roster Mediators, attorneys and staff members of the Public Defender and Attorney General's Offices, and members of the New Jersey State Police. Ms. Pyryt received her J.D. from Rutgers Camden School of Law. Immediately following law school, she clerked for the Hon. Julio L. Mendez in the New Jersey Superior Court, Family Part.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 5.4 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 5.4 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 5.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 4.5 substantive credits (\$7.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most employees register for State are able to this course by going to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.