
 

 

 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

HELPING VICTIMS RECOVER FROM THE EFFECTS OF VIOLENT 

CRIMES - AN OVERVIEW OF THE VICTIMS OF CRIME 

COMPENSATION OFFICE  
 

August 24, 2017 

10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. 

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 

6
th

 Floor Point Meeting Area - Attorney General’s Library 

25 Market Street 

Trenton, New Jersey 

 

PLEASE READ:  NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 

 

Program Summary 

 

This course will provide an overview of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office, starting 

with its purpose and structure, including a discussion of the laws and regulations governing 

claim applications. The program will cover eligibility requirements, compensable crimes, 

compensable damages, catastrophic claims, subrogation, as well as common reasons for claim 

denial and appeals before the VCC Review Board. 

 

 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This program is open to all government attorneys, space providing. 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 

 

AAG Alvin Ricardo Little, Esq. (“Rick”, as he is known by several people) is the Executive 

Director of the New Jersey Attorney General’s Victims of Crime Compensation Office 



 

 

(“VCCO”).  In his role as Executive Director, Rick is responsible for the VCCO’s final 

determinations on whether violent crime victims and secondary violent crime victims have 

presented claims which are eligible and compensable under New Jersey’s Criminal Injuries 

Compensation Act of 1971. 

 

Rick’s career as a lawyer began in private practice at Kraft & Hughes, and continued at Riker, 

Danzig, Highland & Perretti.  At each of those firms he focused primarily on public finance and 

secured transactions.  Rick’s public service career includes serving as Chief Regulatory Officer 

and an Assistant Commissioner at the New Jersey Department of Transportation and as the 

Executive Director of the New Jersey Transportation Trust Fund Authority. 

 

Later, as a New Jersey Deputy Attorney General, Rick handled a variety of administrative 

agency cases, complex civil litigation, appellate cases, and complex transactional matters.  He 

next served as the Assistant Attorney General in Charge of the Newark Administrative Practice 

Group.  In 2016 he was appointed Deputy Director of the VCCO, and in 2017 Rick was named 

the VCCO’s Executive Director.  He is a graduate of the American University and the Catholic 

University Columbus School of Law. 

 

CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for  2.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 

hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. 

 

NY CLE Credit:  2.0 Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Substantive Credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required). 

 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 

State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 

Create Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include 

you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

    

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


 

 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course 

Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account through the 

portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

 

http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

