
 

 

 

 

  
PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT 

 
The Advocacy Institute Is Pleased to Present 

 
ETHICALLY DEALING WITH THE MEDIA: GUIDELINES FOR PROSECUTORS 

 
February 19, 2019 

1:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. 
R.J. Hughes Justice Complex 
4th Floor Conference Room A 

Trenton, New Jersey 
 
 

NOTICE REGARDING COURSE MATERIALS 
 

You will receive the course materials approximately forty-eight (48) hours prior to the date of 
the course. The materials will be contained in an email attachment.  

 
 

Program Summary 
 

Pretrial statements, whether verbal or by formal press release, are a necessary part of 
prosecutors’ jobs. In some instances, providing public information can even result in citizens 
assisting detectives in solving cases. In cases with substantial public importance, the public has a 
right to know basic information and failure to work properly with the media can result in an 
inaccurate and unnecessarily negative narrative. Even in routine cases, law enforcement is 
legally required to provide basic information to the public. This program will examine the ethical 
considerations that attach to all pretrial statements made to the media by prosecutors and police 
officers. It will cover which statements are permissible and appropriate and, more importantly, 
which statements should not and cannot be made. Applicable Rules, Directives and Executive 
Orders will be discussed and illustrated with examples of the impact on prosecutors who failed to 
follow the rules. 

Who Should Attend? 
 

This program is intended for attorneys from the Division of Criminal Justice and County 
Prosecutors’ offices, but other attorneys are welcome to attend, space permitting.    
 

 
 
 

Who Is the Faculty? 



 
Erik Daab is the Deputy Chief of the Gangs and Organized Crime Bureau of the Division of 
Criminal Justice, prosecuting large scale narcotics and weapons trafficking cases. He previously 
served in the Appellate Bureau, Corruption Bureau, and as Chief of the Medicaid Fraud Unit in 
the Division of Criminal Justice.  Erik started his career working on death penalty cases for the 
Tennessee Office of the Attorney General and was the State Witness for the execution of the first 
inmate executed in Tennessee in forty years.  
 
Gregory Mueller is the First Assistant Prosecutor in Sussex County and has served in that 
capacity since September, 2009.  He has also served as an Assistant Prosecutor in both Sussex 
and Morris Counties.  During the course of his career, Mr. Mueller has successfully tried 
numerous homicide and other high profile cases to verdict, and argued many precedent setting 
cases to the New Jersey Supreme Court and Appellate Division. Prior to becoming a prosecutor, 
Mr. Mueller was the founder and managing partner of the firm of Mueller, Russo and 
Warmington, P.C. in Morristown, NJ.  Mr. Mueller clerked for two Superior Court Judges.  He 
holds a Juris Doctor, cum laude, from Duquesne University School of Law.   
 

CLE Credit 
 

NJ CLE Credit:  This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education 
of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.5 hours of total CLE credit.  Of these, 1.5 qualify as 
hours of credit for ethics/professionalism. 
 
NY CLE Credit: 1.5 Ethics Credits (pursuant to the approved jurisdiction policy). 
 
PA CLE Credit: 1.0 Ethics Credit ($1.50 mandatory registration fee required). 

 
How Do I Register? 

 
State Employees 

 
Most State employees are able to register for this course by going to 
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 and creating an AGAI Course 
Registration account.  To do so, your computer must be attached to the government's Garden 
State Network. Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the 
Create Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include 
you selecting a user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 
to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 
password for your records.  
    

Non-State Employees or State Employees not Connected to the Garden State Network 
 
If you are not a State employee, or are otherwise unable to access the AGAI Course Registration 
System through the Garden State Network, kindly email the Advocacy Institute at: 
njagai@njoag.gov for an authorization code to allow you access to the AGAI Course 
Registration System through the My New Jersey portal.  Setting up your account through the 
portal is a two-step process, the details of which are set forth in the next two paragraphs.  
 

http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2


Once you receive the portal authorization code you will be prompted to go to the My New Jersey 
portal at http://www.state.nj.us/ and create a portal account.  Once your portal account is created 
you are prompted to enter your authorization code.  This is Step 1 of the process, which you need 
only do once.   
 
If you have already been issued an authorization code in the past you do not need to 
request another one.  You can log into your account on the Garden State Network at 
http://www.state.nj.us and under the heading NJ L&PS Applications you will see the Attorney 
General’s Advocacy Institute’s Registration System.  Click on that and log into your account on 
our system. 
 
Upon setting up your portal account, you need to set up your AGAI Course Registration System 
account.  This is Step 2.  To do so, log on to the My New Jersey Portal http://www.state.nj.us/. 
Upon opening the AGAI Course Registration System home page, you will see the Create 
Account link in the Login Box.  Click on it and create your account, which will include you 
selecting a new user name and password.  Once you create your account, you can access the 
AGAI Course Registration System at http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2 
to register for future courses or to manage your account.  Please retain your user name and 
password for your records.  
 

http://www.state.nj.us/
http://reg2.dcj.lps.state.nj.us/lpcreg/login.aspx?portalid=2

