
 
 
 
 
  

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Announce 

 

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

THE BASICS OF HANDLING AN ADMINISTRATIVE CASE 

 

October 2-3, 2017 

9:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. 

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 

6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General’s Library 

25 Market Street 

Trenton, New Jersey 

 

 

MATERIALS WILL BE PROVIDED TO YOU FOR THIS 

PROGRAM 
 

Program Summary 

 

This two-day administrative law advocacy program will provide an overview of how to handle 

an administrative case from entering an appearance through filing exceptions.  The presentations 

will cover topics such as: the introduction to administrative practice, propounding and answering 

discovery, preparing a witness for hearing, case theory and opening statements, direct 

examination and use of exhibits, cross examination and impeachment, and post hearing 

briefs/closing arguments.   

 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This program is open to all DAsG within the Division of Law, Administrative Practice Group, 

only.  If you are not a DAG in the Administrative Practice Group, please do not attempt to 

register for this course. 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 

Experienced attorneys from the Division of Law’s Administrative Practice Group will be faculty 

for this program. 

 

  



CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 11.4 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 

hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 11.4 qualify as hours of credit toward certification 

in civil trial law and 11.4 qualify as hours of credit toward newly admitted requirements, civil 

trial preparation.   

 

NY CLE Credit:  11.0  substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit:  9.5 substantive credits ($15.00 mandatory registration fee required). 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration 

account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI 

Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for 

future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and password for your 

records.   

 

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI 

Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account 

through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two 

paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

http://www.state.nj.us/


Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/login.aspx?portalid=2 to 

register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  



AGENDA 

 

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 2, 2017 
 

9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.  Introduction to Administrative Practice   

 AAG Daniel F. Dryzga 

 

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Step by Step Guide to Litigating an Administrative Case 

 DAG Christopher Hamner 

 

11:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. Break  

 

11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. Propounding and Responding to Discovery 

 DAG Susan Scott 

 

12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. Lunch 

  

1:15 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.   Case Theory and Opening Statements     

 AAG Daniel F. Dryzga   

 

2:15 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Break 

          

2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. Post Hearing Briefs and Exceptions 

 DAG Donna Arons  

 

3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Wrap Up  and  Q&A 

 

  



 

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 3, 2017 
 

 

9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.  Preparing a Witness for a Hearing 

 DAG Jacqueline Augustine 

 

10:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. Break 

 

10:45 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. Direct Examination and Exhibits   

 AAG Daniel F. Dryzga   

 

12:45 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. Lunch 

 

1:45 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. Cross Examination and Impeachment    

 AAG Daniel F. Dryzga 

 

3:45 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. Wrap Up  and  Q&A 


