
 

 

 
 
 
 
  

PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 
 

BANKRUPTCY BASICS  

 

July 17, 2018 

10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. 

124 Halsey Street 

6th Floor Morris Room 

Newark, New Jersey 

 

 

THIS COURSE WILL BE SIMULCAST FROM TRENTON 

 
Please note: Because this course will be simulcast from Trenton, the following CLE regulations 

apply to credits earned by attending the course in Newark:  

 

New Jersey: The simulcast of this course is an Alternate Verifiable Learning Format (AVF) 

Program. Courses taken through alternative verifiable learning formats shall account for no 

more than twelve credit hours per compliance period.  

 

Pennsylvania and New York: The simulcast of this course is a Distance Learning Program. 

Credits earned via Distance Learning Programs in excess of the annual CLE credit limit will 

not carry over into subsequent compliance periods.  

 

 

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 

 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 

the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 

 

Program Summary 

 

This presentation will address the basics of bankruptcy practice, from the debtor's filing of the 

petition to the final distribution.  The program will provide an overview of bankruptcy code 

chapters and case filings and will also cover claims, automatic stays, discharges and the case 



 

 

process, including bankruptcy issues that government attorneys face in their cases. 

 

Who Should Attend? 

 

This presentation is open to all government attorneys, space allowing. 

 

 

Who Is the Faculty? 

 

DAG Gregory Van Dyck is with the Taxation, Bankruptcy and Debt Recovery Section of the 

New Jersey Office of the Attorney General, Division of Law.  He has specialized in the areas of 

debt recovery and bankruptcy for over 25 years.  His section of attorneys, investigators, 

paralegals, and support personnel, averages over $12 million dollars a year in recoveries.  DAG  

Van Dyck has presented programs on debt recovery and bankruptcy for the National Attorneys 

General Training & Research Institute, the New Jersey Attorney General’s Advocacy Institute, 

and at the Division of Law’s In-Service Program.  

 

CLE Credit 

 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 

of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 2.0 hours of total Alternative Verifiable Learning 

Format (AVF) CLE credit.  Of these, 0.0 qualify as hours of credit for ethics/professionalism.   

 

NY CLE Credit: 2.0 Distance Learning Program Substantive credits (pursuant to the approved 

jurisdiction policy). 

 

PA CLE Credit: 1.5 Distance Learning Program Substantive credits ($3.00 mandatory registration 

fee required). 

 

How Do I Register? 

 

State Employees 

 

Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 

Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 

State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 

Create Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include 

you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

    

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 

 

If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


 

 

System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 

njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course 

Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account through the 

portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.  

 

Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 

portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 

you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 

only do once.   

 

If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 

request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 

http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 

General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 

our system. 

 

Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 

account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 

Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 

Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 

selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 

AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 

to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 

password for your records.  

 

http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

