

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

IT TAKES A TEAM: ADDRESSING CHILDREN'S RECANTATION STATEMENTS IN CHILD ABUSE INVESTIGATIONS

June 30, 2017 9:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This workshop will include a comprehensive examination of children's recantation statements in child sexual abuse cases. Participants will learn the multidisciplinary team approach to identifying the factors which suggest future recantation, minimizing the potential for recantation, responding to recantation, and most importantly, assessing its credibility. Research on recantation rates will also be examined. There will be a discussion on the utility of expert testimony in legal proceedings and the status of the current New Jersey Supreme Court remand in Hudson County, State v. Gil, where the Supreme Court is revisiting Child Sexual Abuse Accommodation Syndrome testimony.

Who Should Attend?

Course will be of special interest to deputies in the Department of Children and Families Practice Group, however other may find this of interest

Who Is the Faculty?

Professor Joseph A. Del Russo is an Assistant Professor at the Montclair State University Graduate School's Robert D. McCormick Center for Child Advocacy and Policy. He teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses relating to the prevention, investigation and prosecution of child maltreatment cases. He has also served as an adjunct professor at Rutgers University Graduate School of Social Work.

Professor Del Russo is currently the Co-Director of the *CF-FW* program in New Jersey, which trains detectives, municipal police, child protection workers, mental health professionals, physicians, sexual assault nurse examiners, and other family violence professionals on a protocol for conducting forensically defensible interviews. He has lectured nationally about aspects of the protocol. Professor Del Russo has been a consultant and trainer to New Jersey's Division of Child Protection and Permanency since 2005. He drafts curricula for and trains DCP&P staff.

Professor Del Russo is also an attorney and is *Of Counsel* in the Clifton, New Jersey *Law Firm of Matthew T. Priore, Esq.*, where he practices law part time. Professor Del Russo recently retired as the Chief Assistant Prosecutor with the Passaic County Prosecutor's office, where he supervised a team of attorneys, detectives, social workers paralegals and nurses in the Prosecutor's Special Victims Unit and Megan's Law Unit for over 20 years. Professor Del Russo is a graduate of Rutgers University School of Law. He was also a founding member and Past-President of the American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children – New Jersey.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 3.6 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 3.5 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 3.0 substantive credits (\$4.50 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

able to register for Most State employees are this course by going to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>njagai@njoag.gov</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.