

# PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

## VICTIMS' RIGHTS AND SERVICES OF NEW JERSEY: VICTIMS OF CRIME COMPENSATION OFFICE (VCCO)

### April 5, 2018 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Cumberland County Administration Building 164 West Broad Street Bridgeton, NJ 08302

# **PLEASE READ:** NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

## Program Summary

This course will provide an overview of the Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO), including a discussion of the claims process, eligibility criteria, and recent regulatory proposals.

## Who Should Attend?

This program is specifically for Assistant Prosecutors and victim advocates from the Cumberland and Salem County Prosecutor's Offices. Please do not attempt to register for this course if you are not from these two offices.

## Who Is the Faculty?

AAG Alvin Ricardo Little, Esq. ("Rick", as he is known by several people) is the Executive Director of the New Jersey Attorney General's Victims of Crime Compensation Office ("VCCO"). In his role as Executive Director, Rick is responsible for the VCCO's final determinations on whether violent crime victims and secondary violent crime victims have

presented claims which are eligible and compensable under New Jersey's Criminal Injuries Compensation Act of 1971.

Rick's career as a lawyer began in private practice at Kraft & Hughes, and continued at Riker, Danzig, Highland & Perretti. At each of those firms he focused primarily on public finance and secured transactions. Rick's public service career includes serving as Chief Regulatory Officer and an Assistant Commissioner at the New Jersey Department of Transportation and as the Executive Director of the New Jersey Transportation Trust Fund Authority.

Later, as a New Jersey Deputy Attorney General, Rick handled a variety of administrative agency cases, complex civil litigation, appellate cases, and complex transactional matters. He next served as the Assistant Attorney General in Charge of the Newark Administrative Practice Group. In 2016 he was appointed Deputy Director of the VCCO, and in 2017 Rick was named the VCCO's Executive Director. He is a graduate of the American University and the Catholic University Columbus School of Law.

## CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credits.

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 substantive credit (\$3.00 mandatory registration fee required).

## How Do I Register?

#### **State Employees**

able to register for going Most State employees are this course bv to http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

#### Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: <u>njagai@njoag.gov</u> for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs. Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <u>http://www.state.nj.us/</u>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <u>http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</u> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.