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ETHICALLY DEALING WITH THE MEDIA

January 13, 2017
2:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
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PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS
Materials will be provided for this course.

Program Summary

This presentation will provide an overview of the ethics rules that prosecutors and other
attorneys must follow when speaking to the media. The Rules of Professional Conduct, National
District Attorneys General Standards, and case law will be discussed. Actual examples of
statements made by prosecutors in high-profile cases, including the Duke Lacrosse, George
Zimmerman and Freddie Gray cases, will be analyzed.

Who Should Attend?

Registration for this course is limited to those who have been selected to participate in the State
House Series programs. Please do not attempt to register if you have not been notified of your
eligibility for this series.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Erik Daab started his career with the Tennessee Office of the Attorney General working
on death penalty cases, and was the State Witness for the execution of the first inmate executed
in Tennessee in forty years. He later joined the New Jersey Attorney General's Office, where he
has served in the Appellate Bureau, Corruption Bureau, and as Chief of the Medicaid Fraud Unit.
He is currently the Deputy Chief of the Gangs and Organized Crime Bureau of the Attorney
General's Office, which prosecutes large scale narcotics and weapons trafficking cases. Daab is



also both a lecturer for the Attorney General’s Advocacy Institute and a member of the AGAI
skills program faculty.

Lieutenant Governor Kim Guadagno, who also serves as Secretary of State, began her public
service career as a federal prosecutor with the Organized Crime & Racketeering Strike Force in
Brooklyn, New York. She then became an Assistant United States Attorney in Newark and was
awarded the nation's highest honor for her separate prosecutions of two corrupt public officials.
Guadagno next served in a high level position in the State of New Jersey Attorney General's
Office, where she was a member of the Attorney General’s Advocacy Institute skills program
faculty. In 2001, Guadagno left the public sector to practice law closer to home and became a
teacher at Rutgers University School of Law-Newark. In 2007, Guadagno was elected as the first
woman sheriff in Monmouth County’s history. As Sheriff, she managed a 650-member law
enforcement agency encompassing the county jail, the county 911 communications center, and a
law enforcement department of 100 men and women. She left both the Office of Sheriff and her
position as a teacher at Rutgers Law School upon becoming Lt. Governor. Lt. Governor
Guadagno is a cum laude graduate of Ursinus College in Collegeville, Pennsylvania. She
received her juris doctorate degree, cum laude, from the American University Washington
College of Law in Washington, DC.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of
the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.5 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 2.5 qualify as hours of
credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 2.5 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).
PA CLE Credit: 2.0 ethics credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required).
How Do | Register?
State Employees

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to
http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course
Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the
Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include
you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at:
Advocacylnstitute@Ips.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI
Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account
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through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two
paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created
you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need
only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to
request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on
our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System
account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/.
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create
Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you
selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.Ips.state.nj.us/Ipcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and
password for your records.
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