
 

 

 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

PENALTIES FOR UNCIVIL SERVICE:  

THE FUNDAMENTALS OF EMPLOYEE DISCIPLINE 
 

September 20, 2017 

10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 

124 Halsey Street 

5th Floor Conference Room 10C 

Newark, New Jersey 

 

 

THIS COURSE WILL BE SIMULCAST FROM TRENTON 
 

Please note: Because this course will be simulcast from Trenton, the following CLE 

regulations apply to credits earned by attending the course in Newark: 

 

New Jersey:  The simulcast of this course is an Alternate Verifiable Learning Format 

(AVF) Program.  Courses taken through alternative verifiable learning formats shall 

account for no more than twelve credit hours per compliance period.   

 

Pennsylvania and New York:  The simulcast of this course is a Distance Learning Program. 

Credits earned via Distance Learning Programs in excess of the annual CLE credit limit 

will not carry over into subsequent compliance periods. 

 

 

PLEASE READ:  NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 

Program Summary 

 

This program will cover employee discipline under the civil service system, starting with the 

types of disciplinary actions, appeal procedures, due process hearings at OAL and Civil Service 



 

 

Commission determinations.  The course will also discuss how to discipline employees, 

including how to support an employer's case in a disciplinary proceeding.  Other issues covered 

will be the working test period, suspension pending criminal charges and forfeiture of public 

employment. 

 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This program is intended for attorneys who handle personnel, labor relations and disciplinary 

matters.  Others, however, may find the issues discussed to be of interest. 

 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 

 

Jennifer Malinowski, Esq. began her career in 2001 as a Deputy Attorney General at the 

Division of Law in the Employment Litigation Section where she handled civil service 

disciplinary cases for several State agencies.  As a DAG, Mrs. Malinowski appeared before the 

Office of Administrative Law and the Appellate Division on civil service matters.  From 2004-

2001 she served as a staff attorney at the Public Employment Relations Commission.  In 2007, 

she joined the Employee Relations Office at the NJ Department of Corrections and served as 

Assistant Director.  In 2015, she was appointed Director of Policy and Planning at NJDOC.  As 

Director, Mrs. Malinowski oversees the Research and Evaluation Unit, the Administrative 

Policies and Procedures Unit, the PREA Compliance Unit and the Grants Management Unit.  

She graduated from LaSalle University and earned a J.D. from Rutgers University School of Law 

and an M.B.A. from American University. 
 

 

CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for  2.0 hours of total Alternate Verifiable Learning Format 

(AVF) CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. 

 

NY CLE Credit:  2.0 Distance Learning Program Substantive Credits (pursuant to the approved 

jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Distance Learning Program Substantive Credits ($3.00 mandatory 

registration fee required). 

 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


 

 

State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 

Create Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include 

you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

    

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course 

Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account through the 

portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

