

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

DEPOSITION SKILLS TRAINING

June 7 & 8, 2018 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex 6th Floor Point Meeting Area – Attorney General's Library 25 Market Street Trenton, New Jersey

Program Summary

All registrants must have approval from their supervisors to attend AND supervisors must ensure that attendees will have no conflicting assignments during the two days of this program. DAsG will not be allowed to register without the required supervisor approval.

This two-day deposition skills program focuses on enhancing the skills needed to elicit information and obtain admissions effectively through depositions. Participants will develop and sharpen their deposition skills by conducting deposition examinations and defending depositions in a simulated setting, followed by faculty guidance and critique. The workshop exercises will focus on the methods and ethics of witness preparation, dealing with preliminary matters, techniques for effectively eliciting complete information from witnesses, making and responding to objections, dealing with difficult adversaries, using exhibits, and obtaining admissions. The workshops will be supplemented by presentations on the components of effective depositions.

Who Should Attend?

Participation in this program is limited to attorneys in the Department of Law and Public Safety and is intended for Deputy Attorneys General with little or no deposition experience or those who have not conducted a deposition in a number of years and would like to refresh their skills. Please do not attempt to register for this program if you are not an attorney in the Department of Law and Public Safety.

Who Is the Faculty?

Experienced members of the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's faculty will be teaching this course.

CLE Credit

NJ CLE Credit: This program had been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 14.1 hours of total CLE credit. Of these, 1.2 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism, and 12.9 qualify as hours of credit toward certification in civil trial law.

NY CLE Credit: 13.0 substantive credits/1.0 ethics credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

PA CLE Credit: 10.5 substantive credits/1.0 ethics credit (\$18.00 mandatory registration fee required).

How Do I Register?

State Employees

Most State employees able to register for this are course by going http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on

our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.