
 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 
 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 

 

THE NUTS AND BOLTS OF ATTORNEY/CLIENT PRIVILEGE AND THE WORK 

PRODUCT DOCTRINE IN THE GOVERNMENT CONTEXT 

 

February 20, 2018 

10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. 

Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 

4th Floor Conference Room A 

25 Market Street 

Trenton, New Jersey 

 

PLEASE READ:  NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  
 

Program Summary 

 

This seminar will provide the nuts and bolts of the law and practice involving the attorney/client 

privilege, deliberative process privilege and the attorney work product doctrine. The course will 

address the law and issues that relate to applying these doctrines in the government context, 

including practical tips on dealing when requests or demands are made for records which include 

privileged or protected materials. 

 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This program is open to all government attorneys, space allowing. 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 
 

AAG Brian F. McDonough is an Assistant Attorney General with the Affirmative Civil 

Enforcement Practice Group.  Prior to joining the Division of Law, he was in private practice 

with a national law firm for twenty nine years where he specialized in securities and commercial 

litigation in the New York and New Jersey State and federal courts, as well as in arbitration 

tribunals throughout the country.  Throughout the course of his career he has also devoted 

significant amounts of time to pro bono civil rights and capital post-conviction litigation.  He 

began his career as a law clerk to former New Jersey Supreme Court Justice Robert Wilentz. 

 



 

CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 2.0 qualify as 

hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.   

 

NY CLE Credit:  2.0 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit:  1.5 ethics credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required). 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 

State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 

Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include 

you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2  

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.   

 

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI 

Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account 

through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two 

paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://www.state.nj.us/


selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

