

### PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

### THE FUNDAMENTALS OF LEGAL RESEARCH

#### Part I: Research Exercise

November 30 or December 1, 2017

Deputies will be scheduled for one of the following time periods on November 30:

9:00 a.m. to 9:50 a.m. 10:00 a.m. to 10:50 a.m. 11:00 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. 12:00 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. 2:00 p.m. to 2:50 p.m. 3:00 p.m. to 3:50 p.m.

OR

#### December 1:

9:00 a.m. to 9:50 a.m. 10:00 a.m. to 10:50 a.m. 11:00 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. 12:00 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. 1:00 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. 2:00 p.m. to 2:50 p.m.

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6<sup>th</sup> Floor Point Meeting Area - Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

# research exercise. All participants are also required to attend the December 1 plenary session and must attend both the sessions to receive CLE credits for the program.

#### **AND**

**Part II: Plenary Session** 

December 1, 2017
3:00 p.m. to 3:50 p.m.
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
6<sup>th</sup> Floor Point Meeting Area - Attorney General's Library
25 Market Street
Trenton, New Jersey

# PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials on each day of the program.

## **Program Summary**

A brief is due tomorrow and neither Lexis nor Westlaw yields the answer to a key question. What recourse is there for an attorney trained in today's digital age? This course will explore "old school" research methods, providing attorneys with guidance on how to use the materials in the Attorney General's Library, including code books, case reporters, state digests, and treatises to conduct analog legal research. Registrants will be assigned to a team of three or four attorneys that will be given a 50 minute exercise seeking specific source materials, with periodic guidance provided by the instructor. The program will conclude with a plenary session where all participants will receive a primer on the library's resources and an evaluation of the timeliness and accuracy of each team's legal research results.

#### Who Should Attend?

This program is intended only for attorneys in the Division of Law. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not an attorney within the DOL.

# Who Is the Faculty?

AAG John Bender has been with the Division of Law for over 32 years. He is currently Counsel to the Director, AAG in Charge of Administrative Agency Advice, Ethics Liaison Officer and Legislative Liaison for the Division of Law. He previously held the positions of Deputy Director and head of the Trenton Administrative Practice Group. He counsels State agencies on OPMA questions and budget/appropriations questions. AAG Bender has also represented the Domestic Security Task Force, the Office of Homeland Security and Preparedness and heads the Division of Law On-Call Program.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

**NOTE:** Pennsylvania and New York CLE credit will not be offered for this program.

# How Do I Register?

#### **State Employees**

course Most State employees are able to register for this by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

# Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <a href="mailto:njagai@njoag.gov">njagai@njoag.gov</a> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and

password for your records.