

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

HANDLING POST-CONVICTION RELIEF PETITIONS

February 7, 2018
3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library
25 Market Street
Trenton, New Jersey

PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

Program Summary

This presentation will focus on effective means of handling post-conviction relief petitions, both in the trial courts and the appellate courts. The presentation will cover the rules governing procedural bars in the post-conviction relief context, the right to discovery on PCR, the circumstances under which a PCR hearing is required, and effective ways of responding to PCR challenges.

Who Should Attend?

This program is mandatory for all Division of Criminal Justice Deputy Attorneys General hired after January 1, 2015. The Division of Criminal Justice has notified those attorneys who are required to attend this program. Other attorneys within the Department of Law and Public Safety are welcome to attend; space permitting. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not an attorney in the Department of Law and Public Safety.

Who Is the Faculty?

DAG Daniel I. Bornstein has served as Chief of the Appellate Bureau of the Division of Criminal Justice since September 2014. He started working for the Appellate Bureau of the Division of Criminal Justice in 1995, and for about seven years, he handled both criminal trials and appeals while being simultaneously assigned to the Appellate Bureau and the Gangs & Organized Crime Bureau. While in the Gangs & Organized Crime Bureau, DAG Bornstein successfully prosecuted and tried cases involving homicide, racketeering, and weapons and narcotics offenses, including several multi-defendant wiretap cases. While in the Appellate Bureau, DAG Bornstein has handled many appeals before the New Jersey Supreme Court and the Appellate Division. He has also defended against habeas petitions before the United States District Court and Third Circuit Court of Appeals. He now supervises the Appellate Bureau and regularly provides guidance to prosecutors throughout the State. He is also an instructor for the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute. DAG Bornstein graduated *magna cum laude* from Colgate University and received his law degree from the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He clerked for the Honorable Martin J. Kole, J.A.D., t/a, and the Honorable Theodore A. Winard, J.S.C.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.8 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 0.0 total qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

NY CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credits (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

employees able to register are for this course by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.