
 

 

 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

VICTIMS’ RIGHTS AND SERVICES OF NEW JERSEY:  

VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE (VCCO) 

 

December 13, 2017 

3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. 

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex  

6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General’s Library  

25 Market Street  

Trenton, New Jersey 

 

 

PLEASE READ:  NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 

 

Program Summary 

 

This course will provide an overview of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO), 

including a discussion of the claims process, eligibility criteria, and recent regulatory proposals. 

   
 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This program is mandatory for all Division of Criminal Justice Deputy Attorneys General hired 

after January 1, 2015.  The Division of Criminal Justice has notified those attorneys who are 

required to attend this program.  Other attorneys within the Department of Law and Public Safety 

are welcome to attend; space permitting.  Please do not attempt to register for this program if you 

are not an attorney in the Department of Law and Public Safety. 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 

 

Louise T. Lester is the Deputy Director of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO).  

Prior to her appointment as Deputy Director of VCCO, Ms. Lester was assigned to the 

Prosecutors Supervision and Training Bureau with the Division of Criminal Justice.  AAG Lester 

joined the Division in 2000 and has held various positions including, Chief of the Corruption 

Bureau, Acting Senior Counsel with the Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor, and 

Investigative Counsel with the Office of the Inspector General. 

 

AAG Lester is a career prosecutor with over 25 years of experience.  Prior to joining the 

Division, Ms. Lester was an Assistant United States Attorney with the U.S. Attorney’s Office, 

Camden, New Jersey.  As an AUSA, Ms. Lester prosecuted and tried various criminal matters 

including, bank robberies, fraud, theft, immigration, and drug trafficking cases.  Additionally, 

Ms. Lester was an Assistant Prosecutor with the Bergen County Prosecutor’s Office where she 

prosecuted juvenile, domestic violence and other criminal matters.  Further, Ms. Lester has 

worked with the Office of Governor’s Counsel as an Assistant Counsel assigned to review all 

proposed criminal law legislation and has worked as an Associate with the law firm of Riker, 

Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti, Morristown, New Jersey.  Ms. Lester is a graduate of 

Rutgers College and Rutgers School of Law, Newark.    

 

 

CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total CLE credits.   

 

NY CLE Credit: 1.0 substantive credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit:  1.0 substantive credit ($1.50 mandatory registration fee required). 

 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 

State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 

Create Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include 

you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

    

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course 

Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account through the 

portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

 

http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

