
 

 

 

 

  
PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 
The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 

 
THE ABCs OF ABC: FROM REGULATION TO RAIDS 

 
May 1, 2018 

2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. 
New Jersey Governor’s Office 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1 

225 West State Street 
Trenton, New Jersey 

 
PLEASE READ:  NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 
. You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment. 
 
 

Program Summary 
 

Come and explore over 80 years of alcoholic beverage control in New Jersey!  From the repeal 
of Prohibition and the enactment of Title 33, this presentation by the Division of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control will provide an overview of ABC regulation in New Jersey.  The presentation 
will cover pertinent case law, including narcotics and lewd activity on a licensed premises; how 
investigations are conducted and administrative versus criminal prosecutions.  The presentation 
will also focus on the administrative enforcement actions of the Division. 

 
 

Who Should Attend? 
 

Registration for this course is limited to those who have been selected to participate in the 
State House Series programs.  Please do not attempt to register if you have not been 
notified of your eligibility for this series. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
Who Is the Faculty? 

 
AAG J. Wesley Geiselman has been with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control since 
1984.  Wes is currently Counsel to the Director.  Prior to that position, Wes served as the 
Division’s Chief Prosecutor for 18 years.   Wes has been involved in most of the Division’s 
prosecutions and regulatory actions during his 34 year tenure at the ABC.  Prior to joining the 
Division, Wes was the municipal attorney for Freehold Borough.  He received his law degree 
from the University of Louisville School of Law and his Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political 
Science from Franklin and Marshall College. 
 
DAG Susan Kulik Dolan has been with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control since 1997. 
Susan is currently Assistant Counsel to the Director, responsible for regulatory issues before the 
ABC.  For her first 17 years with the Division, Susan was assigned to the Enforcement Bureau, 
where she litigated cases involving violations of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act before the 
Director and the Office of Administrative Law. Prior to joining the Division, she was an 
Assistant Prosecutor in Bergen County for nine years.  Susan earned her J.D. from Seton Hall 
University School of Law and received her A.B. in Political Science from Manhattanville 
College. 
 
Chief Investigator Kevin T. Barber has been with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
since 1995 and currently serves as the head of the Investigations Bureau.  He plans and 
coordinates investigations and supervises a staff of investigators who investigate and inspect 
prospective and current holders of retail and wholesale liquor licenses.  Kevin previously served 
as an investigator for the Division, conducting retail compliance inspections and participating in 
undercover operations for underage drinking.  He also assisted with the Division’s training 
seminars for license holders, their employees, and members of law enforcement.  Kevin holds a 
B.A. in Law and Justice from Rowan University and has also completed Levels I, II and III of 
the New Jersey Certified Public Manager Program. 
 
 

CLE Credit 
 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as 
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.   
 
NY CLE Credit:  2.0 substantive credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit:  1.5 substantive credits ($3.00 mandatory registration fee required). 
 

 
 

How Do I Register? 
 

State Employees 
 
Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 
Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include 
you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the  
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 
to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 
password for your records.   
 

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 
 
If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 
AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI 
Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account 
through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two 
paragraphs.  
 
Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 
you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 
only do once.   
 
If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 
request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 
our system. 
 
Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 
account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 
to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 
password for your records.  
 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

