

## PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present

#### **ABCs OFATTORNEY ETHICS**

June 25, 2018 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. 124 Halsey Street 5th Floor, Room 10-C Newark, New Jersey

# THIS COURSE WILL BE SIMULCAST FROM TRENTON

Please note: Because this course will be simulcast from Trenton, the following CLE regulations apply to credits earned by attending the course in Newark:

New Jersey: The simulcast of this course is an Alternate Verifiable Learning Format (AVF) Program. Courses taken through alternative verifiable learning formats shall account for no more than twelve credit hours per compliance period.

Pennsylvania and New York: The simulcast of this course is a Distance Learning Program. Credits earned via Distance Learning Programs in excess of the annual CLE credit limit will not carry over into subsequent compliance periods.

### PLEASE READ: NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.

## **Program Summary**

This course will provide an overview of the Attorney Discipline system in New Jersey, from the grievant's filing of a complaint to the completion of the appeals process. Among the topics discussed will be the grievance review process, who is subject to the process, the offenses for which attorneys can be disciplined, and the respective roles of the Supreme Court, Disciplinary

Review Board, Office of Attorney Ethics, and District Ethics Committees.

#### Who Should Attend?

This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing.

## Who Is the Faculty?

Christina Blunda, Esq. has been a Deputy Ethics Counsel for the Office of Attorney Ethics since May 2006. Prior to joining the OAE, Ms. Blunda was a Deputy Attorney General in the Division of Law's Tort Litigation Section from 2003-2006. She was previously engaged in private practice, handling mostly insurance defense work. Ms. Blunda was a partner in LePore Luizzi and Blunda from to 1999 to 2001 and operated the Law Office of Christina Blunda from 1994 to 1999. In 1998-1999, she served on the District VIII (Middlesex County) Fee Arbitration Committee. Ms. Blunda is a graduate of the Seton Hall University School of Law.

#### CLE Credit

**NJ CLE Credit:** This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.2 hours of total Alternative Verifiable Learning Format (AVF) CLE credit. Of these, 1.2 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.

**NY CLE Credit:** 1.0 Distance Learning Program Ethics credit (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy).

**PA CLE Credit:** 1.0 Distance Learning Program Ethics credit (\$1.50 mandatory registration fee required).

# **How Do I Register?**

#### **State Employees**

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> and creating an AGAI Course Registration account. To do so, your computer **must** be attached to the government's Garden State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.

### Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: AdvocacyInstitute@lps.state.nj.us for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course Registration System through the My New Jersey portal. Setting up your account through the portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey portal at <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a> and create a portal account. Once your portal account is created you are prompted to enter your authorization code. This is Step 1 of the process, which you need only do once.

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to request another one. You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney General's Advocacy Institute's Registration System. Click on that and log into your account on our system.

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System account. This is Step 2. To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/">http://www.state.nj.us/</a>. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create Account link in the Login Box. Click on it and create your account, which will include you selecting a new user name and password. Once you create your account, you can access the AGAI Course Registration System at <a href="http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2">http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2</a> to register for future courses or to manage your account. Please retain your user name and password for your records.