

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

MOTIONS TO DISMISS IN FEDERAL COURT

March 2, 2017 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. NJ Forensic Science & Technology Center 1200 Negron Drive Hamilton, New Jersey

PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

All materials for New Jersey Attorney General's Advocacy Institute continuing legal education courses are now available electronically through the Advocacy Institute website: www.njadvocacyinstitute.com. Materials will be posted to the website approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the course date.

The institute will no longer provide paper copies of course materials. This policy is effective immediately and is within the guidelines of the New Jersey Board of Continuing Legal Education and the Pennsylvania Continuing Legal Education Board. Please follow the procedure below to obtain course materials:

- Click on the Course Information tab.
- Select Course Materials from the drop-down menu.
- Click on the course that you are registered for. Courses are listed alphabetically by title.
- Most courses will have two files; a file containing class materials that you should bring to the session and a file with reference materials such as statutes, regulations and cases.
- Print the documents in the class materials file and bring them with you to the session.
- You have the option of printing the documents in the reference materials file or downloading them to a computer or mobile device.

Program Summary

This presentation is designed to provide government attorneys who defend state agencies in U. S. District Court with guidance on the effective use of motions made pursuant to F.R.C.P. 12b and related authorities. Topics to be covered include; the proper ways to present defenses in pleadings, sovereign immunity and techniques and suggested practices to help make the most compelling Motions to Dismiss under F.R.C.P. 12(b)(6).

Who Should Attend?

This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

Who Is the Faculty?

Paul Kaufman is an Assistant United States Attorney in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. In that capacity, he litigates cases ranging from minor torts to employment discrimination to multimillion dollar defense contracting and health care fraud. He has served as a Department of Justice instructor in electronic discovery since 2008, and he has taught on subjects including information management, litigation holds, mass data search and retrieval, and attorney ethics both at the National Advocacy Center and throughout the country. Paul is an adjunct member of the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania Law School, Widener University Delaware School of Law, and Temple University Beasley School of Law.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.8 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 1.8 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees able to register for this course are by going to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. **Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.**

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.